We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the weekend!”
Review of Eastside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastside Lodge
Ranked #81 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I spent a weekend in Portland with my two best friends, and due to not being very on top of things, we didn't have many options to stay by the time we were ready to book a hotel. Eastside lodge was BY FAR the most affordable option for us three (85 for two queens in high season? Yes please!), and it was a lovely experience. Rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, and the amenities were just what we needed: nothing over the top but a bar fridge and TV were definitely used and appreciated. It didn't mention that there was Wifi on the website, but sure enough there is Wifi here, so don't let that be a detracting element to factor in to your decision. All in all, no frills are really attached to the place, but it definitely fits the bill. Staff were super friendly as well!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

Good value for the money. I wish they had coffee makers in the rooms, but it seems as if people steal them. They do have coffee in the lobby (but was pretty weak if you ask me). The place was clean, the management was friendly, and they have good management.


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I'd been struggling to find rooms under $80 without sacrificing cleanliness or location. I was staying in Portland for one night on a LONG road trip. Eastside Lodge was right by some cool vintage stores and the BEST strip club I've ever been to. That place across the street? I didn't realize it was a strip club until I went in. So glad I did.

I digress. The guy who checked me in was heaping on flattery. He upgraded my room for no charge when I told him I wanted a smoking room and they had no smoking singles. He had good tips about where to go and what to do.

The room itself was dated, but served its purpose. My only gripes are that the carpet was in serious need of a deep clean and I found a few hairs on my pillowcase. The sheets were otherwise crisp. I couldn't hear any noise and slept like a rock... after I stumbled home at 3AM. Definitely a handy place for traveling on a budget without sacrificing too much!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brekidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Eastside lodge is in a great location. Quick walk to the downtown area and to the Lloyd Center mall.. Also very close to a vegan mini mall. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the wireless internet wasn't the greatest. I'll be back again soon!

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room not facing the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k3k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We where looking for a place with good location and this was it! Close to downtown with a fair price. The man working at the desk was so nice and kind to show us maps, attractions, share tips of restaurants and places to visit that truly make the difference with other places. The room is old fashion but clean. After all, if you will like to spend all day around town and just go to sleep is perfect for that.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fhrni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but the motel was excellent. Rooms were modern and clean. Had one of those pillowtop deals on the mattress. I slept so well.
The front desk staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location was great, close to pubs, restaurants, and downtown. Best part, was very affordable!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank insaneroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My fried and I did a roadtrip through USA starting and finishing in Portland, we booked this place as it was across the road from the Doug Fir which we planned to go to for a gig that night. For the money we were so impressed we stayed again at the end of our trip. I would recommend this place as it is very clean, lots of free parking and great location. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEPHANIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#69 of 144 in Portland
573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#74 of 144 in Portland
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
1.9 mi away
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#51 of 144 in Portland
739 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#13 of 144 in Portland
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastside Lodge

Address: 949 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1304
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £82 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Eastside Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eastside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastside Hotel Portland
Thriftlodge Portland
Thrift Lodge Portland
Portland Thriftlodge
Portland Thrift Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing