We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beast

Beast
Reserve with OpenTable
Beast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 4,252 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$45
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Killingsworth
Transit: NE Portland br>Just off the corner of NE 30th Ave & Killingsworth St.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I went with my brother, my partner in gastronomy, to Beast on a beautiful evening. We were both fans of Top Chef Masters so it was as much for the food as to watch Naomi at work. We were not disappointed in the least. We enjoyed every bite that came our way with the wine pairings they selected. The menu for that evening is still on my refrigerator and I look at it longingly, awaiting the next time I can enjoy such food and service. If you just enjoy food, instead of looking for flaws, this is an experience you need to have. Enjoy and Beast on.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    42
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Six of us went to Beast a couple weeks ago. Be prepared to make reso's in advance. Beast is a small stylish restaurant with community seating. Naomi Pomeroy (chef/owner) was doing most of the cooking instead of handing it off to a Sous Chef. You can watch food preparation which is artistically fascinating. There are two seating's at 6PM and 8:45PM. The meal is a 6 course feast with perfect sizes for each course. We felt $75 was a great price for a superb meal! We brought our own wines, which the $30 corkage fee was pretty steep, but we knew we would love the wine, so it was okay. Now to the courses, it started with a delicious cold soup, then to a charcuterie plate, and on and on and on. All the food was absolutely delicious. The timing served between courses was perfect. We all agreed the experience and the food was so much better than we even expected. This is a special treat to give yourselves. We definitely will be returning to this divine experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jehesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beast did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The food was thoughtfully prepared as we're the wine pairings. The service excellent. The only complaint would be the very uncomfortable chairs. Excellent value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KBterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

If you are not planning ahead, this is probably not the choice for you. Beast has two seatings an evening and you must typically call ahead. As might be assumed from the name, this is not the place for vegetarians, but for the rest of us it is a great dining experience - beautifully made and presented foods paired with lovely wines. Be prepared to talk with your table mates and budget 2 1/2-3 hours for a great experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was an amazing place. I took a customer to dinner here and we had a great evening at a shared table. Food was off the charts!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beast also viewed

 

Been to Beast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing