We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Modera: Great Potential, Somewhat Flawed Execution”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel Modera is a boutique hotel, very conveniently located in downtown Portland. The staff at the desk and at parking are friendly, courteous, and helpful. Our visit to Portland coincided with a local panic over drinking-water contamination, and the hotel eased the attendant inconveniences by providing lots of free bottled water.
Over the past year and a half, we've stayed in several rooms at Modera. All are small, but quite well furnished and laid out quite functionally. The room we had this time, though, had some annoying deficiencies: first, the bedside telephone began to beep intermittently about 4 AM; all efforts to silence it failed, and no normal-sized human could contort sufficiently to reach the electric plug behind the headboard to disconnect it. Secondly, the toilet seat was coming loose--one of the fasteners was broken. Third, the bottom of the bathtub seemed to have come unglued from the base or floor so that it sank somewhat alarmingly wherever one stepped during a shower.
These are minor issues, and I would still recommend Hotel Modera, but I would also recommend that the proprietors take more care with maintenance.

Room Tip: Avoid room 251, and in general try to get a room on 3rd floor or higher and away from 5th and Clay.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My stay here was excellent. The hotel is clean, staff was very friendly and accomodating. Tastefully decorated and quiet.There is also an excellent restaurant at the hotel. Within walking distance of some shopping. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 282katyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I liked all about this hotel, except that your air condition system works in a different way, atleast that is how your maintenance man explained to me.

I checked in felt the room was warmer than I would prefer, so i switched on the air condition and set it to lowest possible setting to allow it to cool faster, but after 1 hour or so the room was getting hotter than i checked the air vent it was blowing hot air, i called the front desk, they sent maintenance man and the solution he gave was to shut off the AC and open the windows. Room then took really long time to cool down to a decent temperate so i can sleep. He mentioned this hotels air condition automatically runs heater if outside temperature is cooler, why would that be....atleast it don't make sense to me...

so considering this incident, i would prefer staying in a hotel which runs air condition unit based on what the internal temperature is, which is how i experienced in many other hotels...

Other than that this hotel is good for my needs and staff is very friendly, has a nice restaurant attached. Located very close to my office so walkable to office and other food places...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Muthukumar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a wonderful experience staying with my wife. The staff was kind, rooms clean, location was great, and the price was perfect. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, actually my wife and I already have.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kyle-Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room's A/C was not functioning for 2 of my 3 day stay. It was 90+ in Portland that week. Lock on hotel room malfunctioned and was locked out for 40+ minutes. We were given the wrong rental car by the valet. I was overcharged at one of the restaurants. While they were apologetic and did their best to make it right it made for a stressful stay. Nice location and hotel but fell short of expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Ed W,

Indeed, it does sound like your stay fell short of our expectations as well. By reading the majority of these TripAdvisor posts you can see that your experience was not typical for a guest at Hotel Modera. Please feel free to contact me at the information below so we can discuss in detail.

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503.484.1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Modera for 3 nights. What a wonderful experience. Really friendly staff, comfortable room, great food in the restaurant and couldn't have been a more convenient location. Close to everything. Thanks for a memorable hotel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we arrived the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and modern and the bed was comfy. The air conditioner just started when we entered the room so it was a bit hot at first but did cool down after a few hours. The hotel had great food and a good happy hour. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in Portland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 144 in Portland
2,106 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £132 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing