We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Hotel Madera. The style of the hotel is European modern and looks very sleek and functional
The hotel staff went out of their way to help us resolve some issues
The attached restaurant has very good food and great live music at night

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASnowcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Quaint yet upscale! Very comfortable like a warm family room with posh furnishings! From check-in to happy hour in the lounge to room service... The staff members are friendly and personable. A polished boutique hotel in the heart of downtown! Perfection!

Room Tip: Ask for Johnny at the front desk! He is very knowledgable about the area, welcoming and accommodatin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It's so nice sometimes to get away from the chain hotels, although sometimes you take a risk, not this time! The decor was ultra modern and inviting, room was small but very comfortable and although it is located in the financial district there were some great eateries within easy walking distance. Now if only the Portland weather could be improved upon..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I ended up here on a Hotwire deal shortly after New Year's. The room was amazing: huge room, awesome king bed, big windows with a nice city view, immaculate bathroom. The bed was a little squeaky, but still awesome. The staff was young, energetic, and very helpful. The location is a bit out of the central area, but it's still close enough to walk to everything downtown, and if you're feeling lazy or the weather sucks, the streetcar is right there. We have stayed a quite few 3.5-4 star hotels in Portland, and I think this one has been my favourite so far!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLandrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay. The front desk was very helpful and made us feel at home. The property had all of the necessary amenities. It was not in a tourist area, so it is best suited to business travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We live an hour and a half drive from Portland and when we want to experience the big city with an overnight, this is where we stay. Highly recommend as a "best buy", upscale without the price tag. Pretty much everything about this hotel hits the right notes for us. Just the right amount of "city hip" without the attitude. Great service. Rooms are nicely appointed and spotless. It just feels like a splurge-y experience. Don't overlook the restaurant...you cannot beat the quality for the value and you will note the same high level of service here, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateCaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If the shower functions, and I can sleep, all is well, but recently I stopped at Hotel Modera thinking it was another hotel…, what a surprise! Tuly fancy by my standards, like shower fixtures that not onl work buy are aesthetically superb. Everything was in fact, AND the soap was wrapped in paper, beautiful soap. Art was everywhere, everywhere! Most inspiring but more, it takes you way from the mundane. The is the best I've ever seen, hotel/Art. Downstairs is another present, Northern Italian cuisine, unbelievably good, pasta and a side of chard with golden raisins and pine nuts browned, yum. I will wonder how they cooked the chard into little balls, until I go back and ask…. See my photo of hallway to restaurant like an ove of warmness you are approaching. outside, gray cool Portland, inside warmth and beautiful respite for this traveler.

Room Tip: Only 5 stories, close to elevator always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwanderX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing