We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Hotel staff, room condition, price, and location were excellent. We had a wonderful 3-day meeting. Only recommendations: they should change the incandescent lights to CFLs and upgrade the sound system in the 10th floor meeting room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanKMonaco, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Thank you for your suggestion on switching out our lighting in our conference space to CFL light bulbs. We will look into making this change as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,293
    507
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
570
1,272
203
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Monaco defines the boutique experience. We have stayed there several times and always have the same romantic experience. There are various room types and sizes, but even the smallest room is decorated so well you don't feel cramped. Interaction with the staff feels very genuine and their assistance is great.
Running away from a small town to explore the big city? This is your romantic headquarters.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willigwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We spent 6 days in June at the Hotel Monaco, and I couldn't have picked a better hotel! Not very often do you get to a hotel and say that the hotel looks better than the pictures on the website, but this was the case. We stayed in a King suite and it was spacious, and wonderfully decorated. The whole hotel had a "funky" decoration but in a classy way. We loved it the minute we got in the lobby. And we never heard a peep from any room beside us - it was so quiet to sleep. The hotel had a "wine hour" each night in the lobby - free tastings and they were generous, and a piano player to accompany - it was really nice. The location is fabulous - we used the metro everywhere or walked and didn't miss having a car at all - I think it would have been a detriment actually to have brought a car. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and chose Portland, a place we had not been too. We both loved this city - I can't believe it took this long for us to get there. It's so easy to get around - there is so much to do I could have easily spent another week there. The Rose gardens were in full bloom and were beautiful. We also took a lunch cruise on the Willammette River and the lunch was very good and it was a treat to see the city from the water. I am Canadian, but if I was an American, I would seriously consider a move there - the city seemed to have everything to offer. We will return over and over again I am sure now that I have discovered this wonderful city!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is a fun hotal with a staff who only hope you are having a blast. Everyone was extra polite & helpful in every way..... inquiring frequently if you are enjoying your stay. Room service was fast with a nice selection... even chicken noodle soup when I had a tummy ache. There is a small spa attached to the lobby with its own sweet staff...... young, but talented. The hotel is "pet friendly". Daily we saw many dogs in the lobby enjoying their provided water & treats..... but we were never disturbed a bit by them on our floor. There is a small business suite where we printed our boarding passes without fee or any problem. The rooms all have free internet access. There is a small exercise room with free wts & some cardio machines --- fairly drab... never saw it in use. Off the check in lobby there is a large comfy beautiful lounge with a grand piano, where daily there is free tea & coffee early each morning and an active funfilled beer & wine tasting in the late afternoon. The hotel is right downtown, walking to many eating places. The hotel's restaurant was a great place for beef & extra good service ! We absolutely will return & advise others to check it out!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful decor, lovely rooms plus some unexpected perks: free bicycles to use during your stay and a wine reception in the evenings. (Oregon wine is really really good!) We were surprised to know that you can stay here with your dog. The restaurant next door has a great happy hour in the bar as well as good food. The location is great for exploring Portland, it's a few blocks from Powell's Books and other shopping. We are definitely going back next time we go to Portland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFBayArea_traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Hotel Monaco in Portland would be my first choice for a hotel in Portland if I were to visit again. The staff provided exemplary service. The facilities were beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and inviting. Whether we needed a car rental, restaurant reservations, or general directions, we were accommodated with pleasant and prompt service. The free use of bicycles were a great bonus! I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Monaco!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cturtle610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Given that I knew this to be a renovated motel, I wasn't expecting much when a friend of mine booked us here based mostly upon price. But this is a lovely modern hotel near Portland State University and Keller Auditorium. Attached is a restaurant/bar with a wonderful large outdoor seating area complete with nighttime gas firepits. We had a drink there, but didn't actually have a meal, so can't comment on the restaurant. Room was very clean and nicely appointed. My friend has an feather allergy and, and her request, the hotel made certain to remove all down and feather items from her bed. Room was quiet and looked out through some trees to the street below. The hotel is a member of the Klimpton group and I have never been dissappointed in any of hotel in that group.

Portland's great FREE downtown transit service was nearby, so it would be easy to get anywhere you would want to go, or to use public transit from the airport.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EugeneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing