We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in vegan/bicycle central!”
Review of Eastside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastside Lodge
Ranked #79 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find in vegan/bicycle central!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent four days over the Labor Day 2013 weekend. This is a very basic motel, but it was clean, a great value, and so close to so much. Fridge and microwave in the room, which many motels/hotels won't give you at all. I was able to walk or take transit everywhere. I walked to the Portland Saturday Market and found a great bike shop to rent from right across the Burnside Bridge (Portland Bicycle Tours). I had awesome vegan pizza at Sizzle Pie a block over, found the vegan mini-mall and multiple vegan restaurants between Burnside and Stark, had beer and coffee everywhere, went further afield to a vegan bar/restaurant with an awesome happy hour (The Bye and Bye). Be warned, the rooms can be a little noisy from the surrounding bars and restaurants, but nothing over the top, and it was easily masked by closing the windows and turning up the AC. I think they used to have a pool, which they've covered over and no longer maintain. TV was good, but wifi signal was weak (plenty of wifi around the city, though). No big deal, though. Who wants to hang out by a motel pool, watch TV, or play on the Internet in a motel room when you're in beautiful Portland?

Room Tip: North side rooms are noisier. Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DCVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    48
    39
    8
    15
See reviews for
15
38
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I spent a weekend in Portland with my two best friends, and due to not being very on top of things, we didn't have many options to stay by the time we were ready to book a hotel. Eastside lodge was BY FAR the most affordable option for us three (85 for two queens in high season? Yes please!), and it was a lovely experience. Rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, and the amenities were just what we needed: nothing over the top but a bar fridge and TV were definitely used and appreciated. It didn't mention that there was Wifi on the website, but sure enough there is Wifi here, so don't let that be a detracting element to factor in to your decision. All in all, no frills are really attached to the place, but it definitely fits the bill. Staff were super friendly as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Good value for the money. I wish they had coffee makers in the rooms, but it seems as if people steal them. They do have coffee in the lobby (but was pretty weak if you ask me). The place was clean, the management was friendly, and they have good management.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I'd been struggling to find rooms under $80 without sacrificing cleanliness or location. I was staying in Portland for one night on a LONG road trip. Eastside Lodge was right by some cool vintage stores and the BEST strip club I've ever been to. That place across the street? I didn't realize it was a strip club until I went in. So glad I did.

I digress. The guy who checked me in was heaping on flattery. He upgraded my room for no charge when I told him I wanted a smoking room and they had no smoking singles. He had good tips about where to go and what to do.

The room itself was dated, but served its purpose. My only gripes are that the carpet was in serious need of a deep clean and I found a few hairs on my pillowcase. The sheets were otherwise crisp. I couldn't hear any noise and slept like a rock... after I stumbled home at 3AM. Definitely a handy place for traveling on a budget without sacrificing too much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brekidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Eastside lodge is in a great location. Quick walk to the downtown area and to the Lloyd Center mall.. Also very close to a vegan mini mall. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that the wireless internet wasn't the greatest. I'll be back again soon!

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, ask for a room not facing the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k3k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We where looking for a place with good location and this was it! Close to downtown with a fair price. The man working at the desk was so nice and kind to show us maps, attractions, share tips of restaurants and places to visit that truly make the difference with other places. The room is old fashion but clean. After all, if you will like to spend all day around town and just go to sleep is perfect for that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fhrni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescadero, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night but the motel was excellent. Rooms were modern and clean. Had one of those pillowtop deals on the mattress. I slept so well.
The front desk staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful. The location was great, close to pubs, restaurants, and downtown. Best part, was very affordable!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insaneroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 143 in Portland
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 143 in Portland
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 143 in Portland
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastside Lodge

Property: Eastside Lodge
Address: 949 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1304
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Eastside Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastside Hotel Portland
Thriftlodge Portland
Thrift Lodge Portland
Portland Thriftlodge
Portland Thrift Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing