We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, sleek hotel, portland”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent, sleek hotel, portland”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Gorgeous modern hotel with well appointed rooms, beautiful lobby, helpful staff and concierge. The beds are super comfortable. We also loved the outside gas hotel fire pits that kept us warm and had drinks. The location is excellent close city center, shopping, street car, Starbucks. Nel centro the restaurant is super good as well, especially breakfast.

Room Tip: suite are great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chardon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    547
    185
    52
    29
See reviews for
280
798
160
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Attended a conference and this was the overflow hotel. Couldn't have been happier. The room even had a window that could be opened for fresh air! The staff appeared incredibly young but was knowledgeable and nice. It is located right near the free streetcar making it very easy to get around. My room had a mini fridge. With a 7-eleven and grocery a few blocks away, midnight snacks and a light breakfast were easily arranged. Passes to 24-hour Fitness were a real perk. Probably the only downside was a lack of noise barrier between the rooms. I could literally hear the people in the rooms on either side of me talking. Thankfully the A/C was a bit noisy. So keeping the fan on gave me a sense of privacy and quiet. (The soaps and shampoo were absolutely to die for.)

Room Tip: Far from the elevator is probably a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutWanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for a conference and had an 'excellent' stay. The staff was helpful, the room was clean and the restaurant was worth a visit. Their outdoor bar/lounge area was a huge plus - particularly since it was sunny and 70 when we were there. I rated this as excellent for the exceptional value this hotel represents. Certainly worth a look if you're visiting Portland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proche18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera and thank you for the excellent review! I am thrilled you found your guest room to your liking and the restaurant exceptional. The weather has been great these past few weeks, and I’m thrilled you caught Portland on a stellar day! We look forward to having you with us again!

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Had been told good things about the property and would definitely stay here again. Lobby is fantastic and Nel Centro (the restaurant) is very good, as well. Rooms are nice... pretty trendy. There was a bit of noise from outside... nothing other than city sounds, but something to consider if you are a light sleeper. Only real downside is there is no gym in the building. It's down the block at a 24-hour Fitness branch. That might be good from an equipment standpoint, but it definitely wasn't as convenient. The hotel IS close to both the MAX and the Streetcar so mass transit is easy from here.

Room Tip: High a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayW913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

A nice remodel of a 60's era building gives it a fun, hip feel.

Rooms are big and very nice overall. Stay here often, but my last stay had one tending a little shop worn from the renovation some time ago. Still a good choice.

Slipping down my favorite list as room was not ready to check in for several of us until after 5:00 PM. Front desk staff really great, service rating due to the operations difficulty and grumpy bartender interactions.

Poor choice for a larger meeting as quite bad meeting space. Horrible sound system.

I really want to give it all 5 stars, but the management needs to step back and recognize they have some work to do. I'll still be back, accept the quirks like some old shoes and just walk past the bar with my own bottle of wine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzinquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I’m very pleased to hear that you found the hotel nicely remodeled and the style fun and hip.

I apologize that you were unable to check-in when you arrived. This is unusual as it is rare that rooms are not ready for check-in by 4pm. I am pleased, however; that you found the Front Desk staff to be friendly. In regards to the issue with the Bartender, I will be sure to pass along this information to the General Manager of Nel Centro, the onsite restaurant. I’m sure he would like to address this issue with his staff as Nel Centro is a separately leased and operated business independent of Hotel Modera.

I would also like to know what room you stayed in so that we can give it the proper attention in needs. We regularly paint and do preventative maintenance in all rooms, but if there was something overlooked; we would like to know so it can be addressed.

I would like thank you for your continued patronage and invite you to contact me directly to discuss your recent stay.

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Wonderful friendly courteous staff. Beds were superb- wanted to take one home ! Location convenient to downtown , PSU , Portland art museum and walking distance to river or farmers market. Can't think of anything to change.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen-GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera and thank you for the great review! I’m very happy you found the beds comfortable and our location convenient! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great hotel! Rooms were nice, big and comfortable.

The good:
-Prices were pretty sharp. Got a better one by calling down rather than booking online.
-Very chic and elegant
-Service staff were nice, friendly and helpful.
-valet service very convenient!
-great area - close to everything. Take some time to talk UP the hill - it's really pretty!

The bad (if anything):
-one elevator was out of order - not a big deal, but was told was not allowed to take the stairs up so long waits for the elevator
-complete, amazing renovation, except for the 1970's toilet...nothing wrong with it, but just looked odd!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arif_a786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland! I am very happy to hear that you liked the décor, found our staff helpful and friendly, and our location convenient. I apologize that one of the elevators was down during your stay this past weekend but am pleased to say the new part arrived today and the elevator is up and running. Again, I'm sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay but am thankful for your understanding.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera and we look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,002 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing