We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Given that I knew this to be a renovated motel, I wasn't expecting much when a friend of mine booked us here based mostly upon price. But this is a lovely modern hotel near Portland State University and Keller Auditorium. Attached is a restaurant/bar with a wonderful large outdoor seating area complete with nighttime gas firepits. We had a drink there, but didn't actually have a meal, so can't comment on the restaurant. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. My friend has an feather allergy and, and her request, the hotel made certain to remove all down and feather items from her bed. Room was quiet and looked out through some trees to the street below. The hotel is a member of the Klimpton group and I have never been dissappointed in any of hotel in that group.

Portland's great FREE downtown transit service was nearby, so it would be easy to get anywhere you would want to go, or to use public transit from the airport.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EugeneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,345
    523
    120
    48
    19
See reviews for
593
1,304
205
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (703)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My two best friends and I stayed at Hotel Monaco in Portland the night before my wedding. The staff at the front desk learned of this and made sure we each had our own bed in our room (I had asked for a rollaway), a cocktail coupon, and the hotel also "took care" of the room upgrade since we had a big celebration to prepare for!

The room was beautiful, clean, quiet, and the hotel was as well. We had a terrific time. Plus, it was in a great location - we walked a few blocks to visit with some friends, and in the morning we walked to my salon to get our hair done for the wedding.

If I didn't live here, I'd look into staying here more often!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraheileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and I found this hotel while walking down the street one night. We walked in to check it out and were immediately impressed by the French decor and the friendliness of the staff. After reading other good reviews, we decided it was worth booking for our last night in town.

When reserving the room, I mentioned that we were on an anniversary vacation. When we checked in, there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room.

The room was beautiful. The furniture, carpeting and drapes were all matched with expertise in French styling, and the bed was quite comfortable as well. I've stayed in "fancier" 5 star hotels where the rooms were not as nice.

The location is good too. It's right in the heart of downtown Portland, only two blocks from Pioneer Square and walking distance from most of downtown. The only difficulty we had was figuring out how to drive to the front of the hotel with all the one way streets and bus only lanes.

We were further impressed about the hotel's pet policy. Dogs can stay for free with no size restriction. If you don't have your pet there with you, the hotel will provide you with a goldfish at no extra charge. The best part is that, even though pets are allowed, our room was spotless and had no odor. We could not tell that an animal had ever been in there.

Hotel Monaco was a great find, and I will absolutely stay there again on my next trip to Portland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damagaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

A special thank you for the outstanding and fantastic service and comfort standards received during our recent stay at the Monaco Hotel in downtown Portland.
Every aspect of this hotel and all its staff is faultless!!
We were met with happy smiling staff every day and their helpfulness with any questions we had were invaluable. Nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel itself is impecably clean and has fantastic decor throughout and a real pleasure to see the fresh chic style.
The hotel offers many customer extras such as the daily wine gathering in the beautiful lobby which was a great opportunity to meet other patrons from all around the world.
The location of the hotel is probably the best of all the others in the downtown area and everything is a very short walk, or the (free) MAX rail system is right outside the door of the adjoing Red Star restaurant .
My family regularly dined in the hotels adjoining Red Star restaurant and bar where service standards and prices were great and the food even better!!.
Having travelled all the way from Australia to Portland, Oregon, we indeed had the choice of many hotels in the city, and are so glad we chose this one moreso than the 'other' named hotels that an unknowing traveller would choose.
I offer a silent toast of appreciation to the Monaco Hotel for a great stay, and fantasic service. TOP MARKS TO THE MONACO !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank multi-skips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We chose to stay at the Monaco in our own city for one night since we are taking a delayed honeymoon in the winter. When the staff found out it was our wedding night, they all got excited, reserved us the best view in the hotel and gave us a complimentary wedding package with champagne and rose petals on the bed. It was all so sweet and the rooms are clean and the decor is colorful and fun. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Great, personable, attentive staff, lovely rooms, evening wine reception rejuvenated us each night.The Red Star is a wonderful, unique dining experience. Bar staff is friendly and knowledgeable.We were able to upgrade to a suite because of the price deal we got for staying more than two nights and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I've stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world and my experience at Hotel Monaco was phenomenal. Never have I had such a pleasant stay. Monaco is very pet friendly and does not charge any fees for pets, so hard to come by. All the staff were so sincere and genuine I truly felt that they wanted to be there. Not to mention helpful and easy to talk to. The atmosphere in this hotel is upscale but very comfortable. I felt like I was visiting a friends chateau. Extra Impressive reception! Quick, pleasant check as well as a smile every time I left or entered. Hotel Monaco can be assured of my business for many years to come. Keep up the AMAZING work!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airunthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing