We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brit Pub in Portland”
Review of Moon and sixpence

Moon and sixpence
Ranked #843 of 4,268 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
249 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Brit Pub in Portland”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great pub atmosphere including three dart areas. Outside seating for warmer days or not so warm!
Excellent choice of beer on tap including beers from UK. I enjoyed fish and chips - the best I have had in a long time. The pub is large enough not to feel too crowded. Popular with the 20 - 30 somethings, families and baby boomers alike.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank costaricatravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carson Valley, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impress your friends..”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My first visit to Portland and I took friends. What a way to make an impression. Everyone loved the ambience and the food was authentic and totally to die for. I went for Fish and chips ( Im a Kiwi so that was a must have) an my friends ordered other items. The pasty was a huge hit and was shared around the table. We shared the Bread pudding. It was delicious. Could have had a tad more bite to the sauce, but still gave me visions on home.
This is all good Pub food.
The service was excellent and we never had to call someone over, they were in attendance at all times.
Take your friends for a unique dining experience.
Next visit to portland I will definitely go back..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favorite pub in Portland”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I've been going here for over 12 years and it never disappoints. Try the cider on tap and a pasty, the food is cooked to order so it takes a little longer than many places, but it's worth the wait :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Real Pub Where You Can Actually Have A Conversation!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were visiting in Portland when we stumbled upon the Moon and Sixpence completely by chance while looking for a place to wait for a friend who lives locally to join us. It has the plainest exterior, and I didn't even see a sign with its name--I had to ask the woman who served us. When we opened the door to come inside, what a treat! A traditional quiet, dim pub, with no noticeable TV, with a friendly hum of conversations here and there, a little louder in the darts throwing area. Admittedly, it was only 6PM, and who knows if TVs turn on later in the evening or music starts blasting from speakers--we can't attest to that. However, if you'd like to go somewhere in the early evening that serves a fine array of draft beers, with a full bar, a lovely, accommodating staff, and a nice pub menu, take yourself to the Moon and Sixpence on a quiet side street in Portland in the Hollywood neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRS1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ick!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I dined recently at this British bar and it was not good. The place is charm-free and dirty. There was a hair on the table and in my salad. Plus, the restaurant has a gnat problem. I would highly not recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarthaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moon and sixpence also viewed

 

Been to Moon and sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing