We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel for a Business Trip”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Corin Lianides (NYC & Madrid)
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel for a Business Trip”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I took the Amtrak down to Portland from Seattle for an overnight business trip and chose to stay at the Hotel Modera. It was a quick walk from my office downtown, and I felt immediately welcomed by the staff. The look is hip without being over the top or uncomfortable, and the bed was extremely comfy. I wish I'd had time to have a drink in the expansive outdoor patio area -- it looked fun and relaxing.

Room Tip: I think a room overlooking the patio area would have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights this past week. Very well done reno of a former motor hotel. Stylish, comfortable. Really nice outdoor seating area with fireplace pits - perfect for small gatherings. Quality finishings, fixturing, bedding. Staff was very warm and helpful. Room could have used better lighting, particularly at the desk, but otherwise no issues. Restaurant a bit pricy at this price point for a hotel, not a cheap breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toronto_traveller416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We enjoyed a great stay at Hotel Modera. The staff was incredibly kind - from the courtesy call to confirm our reservation, until check out, everyone we encountered was helpful and friendly. The fire pits are awesome - perfect for happy hour or hanging out, even in the rain, and we loved the iPad in the lobby area. The room was nice - cool decor and it felt very clean. We loved the location, and we felt like it was an amazing value. We would recommend Hotel Modera, and we will (hopefully) visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Very contemporary,boutique hotel in a great location. Friendly, thorough staff who sent personal email reminders about our accommodations and reservation information. Delightful.

Room Tip: The suite is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend who lives in the area. The public areas are very nice, with cozy fire pits with which to enjoy a cocktail or two on a chilly fall evening. The lobby is a great space for people watching or just hanging out. I appreciated the Mac computers with which to check e-mail and print our boarding pass. Rooms, however, are microscopic - even by Portland standards. The bed was not particularly comfortable and the walls are very think so you can hear everything going on in your neighbors room. There are also very few amenities, we are used to getting the NY Times when we stay at other hotels however there are no newspapers or free coffee here. The price is to high for what you get, for the next time around I would likely stay at the nearby Westin or Hilton or for a boutique hotel experience the Lucia.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayAreaTravellerSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guests from San Diego,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am very happy to hear that you found our public areas pleasant and our services convenient.

I am sorry to hear that you found our rooms too small for your taste and that your neighbors were noisy. While we are not known for the spaciousness of our rooms, we have done our best to maximize the space we do have. We have reduced the clutter often found in other hotels by hiding them in or below the furniture in the rooms. Features such as our complimentary in room safe, honor bar, mini refrigerator can all be found in the cabinet next to the desk. Our complimentary in-room coffee maker and hairdryer are located in the guestroom bathroom, and visible on the shelf below the counter. Also, in each guestroom, is an iHome docking station, two telephones, 32" flat panel HD TV, luxurious Tarocco bathroom amenities and two microfiber robes.

I regret that you did not find your guestroom bed comfortable. Each bed is fashioned with designer linens, pillow top mattresses, Pacific Coast Feather pillows and comforter, as well as a soft faux fur throw.

We do offer every guest a complimentary local newspaper upon request. While it may not be the New York Times, our local Oregonian offers much of the same information and is up to date on all current events.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera, your business is appreciated. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss your recent stay, I would welcome your comments.

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Very pleasant hotel overall, and the decor is quite nice. Good staff and great location. There is much to like here, but I had a bum room.

For me, the room was too small and cramped, feeling like NYC or Tokyo square footage. As it happens, my room had several defects -- the HVAC was uncontrollably hot, the sink was very slow draining, the water too soft for me (hardness and pressure) and the carpet was sticky underfoot. I was scheduled to stay for three nights but chose to leave after one due to the problems. The desk staff offered another room, but my first night was sufficiently difficult that I paid the $50 early departure penalty and moved on. I was not happy about getting clipped for leaving under these circumstances but took Steve Job's lesson to heart (life is short), swallowed hard and did not look back. In order to switch rooms, I had to pack as if leaving altogether. At that point the grass looked greener anywhere else.

As others have noted, this is a fine property, and you are likely to fare much better in your room than I did. Had I discovered all my problems before getting settled, I am sure I could have found another suitable room at the hotel.

The fixtures and furnishings are upscale, and the guest rooms and common areas are very well designed and executed. The interior spaces are beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Guest from Ohio,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. We appreciate your kind words about the décor of the hotel and our convenient location.

It is of up-most importance to us that each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay, and I am very sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. While we are working very diligently to insure that every room is in top shape we can’t always catch every problem before one of our guests do. I have made sure that the issues you have described will receive proper attention. However, had you allowed us to move you to another room, I feel confident that it would have meet your standards of comfort, function and cleanliness.

Thank you again for choosing Hotel Modera and I hope you might stay with us again in the future. I would like to encourage you to contact me in regards to your previous stay, and allow me to also personally assist in arranging your next stay with us.

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I was in Portland for one night and found about this hotel online. My partner and I were pleasantly surprised about how beautiful and modern the property was. Rooms were clean and spacious, bathrooms were spotless and had very nice products (citrus soap, shampoo etc).

The restaurant was excellent too and we sat in the garden by the fire pits. I don't remember what was near the hotel as our stay was in the spring of last year, but everything reachable by foot.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing