We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, bright hotel with pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, bright hotel with pleasant staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I traveled to Portland in May to look for a hotel to host a 1 day meeting for 60-70 people. I toured 8 hotels and venues in the downtown area to find a space that I felt represented the brand of our company well. There are many beautiful and grand hotels in the Portland downtown, but when it comes to meeting space most of them really fall down. Almost every space was small and dark and unpleasant. The Monaco was the only one that I found that had a bright, modern feel and modern meeting ammenities. I really appreciate the free wireless for in-touch members and the fact that they offer free wireless for their meeting space. The rooms were also very comfortable and modern, as are most Kimpton rooms. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is in a good neighborhood and central to downtown, very easy to get around. 2 blocks from the MAX stop. I recommend this hotel if you were traveling for either leisure or business.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wrrnfrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,340
    520
    120
    48
    19
See reviews for
592
1,301
205
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We flew into Portland to begin a 2 week stay in Oregon. I booked this hotel due to the good reviews on this sight. We loved the hotels convenience for all the sights we wanted to see in the city. The staff was helpful in suggesting places to eat and we liked the evening reception. We did not have our dog with us, but we loved how pet friendly the hotel is-including having treats to great pets when they arrived.
I had not booked a hotel for our last night in Oregon before flying home and we came back to Hotel Monaco based on our great stay when we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtravelerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

i have stayed here for 14 years (back when it was also off 5th ave suites) and i am happy to report that the hotel is superior to any place in downtown portland (yes, i tried the avalon, marriot, lucia and modera).
The service is impeccable and customer service is beyond fantastic--nice and genuine with no attitude or fake demeanor. rooms are spacious (i do prefer the queen queen suite) and the complimentary am coffee and pm wine begins and ends the day perfectly.
although it IS pricey, my opinion is this: worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanKMonaco, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Thank you so much for your loyalty over the years. 14 years and counting, it has been an absolute pleasure serving you over these years. We look forward to many more!

~The staff at The Hotel Monaco Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I had such a delightful experience with Hotel Monaco in San Francisco that we decided to book part of our vacation in Oregon at Hotel Monaco in Portland....and we loved every minute of it! The staff is professional and friendly, the decor is sophisticated yet charming and quirky at the same time. i know good times were ahead when several weeks before our vacation they emailed us requesting any specific preferences that would make our stay more enjoyable. Their happy hour from 4:00-6:00 p.m. in the hotel lobby ( which actually resembles more like an enormous parlor from an estate home) is very welcoming where guests of the hotel mingle and chat. We met some very lovely people who informed us of some great restaurants to try. The hotel staff roffers you a choice of wine or non-alcoholic beverage and something a little difference each night. One night you were able to sample a variety of chocolate truffles and could purchase if desired. The next night they had a tarot reader. The location is great with stores at your doorstep, the Portland Museum in walking distance, My husband and I took advantage of a massage special at the salon attached to the hotel... very relaxing! If you're in Portland on a Saturday it's a must that you go to the Saturday Market... everywhere you look a display of great crafts at very reasonable prices. Let's just say I contributed to the economic stimulus when I left. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Monaco in Portland... you won't regret it!
P.S. It's very pet friendly, too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeakEZgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying at Portland's Hotel Monaco on several ocassions now--for both business and pleasure and the location, rooms and staff make it one of the best in this city.

On top of reasonalble prices, and a free happy hour at 5 PM, it is also pet friendly.

All in all it is the staff are the best--making the guests feel truly wecome

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treysos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Hotel Monaco in Portland, OR is a first rate hotel. Location is perfect for touring, shopping, dining and walks to the River. Staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Rooms are comfortable, quiet, lovely and spacious. Beds very comfortable and bathrooms clean and well designed. I can't find one thing wrong with this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainier, OR
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My husband and I spent our 20th anniversary at the Hotel Monaco with our two small, old dogs. We felt very special and our pets were treated as well as at home. Loved the evening reception! Location fantastic for downtown Portland and all the city has to offer.
We also went on the Portland Walking Epicurean Tour and highly recommend that tour.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregondoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,368 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204-1550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing