We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Lane Suites & Inn
Ranked #48 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here during an academic conference that was held in a hotel downtown. I much prefer the atmosphere of the Park Lane Suites to any of the downtown hotels. It is situated in the perfect spot for me: a short Max train ride from downtown, and within easy walking distance of the restaurants of the Nob Hill area. It's within walking distance of Washington Park and the Japanese Gardens, but catching the bus at the stop behind the hotel is preferable on a hot day.

I stayed in the suites portion. I enjoyed the slightly retro styling, and the kitchen and living space provides more amenities than I really needed for my trip. My room was quiet, clean and comfortable. A great place to relax away from work at a conference.

I plan on staying there again the next time I'm on town.

Room Tip: The Suites portion of the hotel in the main building have most of the amenities. The Inn portion roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    321
    130
    45
    19
See reviews for
173
259
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here twice in September -- two nights on the way to California and one on the way back. We had initially booked a room at the "Inn" across the street from the main building, but found that it had no amenities -- no fridge, microwave, not even a coffee pot. We called the front desk and were told we could possibly upgrade to one of the standard "Suites"; after few minutes, we moved across the road and, for an additional $25, had a very pleasant suite with sitting room and bedroom and a useable kitchenette. On the way back from California, the price had even gone down a few dollars. The accommodation is fairly basic, but very comfortable, and everything works. The coin laundry is reasonable and convenient. We even found that they had provided oatmeal and a fresh bottle of olive oil. The hotel is about five minutes from the Max Line, where, for $4.00 a day (seniors' rate) for two, we had unlimited transit service in the downtown area, so we could leave our car in the parking lot for our entire visit. Location is excellent, in walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Portland (Nob Hill) and a few blocks from Washington Park and the beautiful Japanese Garden. Strongly recommended for good value, pleasant service (no breakfast, but free coffee and fruit in the lobby all day) and a quiet location. Kudos particularly to Mary Lou for her warm and courteous welcome and the expeditious room change.

Room Tip: It makes little difference as the street is quiet and there is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
161 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the suites tower on the top floor. Our "standard" suite included a living room, kitchen area with table and a separate bedroom. In thinking how to rate this hotel I find myself torn. It seems just about every positive has a negative to go with it.

The price was very good for such a spacious room, fairly close to downtown. A nice touch: leaving oatmeal and orange juice for us for our first breakfast. Furniture is a bit "dated". Walls are a bit thin. Bathroom is small and entrance is very close to the bed. Entrances to rooms face outside, so severe weather could be an issue.

Parking was free, but limited. The hotel is not really located quite close enough to downtown to consistently walk to events, so many will wish to drive. Yet, moving your car will most likely result in losing a parking spot and needing to park across the street or elsewhere.

Wireless was free but slow and essentially non-workable in the rear bedroom.

Location near Washington Park is a plus. It is a fairly easy walk to the Portland Rose Garden and Japanese Tea Garden (about 20 minutes uphill).

In summary, not bad but not outstanding. If price is a main consideration, this hotel does provide a fair amount of value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in the Inn part, which is essentially a two story motel. The rooms have been recently renovated, so they are quite modern, but they are sparse in terms of "extras" - no closets, just a hanging rail with three hangers, no safe, no iron/board (though the latter will be provided upon request). Nice shower, very comfortable bed, and overall clean and tidy. Where the place does win is on location - very close to shopping, major thoroughfare, parks. There is also parking on site - the parking behind the inn is a bit less ideal, you basically have to back out of the parking lot when you leave - but the other lots are fine. Tip - book dinner at the Uptown Billiards Club, their 5 course tasting menu was lovely, and a great deal - and it's walking distance to the hotel, so you can indulge in the wine pairings ;)

Room Tip: If you want more amenities (kitchenette, iron, etc) book a suite; if having somewhere to sleep is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is okay for a place to crash for the night, but I wouldn't recommend it for any longer than that.

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. The hotel is divided into two sections: the Inn and the main hotel. We stayed at the Inn.

The location was okay for walking to downtown. It would be perfect if you are coming in for a Timbers game as the stadium is right around the corner. The price was decent as well when compared to hotels closer to downtown.

However, if staying here I highly recommend getting a top floor room or possibly a room at the main hotel. We could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors were doing. To top it off our neighbor upstairs chose to walk around in heels at 4:00AM. Not good for sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Checked in past midnight with a complimentary upgrade from single queen inn room to studio suite, how nice, but not really.. This suite had a toilet that leaked, which they fixed pretty fast. Then the fridge didn't work so they brought in a mini fridge (they never came back to fix the original fridge). The tv channels didn't work using the channel + and - buttons because of bad programming, but they fixed this. The AC didn't work on the hottest day of the week when I needed it most. The man actually told me a sob story about how he already knew about the AC problem in this room but that no one was willing to do anything about it. They offered to change rooms the next night but the temperature got cooler. One night a car double parked right in front of my room and the front desk man (without even trying) gave me so many different excuses about how looooong it would take to track down the person to ask them to move the car and how there would be sooo many different factors, but how would you know even before trying? I will point out that he gave up his parking space for me, which was the next space over. Wow... what an experience.. too bad my week long stay here was already prepaid else I would have stayed somewhere else. Overall I survived... the front desk, housekeeping and maintenance were all pretty helpful and did the best with what they had but this place is a major dump and needs a major upgrade.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and it suited our needs in terms of location and parking included in the rate.

Our room was simply furnished, quite stylish, no frills. There was some noise from other rooms. We missed not having coffee-making facilities in the room.

Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful as were the housekeeping staff we encountered.

If you need a clean, safe, basic place to stay close to downtown and a stone's throw from Nob Hill you can probably do no better for the price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grecofan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Property: Park Lane Suites & Inn
Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205-1302
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic King's Hill, within the enchanting Goose Hollow neighborhood. Goose Hollow is one of Portland's original settlements. It shares the best attributes of both a city's downtown district and an established residential area, with its gorgeous homes of yesteryear, many of which are registered with the National Historic Register. On our western border, a short walk up leafy, tree-lined streets will lead you to Portland's renowned Washington Park, with its world famous International Rose Test Garden and Japanese Garden. Informal elegance within the heart of a remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing