We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Modera!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had to go on a very quick business trip to the PDX and Hotel Modera was highly recommended as it was just two-blocks away from the office my colleague and I were visiting. Upon arrival at the hotel, the doorman opened the taxi door and offered to take in our luggage, which was nice. First glance of the lobby was very modern and had a nice, warm vibe to it. Checking in was quick and very friendly. Jorry took great care of us and thoroughly explained all the features of the hotel, along with the complimentary access to the 24-Hour Fitness a block over.

Once I got to my room, again, it had that modern and warm feel that I got from the lobby. The room was a little small, compared to what I'm used to but, it was just myself so, it was still comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and had a nice faux fur throw on it, not sure how often it gets clean, so I just enjoyed the plush feel of it for a few seconds then pushed it to the side. The bathroom was a good size and the bath amenities smelled amazing! I didn't realize there was a full length mirror on the bathroom side of the door until I checked out; there's no need to close the bathroom door if you're all alone, right? The room overlooked their courtyard, which I can assume can get loud as there's lots of seating and firepits but, there was no one out there the night I stayed.

My colleague and I had lunch at the restaurant downstairs, Nel Centro. Their menu was far from abundant, but sounded quite amazing. Their Autumn Squash soup was delicious! For my entree I had their Rotisserie Chicken sandwich, which was a little dry, but not bad. The fries that accompanied it were nicely seasoned and enjoyed it. Our server was okay, seemed a tad spaced out, but friendly nonetheless. I ordered room service later on in the evening and my order came up quick. Pizza was recommended and I can say, yes, pizza is the way to go! Note: Gratuity is already included, and the room service server will tell you no additional gratuity is necessary. That just made me want to add a few dollars for being upfront!

We had asked to schedule a taxi for a 5am run to PDX and the front desk agent had suggested a sedan, for $40, which was decided to take, as our taxi from PDX cost about $50.

Check out was a breeze, friendly and our sedan was outside waiting!

If you've read my reviews, you'll see I'm a Hilton snob but I'll tell you, this has opened my eyes towards the boutique hotel experience. If I ever have to make it back to the PDX, I'll definitely consider Hotel Modera!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norcalnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We chose the Hotel Modera for two reasons--we were attending an event at the Keller Auditorium which was two blocks away, and compared to other downtown hotels, the rate was reasonable. The only downside (and this is common with any downtown hotel) was the valet parking rate of $30/night, but turned out we got a $5 discount and the parking was efficient. We also liked that it wasn't a high-rise as we prefer motor inns, which this used to be (Days Inn).

When making the reservation I was told we would be upgraded to a courtyard view but turned out we were assigned a "city view" which meant we overlooked a busy street. But because they were so nice and accommodating when we checked in at 11:30 a.m., we didn't ask to change rooms.Turned out the street quieted down and we had no problem with traffic noise.

Even though it was small we found the room very comfortable and I loved the bed. The combo of sliding closet/bathroom door was odd but it seemed to work (when the door was closed the closet was open and when the bathroom was open the closet was closed). We did miss a seating area by the window as we enjoy sitting and looking outside. The in-room wifi was fast and free, the TV worked well (enjoyed a Sunday night football game), and the shower was good with plenty of fluffy towels.

There are good restaurants in the area and we ended up at the Harborside McCormick & Schmick's, easily within walking distance, and there is also a Morton's close by. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (but will as the food looked quite good) but enjoyed an after-dinner drink and loved sitting by the fire pit in the courtyard even though the evening was chilly.

All in all we enjoyed the place and found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. If you want to do more downtown and don't want to ride MAX or the streetcar, a hotel closer to the action might be preferable but the rate is going to be more and many don't provide free in-room wifi. We plan on staying again in early January for another Keller event.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor (4th or 5th level) & courtyard if more expensive but could be a little quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueberrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Across the street from the office made it convenient. nel centro restaurant/bar onsite was very good. Wish they had coffee in the lobby before 6:30am but I am an early riser. Valet's were very attentive and good with directions. I don't know about the thin walls others wrote about as I didn't hear any of the neighbors. There were no issues with my room. Very clean and modern. Daily paper delivered to room. Nice firepits outside in the courtyard. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Get on on the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The location of this hotel was awesome, right near one of the "food truck rows" that PDX has become famous for. Also very close to the art museum and other downtown attractions. I got a great deal and the late night menu with outdoor fireplace was particularly enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

LOVED the lobby, the restaurant and the courtyard. Did not like the paper thin walls, hearing others conversations and their trips to the bathroom. Also, because I like my own bathroom privacy, I didn't like the pocket door with the big gap underneath or the lack of a fan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Erin K,

Thank you for your recent patronage of Hotel Modera. I am very happy to hear you appreciated the lobby décor, the restaurant, and the courtyard, but am disappointed to hear that you experienced some issues with noise from adjacent guests. We normally are very happy to assist with room moves when requested, and we also offer ear plugs for guests that might be extra sensitive to noise. Please feel encouraged to make a request for a room in more quiet areas of the hotel at any time before or during your stay. We would be very happy to accommodate you whenever we can.

Best Regards,

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503-484-1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

When I go to a nice hotel, I expect a few essentials. But places is lacking.
1. I expect to have a full body mirror in the room for getting ready.
2. I expect a shower/tub wide enough for me to stand in.
3. I expect an easily accessible power outlet next to my bed for charging my phone.
4. I expect an air conditioner that is quiet enough for me to sleep and that doesn't incessantly turn on and off.
5. I expect a nice gym within the premises without me having to walk in the freezing cold 6AM in the morning when I do my daily exercise.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Although location is a good walk to most shopping and restaurants, it is do able. Otherwise, close enough to take the light rail to most places a few minutes away. I like that they didn't have noisy ice machines. Instead, they had on each floor a nice built-in freezer cabinet where all the bagged iced were stored. The front desk were very helpful in suggesting places to eat. I highly recommend within walking distance the VQ for brunch. Overall, very satisfied and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnysideTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,137 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £117 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing