We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard beds, hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Ranked #69 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hard beds, hard to find”
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Jantzen Beach (Portland, OR, area) in late December, 2006, on our way from Southern California to Seattle. Having stayed in many other Holiday Inn Expresses, we found this one to be an interesting mix of very nice and very bad features. Positives: The room was clean, large, had great lighting for reading and many TV channels; the bathroom had a great shower; there is a computer for guests' use in the lobby; the hotel provides full Sunday papers (a rarity); and the breakfast had all the usual Holiday Inn Express items--cinnamon rolls, yogurts, etc. Negatives: This is the hardest hotel we've ever had to find! The exit to Jantzen Beach is easy, but once you get off, forget it--you'll never, ever find the hotel on your own. We arrived at night, so it's possible things might have been easier during the day, but although we followed the two (tiny) Holiday Inn Express signs, we ended up driving around and around Jantzen Beach until finally we accidentally got back on the freeway and ended up in Vancouver, Washington! We managed to find our way back to the freeway and to Jantzen Beach but never could find the Holiday Inn Express. Finally, we went to a Subway and asked for directions. It turned out the Holiday Inn Express was way off the beaten path and hidden from the main road. If you know where you're going, it wouldn't be hard to find, but if you've never been there before, it's a nightmare! The night clerk was not very sympathetic, though she did suggest we could try the pool (!)--and then warned us that the water was cold. The other major negative of this hotel was the bed, which was as hard as a bench. All three of us, who have very different tolerances for beds, suffered. I used all the extra pillows as a makeshift "pillowtop"; unfortunately, they kept slipping apart during the night. My son used the two sofa cushions on top of the bed; my husband just suffered with the bed as it was. We all had a very poor night's sleep. The next morning, the person at the front desk asked us about our stay; when we told her, she apologized and said that the signage seems to be a problem with the city, not Holiday Inns, and that the hotel is going to be replacing all the beds this year. She took $20 off our bill, which was nice. So, in conclusion, my recommendation is to make sure to arrive at this hotel during the day, don't waste time driving around the Jantzen Beach loop endlessly--ask someone at a store or another hotel how to get there, and wait till the hotel has replaced all the beds. If you know where the hotel is and have a new bed, this hotel should be a nice place to stay near Portland--just a 10-minute drive or so away.

  • Liked — Great lighting in rooms, Sunday paper, full breakfast, good rates.
  • Disliked — Very hard to find, very hard beds (though these are being replaced this year).
  • Tips/Secrets — Arrive in daylight, ask for directions, make sure the hotel has replaced all the beds!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    26
    5
    8
See reviews for
50
43
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2006

We arrived at this hotel in the evening after a long day travelling from Seattle and visiting other sites on route. We had booked the hotel months in advance and had requested a rollaway bed on our booking (done via the Holiday Inn website). On getting to the room we discovered that there was no rollaway. I went back to Reception and was told that I had not asked for one. I then produced my printed copy of the reservation clearly showing the request for the rollaway and the receptionist then said that they don't always get all of the info from the IC Hotels Group and I should have phoned! Yeh right, like I'm supposed to know that and what's the point of having online booking if they expect you to call from the UK just to make sure that they got all the info from the booking! Eventually they found a full size rollaway that my son and I had to collect from Reception and then maneouvre into the lift and along the corridor to our room but no apology was forthcoming! We were due to return to this hotel a couple of days later and I made sure that they took note of the rollaway requirement. Other than that the hotel was okay, it is located close to a typical American commercial area with the huge car parks, chain restaurants and shops. It is a bit of a drive to downtown Portland but no big deal.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

Good rate through their website ($73) for a king size room on the fourth floor #409. Plentiful safe parking. The key cards didn't work on the first try, came down had them re-programmed, and then 1 out of 2 worked, not a big deal. Pretty large room (see pics) with couch, fridge, microwave. Meticulously cleaned pool, spa and fitness area which we used. The pool man even came in while we were swimming and asked me to help him pick up a dime off the bottom of the pool which he was unable to vacuum up, talk about pride in your work! Nice and quiet area, couldn't hear noise from the neighbors which was pleasant (although it was sunday night so we may have just not had any people next to us). can't comment on breakfast since we slept in but next to the lobby there's a table with cookies/muffins, fruit available at all hours, plus a free newspaper stand. overall, the same price we paid for the best western inn at the meadows (also in portland) but significantly better service and quality for the money.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Tips/Secrets — Stanford's restaurant nearby has excellent food
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ez4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

The Holiday Inn Express at Jantzen Beach may not be posh, or downtown Portland, but it serves very well as a hub location for Portland vicinity sightseeing. My wife and I went out during the day - Mt. St Helens, Mt. Hood, walking around Portland downtown, the Japanese Gardens, etc. There was no need to have an expensive downtown hotel to pamper us. We like the clean, spacious, well maintained basics of a family hotel and especially one that has a continental breakfast room like this one. Very convenient. Free newspapers, free internet access in the lobby, helpful advice from staff.

Jantzen Beach is not really a beach, but an island. Near the hotel is a major shopping center with restaurants in the area as well. Though the hotel itself is internally quiet, there can be more noises all during the night. Probably more noticable to us, since we kept the window open. The more prominant noises were horns from the river - tug boats and other maritime craft. None visiable from the hotel though. These noises didn't bother us. They may bother people who want absolute quiet in their accomodations.

We accidentally left a keepsake shirt at the hotel at checkout. We called from home (out of state) and they searched, found it, and mailed it back. We paid postage. Fair enough.

It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel to downtown Portland. It's about 15 minutes to and from the airport - the best route being on the Washington State side of the border.

This hotel serves the basic, non-frivilous needs of a traveler, so we'd recommend it for consideration by others.

  • Liked — Spacious, clean room and complimentary continental breakfast.
  • Disliked — Hotel location in commercial district next to gridlock freeway (I-5).
  • Tips/Secrets — Exterior noise/horns from marine craft all night may bother some sensitive sleepers.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank btrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

We recently spent three nights at this location and would recommend it to travellers. It is conveniently located to the airport and downtown Portland. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms with queen beds are very nicely arranged with a small seating area. The rooms with king beds are not quite as nicely arranged. The premises were clean and well cared for.

  • Liked — Location and helpfulness of staff.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2006

I have just recently returned from yet another stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Jantzen Beach. It is true that the hotel overall is starting to show its age, but it is still a great place to stay. I don't think that this is the hotel that the person from Kansas stayed at because there isn't an underground parking garage and I have never had a problem finding parking. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice and fairly quiet. We especially enjoy the breakfast plus the convenience of having a microwave and refigerator in the room. And, last but not least, the price is reasonable no matter the time of year.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 October 2005

Reviewing the previous response to this hotel, I can't believe anyone would have reported this property as they had, as for the leaky dirty pool, and beds that were smaller than what they had advertised, our beds were the right size and pretty comfy, I never found the supposed "UNDER GROUND PARKING" as there was none at this property! The pool was clean and clear, all in all The hotel was wonderful, the staff was friendly and knowledgable. The rooms were great, "LARGE & ROOMY"! and the location was great! I agree with the other person who stated that they were not sure if they wanted to report on this property. The word gets out and then trying to get a room there might be imposible! Keep up the awesom job guys!!

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
Address: 2300 N Hayden Island Dr, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217-8286
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing