We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PORTLAND VISIT”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
AUBURN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“PORTLAND VISIT”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We just returned from out first visit to Portland...The Hotel Modera was recommended in the Trip Advisor, and it turned out to be right on the money! The staff was always helpful and pleasant to deal with, and the hotel itself was neat,clean and working like a good hotel should. Location was perfect for us, close to the Tri Met System and within walking distance to downtown and the Pearle District, for two seniors who like to walk. Also, we were close to the Williamette River for walks and dining. Everybody in Portland was friendly and helpful, just pull out your map and they will come. Don't take your car, fly in and take the light rail to your hotel. Portland should be on everyone's "bucket list"

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRUBUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    547
    185
    52
    29
See reviews for
280
799
160
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here for a few days on a food and drink holiday in Portland. The rooms were modern and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant was outstanding and the courtyard with the fire pits was a perfect place to chill out for some drinks. Nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petegas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I recently stayed three nights at Hotel Modera during our first visit to Portland and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was perfect, a few blocks west of the main downtown hustle and bustle and easy to access coming into and out of the city. Street parking was readily available nearby and the resulting savings over hotels made the location even more worthwhile. Tram transit throughout downtown is available nearby, but we walked everywhere we went and never used it. The staff was fabulous and the happy hour at the adjoining restaurant was a real treat. Great food and very reasonably priced. We'll stay there again on our next visit!! Thanks to all of the prior reviewers for their great recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank des124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Our first time in Portland was enhanced by our stay at the hip and friendly Hotel Modera. The beautiful outside sitting area with fire pits was a nice place to sit and relax in the evening before heading out and was a romantic stop for a nightcap and dessert on the way back in. Food was good especially the pastries and home made ice cream. Front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful - especially Johnny - service was super. It was easy to access Portland's free downtown transit system, both the tram and light rail, just a block or two from the hotel. It was easy to walk into the center of downtown but the Hotel was a few blocks out so it was quiet. Rooms were on the small side but this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Guests from Los Angeles,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland! I am very pleased to hear that you found the fire-pits and restaurant, Nel Centro, to your liking. I genuinely appreciate your kind words about our front desk staff, and will personally make sure Jonny is aware of his job-well-done.

Thanks again for your business and we hope to have you with us again on your next trip to Portland.

Regards,

Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Found this hotel on Tripadvisor, and though it was an all-around great experience, what really stood out was the friendly and helpful staff, particularly at the front desk. I had no end of questions on where to eat, how to get around on public transit, and how to get out of the city (particularly difficult in Portland, which is a driver's nightmare), and got tons of great advice. I decided halfway through to extend my stay an extra night on a busy weekend and they matched the price, efficiently moved my bags to the new room, and took care of everything. Other bonuses - extremely comfortable beds, genuinely comfy full length bathrobes, a mini fridge in the room, a lively patio and bar on the courtyard, very easy walking distance to everything in the city's downtown, with the free light rail system right outside the door. I prefer not to valet park and would have liked a self-park option, but took advantage of the valet parking price on the room, which brought the cost down a bit, and was happy to leave my car once I was in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RundleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were just married, had our photographer cancel the night before the wedding due to family emergency.. and one issue after another, very stressful 2 weeks prior to the wedding.

Finally had a beautiful wedding, but still crazy. Many people from out of town.

Our wedding night we take a cab to Hotel Modera. Got the Bridal Suite.. looking forward to a nice relaxing night with my new husband.. and open the door and not even 5 feet inside is a naked man.

Not the image you want to see on your wedding night. There was not a soul in the lobby when we arrive so there was no real reason why the error was made.

We finally got our room key after voicing how upset we were.

The room was nice.. but you don't get that moment back.

I feel terrible for the poor guy realxing minding his own business to find a bride in her gown come waltzing into his room in the middle of the night.

The staff just stood there with blank faces.. no apologies.. they were not professional.

Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CampStJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest from Portland, <br><br>

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera as your wedding night accommodations. We wanted your evening to be special in a good way, which is why we chose before your arrival to give you a complimentary upgrade into one of our suites. I am very sorry what happened was so disappointing, you should not have received the keys to another guest’s room, and for this I apologize.<br><br>

After reading our Manager Report for the evening of your arrival, I spoke with all of my team members involved in this incident so that I would have a full understanding of what happened that night. It was brought to my attention that upon your late night arrival it was immediately clear to everyone in the lobby that the reception was a success and the libations were generous. I was told that there was an incident with the cab driver and that your new husband for some reason had been very enraged and verbal with my staff who had no control over the situation with your cab. His very obvious intoxication was likely the culprit of his anger. I made sure to watch the surveillance video from that night, and not only was your husband overwhelming our evening staff with a barrage of expletives, his temper did not cease for at least 15 minutes. Under normal conditions our evening staff would have had no problem welcoming you into the hotel and giving you the keys to your correct room, however the tense and abusive environment is certainly the reason why our flustered staff mistakenly gave you the keys to another guest’s room. <br><br>

Again, I would like to apologize for our mistake, but believe my staff did the best they could do under the circumstances. I also believe that the 50% adjustment made to your bill the following morning to appease you was more than enough compensation to correct an issue which shouldn't of happened. All of our staff now know that this type of behavior is unacceptable and that any guest who doesn't treat them in the manner that they would expect to be treated can be asked to leave the property and denied accommodations. <br><br>

If you would like to discuss this incident further, I welcome you to contact me directly.<br><br>

Regards,<br><br>

Desmond Mollendor<br>
General Manager<br>
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is the best experience we have had at any hotel period. I found the hotel through Sunset magazine as one of the few reasonably priced good hotels. The price is right, but that's not the best part. The staff here is the nicest and most helpful we have come across. They truly make you feel like a friend they have welcomed into their home. They guided us to local bars and restaurants and activities with not one bad pick. They were happy to help with any request and welcomed us back by name each time we came in the lobby. The rooms are also fabulous. We are literally trying to buy the same mattress for our bed at home, that's how great that was. Great location, close to everything and very convenient to local transportation. Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be going back; family and friends in tow.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guests from Tucson,<br><br>
Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland! I am honored to know that it was our property that provided you with the best experience you have had at a Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to our hotel. <br><br>
Regards,<br><br>
Desmond Mollendor<br>
General Manager<br>
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,008 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,783 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing