We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
Ranked #60 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable, convenient”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Friendly, helpful staff and convenient airport shuttle service makes this a good choice. Breakfast is hot and has a good variety of choices. Fruit and other healthy items are available. Comfortable rooms and access to exercise equipment. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Westea,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you on your next trip.


Kind Regards,
Kayla Kempthorne
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    101
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
61
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great place to stay turn your rental car in a day earlier before flying out the next morning! You can walk to some restaurants or shuttle. The have a reception on Wednesday nights for all guest that includes free o'deserves, beer, wine, pop and coffee. Shuttle service into the airport was about 7 minutes! I recommend you stay here I would just prefer a pool they only have a jacuzzi.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator. Don't be in a hurry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ronnie R,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip!

Kind Regards,
Kayla Kempthorne
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

...to explain the title: I've stayed in many airport hotels that feel 'busy' all hours of the day. This HIE had a calm and relaxed mood despite the proximity to the airport, and I had a quiet room (kindly requested by the friend I was visiting!) allocated where I didn't really hear too much airplane noise.
Check in and check out was friendly and efficient, I had a maintenance issue in my room which was sorted quickly with no fuss. All in all a nice stay and made my visit stress free and pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear smarob,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the traveling community. We are glad to hear that your stay was relaxing and stress free. We are a lucky property with minimal airport noise. See you on your next trip to Portland!

Kind Regards,
Kayla Kempthonre
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice amenities - directv, breakfast, etc. crabby shuttle driver... They had agreed to pick up guests at another hotel, so she was upset because we didn't come down early. Rooms lacked vanity separate from bathroom, which is nice if more than just 1 person in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrebonne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Terrebonne3,

I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with our Shuttle Driver. When problems like this arise, we do everything we can to try and remedy the situation as soon as possible. As far as our location goes, as you can see from the many, many great reviews about our neighborhood- most of our guests truly enjoy our location. I am sorry that you did not experience this service with our shuttle driver. Again, we are all very sorry for this problem that you had during your stay. I do hope that you will give us another chance to show you just how great our property is.

Sincerely,
Kayla Kempthorne
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is convenient to both the airport and to the Cascade light-rail station. We had a great stay here recently. When we arrived in town a few hours early, the staff were able to accommodate an early check-in for us and gave us a map of the city. The light-rail station is about 5 mins away so we were able to get into downtown Portland in about 40mins. For an airport hotel, we found the noise level very acceptable (virtually none). The facility is in good shape and our family room was excellent with three beds(one of which was in a separate area). The breakfast was not quite on par with other hotels, but the morning staff were working hard to keep things stocked and the area clean. If you just need a place to stay the night before a trip or an inexpensive place to stay while you visit Portland, this hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Plazb,

We are very glad to read that you had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport. It is important to us that you found the staff excellent and the hotel clean. We are also delighted that you took full advantage of our location, not only near the airport, but also close to shopping and dining; all complete with a complimentary driver. All this, and not to mention direct access to the MAXX lightrail straight to downtown.
We look forward to your next stay stay.

Kind Regards,
Kayla Kempthorne
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Third floor, very little airplane noise. A little tricky exiting the property as the area can get congested. Good enough space in the bathroom. Clean room. The entrance was a little dark but it looks like they have recently upgraded some accessories. This property looked better than the Holiday Inn near the airport.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear MulberryCreek

Thank you so much for your feed back! Our staff work very hard to please our guests and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the Future.

Kind Regards,
Kayla Kempthorne
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Was concerned about loud airport noise. Yes, you will hear planes, but not that much. Ask for a room in the back away from noisy road in front. Very good location near airport, restaurants and shopping. Standard HIE so no worries about quality of the room, etc.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla K, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear John R,


Thank you for taking time to share your experience with the traveling community. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport.
We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Kayla Kempthorne
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#45 of 143 in Portland
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
Address: 11938 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three miles from Portland International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites is just minutes away from Cascade Station, Portland s newest shopping and dining experience.Downtown Portland and all the attractions of the Rose City, including Portland s Famous Annual Rose Festival, the Rose Garden Coliseum & Portland Convention Center, Washington Park s World-Famous gardens, the Oregon Zoo, OMSI and more, are easily accessible from Portland s speedy MAX trains and award-winning public transportation service.The hotel offers a variety of amenities including complimentary Airport Shuttle Service, Park and Fly packages, Business Services and Recreational Facilities. Come enjoy a Great Night Sleep with our New Tempurpedic Premium Mattresses!Our complementary Express Start Breakfast Bar offers a selection of hot entrees like fluffy scrambled eggs, cheesy omelets, sausage patties, crispy bacon and sausage gravy with flaky biscuits to satisfy the heartiest of appetites... all complementary.For the Business Traveler, our Executive Rooms offers all the amenities you have come to expect upgraded décor, complimentary newspapers and high speed internet access. With all this and more, let the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites be your Home Away from Home in the Rose City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing