We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel. We only only stayed here one night and it suited our needs. Location was good, service great, and nice contemporary decor. The only negative wad our king room was tiny. My kids were in a double queen that was larger. Also, in both rooms, the A/C did not work very well at all. We were all too hot at night and slept poorly. On the bright side the pillows were great and I never say that about a hotel. So, some pros and cons but overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpmurphyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice experience at a sleek, comfortable hotel in a great location. Good-sized room, nice amenities, attentive and friendly staff. Good restaurant with interesting outdoor area for relaxing. Appreciated the convenience of valet parking, though a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review of your stay! I’m very happy that you were comfortable during your stay with us, and found the staff friendly and the outdoor patio to your liking. We look forward to having you with us again!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend in July. Easy access from the airport via light rail (1 transfer). Popular restaurant/bar in the hotel and plenty of great restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Short stroll to Portland State and very close to the 405 freeway if you're driving. Parking at the hotel is not free. The room was spacious, well-appointed and quiet. Lobby and restaurant/bar have mid-century hip decor that's well done.

Stayed over the weekend of the Portland International Beer Festival, which was an easy 10-12 block walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We just returned from a holiday in Portland where we stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Modera. We enjoyed the location and the contemporary feel to the hotel. However we probably would not stay there again as we did not find it was family oriented. We booked a special rate through the hotel website and the room was an accessibility room. We didn't quite understand what this meant until we got our room. It means the bathroom has no tub and the shower drain is in the floor of the bathroom. This means that although there is a large curtain you can pull around you the entire bathroom floor gets wet whenever someone takes a shower, leaving the whole bathroom wet and slippery. There also is no vanity and no place to put your toiletries. We had a double queen room and found it very small with no place to put our suitcases but the floor. There was very little room to hang any clothes up on hangers. It was very uncomfortable for our family of 4. The best part was the beds which were very comfortable!
We did enjoy the location as it is close to downtown and easy access to the street car and the MAX light rail which makes it easy to get around the city without your car. We did drive there but parked outside of the hotel since the hotel parking rate is $27 per night. We found lots of parking choices nearby for about $11 per 24 hours and even parked on the street just outside the hotel for free from 7pm - 8 am.
We also had a difficult start to our vacation. We arrived very early in the morning and the hotel was fully booked. We really needed our room as both our kids had become car sick and were not feeling well. We explained the situation to the front desk and they told us they would get us a room asap (once the cleaning staff arrived at 9 and could clean a room that was not occupied). Of course we understood this. We went for breakfast to the hotel restaurant and then stayed in the lobby. When they came to tell us that our room was ready (it was already after 11) it turned out they had confused us with another guest and they had not cleaned the correct room. We didn't expect to be able to check in early and would have been happy to pay an extra rate to use a room early because our kids really needed the rest. However, do I think they tried their best to help us out in our situation? Nope!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I’m happy to hear that you found your bed comfortable and our location convenient. It is with regret to learn that you felt your room was not large enough for your family. We do offer suites that have additional space and can also sleep up to 4 people like the Accessible Double Queen Room you chose for your recent stay. While the accessible room is ADA complaint with the roll-in shower and other accessible features, our Suites have a walk in shower that is enclosed.

I apologize that we were unable to check you in as early as you had wished, and I apologize that there was a miscommunication error about cleaning the correct room. As you are surely aware, human error does occur, and I assure you that while we may have made that initial mistake, we certainly tried our best to still get you into your room early. Like you mentioned, reserving the room for the night before and informing the hotel of your early/next day arrival is the sure way to guarantee your room will be ready as early as you would like the next day.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel Modera. I hope that with this additional insight you might give us another shot the next time you travel to Portland.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Good design, fairly simple otherwise.

Positives: Comfortable bed, friendly staff, nice design, really good restaurant attached, free WiFi throughout the hotel. There is a train right outside the hotel which is nice if you want to catch a ride anywhere downtown/places further than downtown.

Negatives: None, really. A tiny bit away from downtown (15 min walk, which is not too bad).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamCoffeeKicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor about Hotel Modera, we decided to give it a try for our recent stay in Portland. We were looking to be centrally located, but preferred to stay away from the big chain hotels. We were not disappointed! While the hotel itself was built several decades ago, it's been completely transformed into a stylish and comfortable oasis. The rooms are not gigantic, but they are well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel staff was especially friendly and helpful, without any of the "forced" sincerity you get at many hotels. While we never ate at the hotel restaurant, we did have drinks on the (once again) stylish terrace in the hotel's courtyard. If there is anything negative I could say, it would be about the steep charge for parking on site. (All of the hotels in the area charge similar prices, so Hotel Modera is simply keeping with the local market--and it is valet with unlimited in-out privileges). Overall, the vast majority of the reviews on this site are right on: Hotel Modera is one of the best hotels in Portland.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden/courtyard are slightly more expensive, but worth it. The rooms on the o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Islington185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I was away on business and my wife came along with me. This hotel is excellent. The valet always asked if I needed directions to my appointments, restaurants and shopping. The front desk was very kind ad so was maid service. One of the best aspects of the hotel is the out door patio and happy hour. It is not the typical loud, get crazy happy hour. The patio/ bar is indoor and outdoor (with heated rocks for warmth) and has a great menu of snacks and the drinks are great, the servers are quick and efficient. My wife and I loved the fact that this hotel was a few blocks away (walking distance) from downtown "party" portland, since it was quiet at night and you can still enjoy the hotel without any distractions. She also loved all of the shopping that was in walking distance. Another great aspect is when you get into the elevator, you must use your room key to go to your room, not anyone can walk into the hotel and walk around. Excellent since of security. When I return to portland, I will definitely go back to Hotel Modera.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! I am thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us, and found many aspects of your trip excellent! We try our best to exceed expectations and give every guest an excellent experience. We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,106 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £132 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing