We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but Very Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Ranked #47 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
“Very Nice but Very Noisy”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in a suite for two nights. The suite was spotless and the bed very comfortable. However, it was almost impossible to sleep as it was very noisy. There seemed to be children and adults running about the place and shouting until the very early hours of the morning. It was so bad I had to wear ear plugs and even then I could hear them. The location wasn't great but it was just a short bus ride to the city which was good. Nice hotel but I don't think I would go back again and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends, mainly because of the noise and the location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erins-Isle-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    323
    132
    45
    19
See reviews for
176
261
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is located off the main road and provides free parking and wi-fi but no breakfast. We paid just $70 for a 2-queen room and it was spotlessly clean and a quiet place to stay. Sure the rooms provide the bare minimum in furniture (a chair for the desk would have been nice) but as a place to sleep it does the job. It is also close to several restaurants and brewpubs.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

At first, we were weary of the location in Portland since it was near a busy street, but we were pleasantly surprised. The area is residential, and the hotel/suites are surrounded by large, well-kept homes. Park Lane Inn and Suites has two separate buildings - the main building with the lobby is a remodeled apartment complex, and then the inn across the street looks like a traditional "motel" with outdoor entrances. We were on the second floor of the inn, and had a wonderful view of Portland, since the inn sits at the foothills of King's Hill. The inn is minutes from Burnside, the main street that cuts through Portland, a 10 minute walk to Washington Park (Rose Garden, Japanese Garden) and a 15 minute walk to Powell's Books, downtown. The room itself was simple - not much on the walls, and not much shelving. We had to improvise and use the dressers for our luggage (no luggage holders). The room was clean, the beds were very cozy, and we had no problems with noise (we stayed during a weekend in late July). We saw mostly families and older couples staying there. There was free wireless, but the service was slow and I wouldn't recommend opening lots of windows at the same time (I ended up doing a lot of my internet work at Powell's - GREAT cafe!). There was free parking, free continental breakfast (coffee, fruit, pastries). The service was friendly. I would highly recommend this if you are looking for a simple, clean, safe place to stay that is in the heart of Portland. Close to the Max train and buses - we had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbysplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The location was great and free parking. It is easy to walk to shops and restaurants and a longer but feasible walk to downtown Portland.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We chose the Park Lane Inn & Suites (we stayed at the "Inn" part) because of its proximity to downtown Portland, and found getting around relatively easy on foot and via public transit. The wi-fi connection was consistent and speedy. The rate was very reasonable considering the location and the fact that the room was extremely clean. However, space was at a premium and was only just barely adequate to accommodate the two of us and our luggage. Be advised as well that the walls are paper-thin -- we found it difficult to sleep in for that reason.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverlining_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband and I, with and without the dogs, have been staying at the Park Lane Suites for years. It's a pleasant place, in a leafy neighborhood, just off Burnside, walking distance to everywhere west of the river, especially convenient to Northwest Portland and various fabulous restaurants, like Mingo and Wildwood.

Occasionally, the place is noisy. Usually drunks or hoards of small children are the culprits. Sometimes it lasts a long time. The hotel staff is reluctant to do anything to remedy such situations, but are otherwise usually helpful. The corner suites, with two bedrooms, are definitely the nicest rooms, with windows on two sides, even views of Mt. Hood. All suites have full kitchens, separate bedroom with queen bed, small bathroom with good water pressure ,and varying amounts of sunlight available through the windows(some of the rooms facing the back garden wall are very dark and cool).

Over the years, the hotel has markedly reduced the number of dog-friendly rooms. This might be viewed as a positive by some, but for us dog people, it's difficult--though I can only imagine how outrageous some dog owner's behavior can be....

Park Lane Suites is one of my favorite Portland hotels--surrounded by nice big trees, great for walking, reasonably priced, free parking, with kitchens and separate bedrooms--And I do wish the management would consider opening up some of the more attractive rooms for dog owners, for perhaps a higher deposit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
417 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked a one bedroom suite and were not disappointed! You can read the reviews of what is included (virtually everything), my only complaints were the sofa bed mattress was not great, the shower had very low pressure, and there was no oven (why bake anyway)? Everything else was fantastic, especially the free parking, free internet, fully stocked breakfast in room (included). A fifteen minute walk to the center of downtown Portland. A clean and quite property.

Nearby grocery stores add to the convenience and value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,777 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 141 in Portland
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Property: Park Lane Suites & Inn
Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205-1302
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic King's Hill, within the enchanting Goose Hollow neighborhood. Goose Hollow is one of Portland's original settlements. It shares the best attributes of both a city's downtown district and an established residential area, with its gorgeous homes of yesteryear, many of which are registered with the National Historic Register. On our western border, a short walk up leafy, tree-lined streets will lead you to Portland's renowned Washington Park, with its world famous International Rose Test Garden and Japanese Garden. Informal elegance within the heart of a remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing