We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run property, in a great location but beware of pricey parking fee!”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #26 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well run property, in a great location but beware of pricey parking fee!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very clean, stylish hotel with friendly efficient staff in very good downtown location within walking distance to several museums & unique cafes, coffee houses and the river walk. Room very clean and comfortable, but located above garbage collection area which was often noisy in the morning. Bathroom has sliding door which does not entirely close leaving a 1 inch gap...more privacy would be nice! Great restaurant & cocktail bar on site with cool patio to enjoy happy hour. All staff members we encountered were very friendly & helpful. My only real complaint is the rip off $30 per night fee to park car on site; that along with various other fees & taxes brought nightly rate to over $200 per night...I do not believe this property is worth that amount especially in light of fact I have stayed in Comfort Inns with rooms just as nice at half the rate.

Room Tip: East facing rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCBesanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alemodera, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
BCBesanc,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am very happy to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful, your room clean and comfortable, the bar and restaurant to your liking and the location convenient. I’m sorry to hear that you didn't discover our $1 parking promotion before you reserved your stay! Offered only to the TripAdvisor community, our Park for $1 offer is the best parking rate in all of Downtown Portland!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Portland!

Regards,
Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503-484-1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    547
    185
    52
    29
See reviews for
280
799
160
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was in Portland for less than 24 hours. Desk staff were great. After a long working day and evening, I arrived in my room and attempted to sleep only to find that the noise from the lift made it impossible. (Room 534 I think.) I was moved to another room - not good to have to pack everything up at 11pm and move when you have to be up early for a flight - only to discover that the pillows smelled as though they had not been changed. Somebody brought fresh pillows but still, a horrible experience, like a tramp had been in the bed before me. Too tired to make a fuss about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheForlornHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alemodera, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
TheForlornHope,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant interaction with our Front Desk staff. I am also happy to hear that they were able to offer an alternative when you were dissatisfied with your original room. Had we been given the opportunity, we would have been very happy to offer additional resources to ensure that your second room was to the level of satisfaction you require. I am surprised to hear about the issues you mention in the second room offered, as cleanliness of the rooms and guest comfort are two of our utmost priorities.

Please feel encouraged to contact me directly to discuss your recent stay.

Best Regards,
Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503-484-1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is such a great hotel. It's not too big or too small. The lobby and rooms are beautifully designed and furnished. We got perfect restaurant recommendations from the concierge (Jonny) and the bar downstairs has some delicious cocktails and very thin crispy french fries for those nights you don't feel like going out. Helpful advice: Park your car in the $4 a day parking lot on Clay St behind the 5th avenue building; the hotel charges $30 a day to park.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lindencraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I had 30$ worth of medication stolen out of my car the first night I was parked by the valet. I had literally just purchased it and knew exactly where it was placed in my car (passenger seat underneath swag/flyers from tradeshow).

Why didn't I bother mentioning it, after discovering the theft the next morning immediately after getting my car for the day? Seemed like more of a hassle for me honestly and didn't really need any cool mods done to my car or have it thrown into park as a means to come to a complete stop etc.

Otherwise nice stay, staff interactions were friendly. However next month when I come back for work I will stay somewhere else, plenty of other options.

Anyhow management one of your valets working April 3 @ 6pm is a petty thief.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BaneDamage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Anonymous TripAdvisor Member,

We were glad that you experienced friendly staff interactions during your stay at Hotel Modera. Please know we take all reports of this nature seriously as guest security is our number one priority. I feel that we missed an opportunity to be of service had you brought these concerns to our attention.

I find it odd that you state your staff interactions were friendly but when you had reason to believe something was missing from your vehicle you did not wish to bring it to the attention of our management staff. I assure you our managers are as friendly, if not friendlier, than the hourly staff members (someone had to train the team). You go on to state that mentioning your loss would have been a hassle and that you were afraid of potential staff reprisal to your vehicle (an accusation our acknowledged friendly staff would never do). Yet you found the hassle of slandering my staff publicly on TripAdvisor was easier than seeking assistance?

Anonymous TripAdvisor Member; when you find the medication in question under the seat of your car, as I am sure you will, I hope you have the decency to apologize as publicly as you have chosen to slander the Hotel Modera team. If you read the 1,000+ other reviews on TripAdvisor I feel you will get a better sense of the Hotel Modera team and our appreciation for our guests.

Regards,
Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503-484-1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had a great 3 night stay at the Hotel Modera. Ellegantly designed rooms with a fantastic bed, super nice breakfast and lunch as well as a nice outdoor bar scene for Friday and Saturday evening's. Very friendly and service-minded staff mad the stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The rooms are a little on the small side, but nicely appointed. They have a great deal with 24-hour fitness just a block away. So while it's not as convenient as on-site, it is a full-service gym with lots of folks around you to keep you motivated. Front desk folks were always super helpful and friendly. Valet was totally on top of his game. And the courtyard lounge was a very nice amenity that made for a relaxing drink at the end of a day of sight-seeing.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little on the small side, but nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
397 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The rooms are somewhat small, but quite tastefully decorated both in terms of the color scheme and the art that is on the walls. The only downside to the rooms for us was the shortage of electrical outlets for re-charging our phones and computers. As others have mentioned, the staff is quite friendly and helpful. It is very conveniently located in downtown Portland and the price was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,002 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing