We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, fresh hotel in downtown Portland”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #31 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here with a friend and really enjoyed it. The staff is very helpful (notably the valet staff!), the hotel is mod and cool, and the connected restaurant / outdoor fire pits is quite nice. Great for couples or a friend-group getaway.

Room Tip: Make sure and book ahead so you don't get stuck in the handicapped room (unless you want that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverStreak62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

The first impression of the sleek modern decor conveys the feel of a clean, streamlined stay. That was complimented by a very friendly and helpful staff - which went out of their way to provide us information, printouts and suggestions on attractions, restaurants, etc. The location is convenient to Portland's free downtown transit and easily walkable to the riverfront and downtown.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We didn't get a chance to try the restaurant/lounge but the large gas outdoor fire pits were appealing for gray Portland days.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awh20015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We selected this hotel because the large hotel chain where we stayed on our previous trips to Portland was totally booked. So after researching MANY hotels, we chose Hotel Modera based on reviews and its location. Actually, in one review, someone named the concierge. I recognized it and phoned the hotel to speak directly to him.
The price was less than our former hotel, and the amenities rivaled it. We were not disappointed.
Our stay was wonderful from the moment we entered. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, considerate, and loaded with info. Kudos to all of them! Keep up the good work.
Our room, as well as the bathroom, was beautifully decorated and very clean. (This is a huge statement as my husband and I are "germophobes.")
Ice chests right off the elevator with pre-made bags of ice were, yes, totally cool.
We loved the original artwork displayed throughout the hotel.
The courtyard is truly unique, especially at night. We enjoyed going to the happy hour and sitting outside. We had breakfast twice in Nel Centro, and it was excellent!
We also like the "no pets" policy. Portland has plenty of hotels that accomodate pets, and my husband's cat allergy detects the slightest dander.
The only request we had to make was to have a luggage rack brought to our room.
We will absolutely stay at Hotel Modera again. Hopefully, it will be just as great the next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveportland237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stay here whenever we visit Portland, most recently in September 2011. It's very modern and uncluttered, with stylish decor in the lobby and rooms. I especially love the bright bathrooms and the faux fur throws on the beds. The rooms are quiet and comfortable with free wifi. Valet parking only, which is expensive but typical in the downtown area. If you like to walk, Modera is close to the riverfront and provides easy access to Pioneer Square and other neighborhoods worth exploring. Their bar and restaurant is a great place to enjoy happy hour: good wine and drinks, interesting food, and those firepits in the courtyard are wonderful if you're lucky enough to find a seat near them! Breakfast and espresso drinks are good, too.

Room Tip: Rooms over the courtyard seem a little bigger, but there can be late night noise from the bar on Fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rattlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I picked this hotel after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor and also after checking the rate and the fact that wireless internet is included. The front desk staff was very helpful at check-in, both on running routes and restaurants in the area. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and quiet. The hotel has a great courtyard with a fire during the cooler times and it is a wonderful place to have a beer and chat with friends. Also, while this hotel compares on amenities to the more high-end boutiques, the price is so competitive as to make you think that "it's too good to be true." It's true. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Corner room avoids any possible hall noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here as an overnight getaway in August 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were nicely redecorated, with the bathrooms especially well-designed. One beautiful surprise was at night, when we found the gas fires in the courtyard, with groups of chairs around them. What a lovely place to sit with a glass of wine or cup of coffee! We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaCassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I joined my husband on a business trip and, after scouring Trip Advisor and many other sites, chose to stay at Hotel Modera. Research on the web and sites like this are a wonderful thing, and I absolutely made the perfect choice.
First, the location: For my husband, who had to go to the Convention Centre for several days, the train was just a block away and it literally took him from door-to-door. For myself, shopping was made a little too easy :-) as downtown was only one transit stop away, or you take the green line all the way to Clackamas Town Centre. If you feel like it, downtown and Pioneer Courthouse Square (Macy's, Nordstrom, Ross) are a leisurely walk. Conversely, you can walk a few more blocks in a different direction and take the street car to the wonderful Pearl District. Honestly, after having spent a week at the Hotel Modera in Portland, I don't think there is a hotel there with a better location.
Hotel dining: Nel Centro, located on the main floor, is independently owned and operated but offers Room Service to hotel guests as well. Quality and service are both excellent. But if you want a change of pace, there's lots of options, with the Java Man also on the same block (great lattes and nummy breakfast muffins), Hot Lips Pizza just up the street (Reallllllly good pizza!) and a really great little deli that makes the most delish sandwiches.
Service: Wow. The front of house staff at this hotel are simply outstanding. Concierge Lealon was a special standout for me. He was so sweet and helpful and a font of really great and useful information, and he just took supergood care of us, making our reservations and so much more. Whoever does the hiring here deserves some serious kudos, 'cause the front end people were all simply amazing. Hotels should send their people here just to see how it's done right!
The rooms: The rooms are not huge, but are certainly nice. The beds are very comfortable, the linens and pillows are very very nice! The wireless is free, the TV is HD, and the toiletries are luscious. Clean and comfortable with nice perks. What else would you want?
If we make it back to Portland (and we hope to) we won't need to do any research at all, we'll absolutely book our stay at Hotel Modera. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room as there can be a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,883 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 146 in Portland
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 146 in Portland
2,249 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#21 Family Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £130 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing