We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite hangout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Favorite hangout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stay here whenever we visit Portland, most recently in September 2011. It's very modern and uncluttered, with stylish decor in the lobby and rooms. I especially love the bright bathrooms and the faux fur throws on the beds. The rooms are quiet and comfortable with free wifi. Valet parking only, which is expensive but typical in the downtown area. If you like to walk, Modera is close to the riverfront and provides easy access to Pioneer Square and other neighborhoods worth exploring. Their bar and restaurant is a great place to enjoy happy hour: good wine and drinks, interesting food, and those firepits in the courtyard are wonderful if you're lucky enough to find a seat near them! Breakfast and espresso drinks are good, too.

Room Tip: Rooms over the courtyard seem a little bigger, but there can be late night noise from the bar on Fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rattlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    532
    177
    50
    27
See reviews for
276
772
159
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I picked this hotel after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor and also after checking the rate and the fact that wireless internet is included. The front desk staff was very helpful at check-in, both on running routes and restaurants in the area. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and quiet. The hotel has a great courtyard with a fire during the cooler times and it is a wonderful place to have a beer and chat with friends. Also, while this hotel compares on amenities to the more high-end boutiques, the price is so competitive as to make you think that "it's too good to be true." It's true. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Corner room avoids any possible hall noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here as an overnight getaway in August 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were nicely redecorated, with the bathrooms especially well-designed. One beautiful surprise was at night, when we found the gas fires in the courtyard, with groups of chairs around them. What a lovely place to sit with a glass of wine or cup of coffee! We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaCassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I joined my husband on a business trip and, after scouring Trip Advisor and many other sites, chose to stay at Hotel Modera. Research on the web and sites like this are a wonderful thing, and I absolutely made the perfect choice.
First, the location: For my husband, who had to go to the Convention Centre for several days, the train was just a block away and it literally took him from door-to-door. For myself, shopping was made a little too easy :-) as downtown was only one transit stop away, or you take the green line all the way to Clackamas Town Centre. If you feel like it, downtown and Pioneer Courthouse Square (Macy's, Nordstrom, Ross) are a leisurely walk. Conversely, you can walk a few more blocks in a different direction and take the street car to the wonderful Pearl District. Honestly, after having spent a week at the Hotel Modera in Portland, I don't think there is a hotel there with a better location.
Hotel dining: Nel Centro, located on the main floor, is independently owned and operated but offers Room Service to hotel guests as well. Quality and service are both excellent. But if you want a change of pace, there's lots of options, with the Java Man also on the same block (great lattes and nummy breakfast muffins), Hot Lips Pizza just up the street (Reallllllly good pizza!) and a really great little deli that makes the most delish sandwiches.
Service: Wow. The front of house staff at this hotel are simply outstanding. Concierge Lealon was a special standout for me. He was so sweet and helpful and a font of really great and useful information, and he just took supergood care of us, making our reservations and so much more. Whoever does the hiring here deserves some serious kudos, 'cause the front end people were all simply amazing. Hotels should send their people here just to see how it's done right!
The rooms: The rooms are not huge, but are certainly nice. The beds are very comfortable, the linens and pillows are very very nice! The wireless is free, the TV is HD, and the toiletries are luscious. Clean and comfortable with nice perks. What else would you want?
If we make it back to Portland (and we hope to) we won't need to do any research at all, we'll absolutely book our stay at Hotel Modera. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room as there can be a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very contemporary design. Room was a little on the small side, but not a problem. Good fare in the busy busy restaurant. Staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rec531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Just stayed here Sept 16 & 17 in a room over looking the terrace and absolutely loved the hotel and staff. Super clean, unique, and perfect location. A few blocks from the Saturday farmers market (go there for breakfast). We chose to leave the car in the SMART Park garage about a 5min walk away. It's only $5.00 for every 24-hour period. The valet at Modera is very relaxed about letting you unload the luggage before parking the car. Really, just stay here and move on to planning the remainder of your trip. Oh...couldn't get the room as cold as we would have liked. That's the only down side, but the windows do open too.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We understand that the Modera started life as Day's Inn, an L-Shaped architectural mediocrity. Then .... someone with esquisite taste figured out that the place could be something more. While upgrades don't drip of granite and gold, they were clearly planned by a designer with a sense of material, balance, color and style. The resulting courtyard, restaurant and lobby make you sit and wonder why other hotels can't achieve such simple elegance. There are fancier (and glitzier) hotels within 5-6 blocks, with room costs nearly double those of the Modera. Perhaps the higher prices elsewhere are explained by old dark wood lobbies, antiques or rooms that are bigger than the 250 sf +/- Modera rooms that are holdovers from the original Day's Inn construction. Still the rooms at the Modera, are as nicely appointed as the lobby, conformatble, quiet and functional. The front desk staff (who offered the fact that each also provides "concierge services") was competent, helpful and hard working. When we ended up with half a group that wanted to sit down in a wine bar and a couple of children whose age made that difficult, the staff went to work to recommend and call several spots that could accomodate both. The location of the hotel, a block off one MAX line and 5 blocks from another, meant that we could visit without a car, one of the benefits of traveling in compact Portland. We can't recommend the Modera highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiminsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing