We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trim well-run place to stay with a little bit of style.”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay there and the Revolucion Coffee house on the corner.
Helpful staff. Efficient.
Nicely designed.
Park St nearby is a delightful stroll and pathway to the Pearl District.
This 200 character requirement is contrary to my sense of brevity.
QqwwerrtyyuuuuiioppppaasdfghjkllXcvbnmmmm

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Mark W.,

I respect your appreciation of brevity so I’ll make this quick.

Thanks for the review, we couldn’t have said it better ourselves, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
503.484.1070
amaffei@hotelmodera.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great Hotel and staff, fabulous location. The concierge was extremely helpful in recommending a place to eat. I have stayed at Hotel Modera four times now, and have had great experiences every single time. Modera never disappoints!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Modera while visiting Portland State University with our daughter. We didn't rent a car, so got to know the campus and downtown area both very well, as everything is within walking distance. The small sized hotel made for a more personal experience. Have to give kudos to the doorman, who assisted when we arrived and our daughter wasn't feeling well. When we left two days later, he quietly told our driver to drive carefully so she didn't get car sick again. We left impressed and will stay often, as she loves this university best!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lin959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I travelled to Portland to enjoy the City, do a little shopping and see our Whitecaps battle the Timbers. Valet parking and check-in were a breeze, our room was nicely appointed and my wife's need for non-down bedding was handled promptly. The Wi-Fi worked fine.The Happy Hour on the patio was a perfect way to unwind after the drive from Vancouver. Great wine and beer selection and the food was excellent. Front desk most helpful with all of our enquiries and had great suggestions. We did not have dinner at the hotel but will next time, brunch was delicious Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Kieran M,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Modera (even if your Whitecaps did beat our Timbers). So pleased that you were able to have a positive experience and that our staff’s efficiency made it possible for you to relax after a long drive. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can try dinner at the restaurant next time, you won’t be disappointed Nel Centro’s menu changes seasonally so you will only get the best that Portland has to offer!

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
amaffei@hotelmodera.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good location--easy walk to the center of downtown but far enough away to avoid a lot of noise. Easy access to all public transportation. Our room was very quiet. We had a suite (room 303). It was spacious and allowed my husband to watch TV late at night while I was in bed sleeping (we just closed the sliding door and I didn't hear a thing). The staff was incredibly nice and helpful and gave us good suggestions on where to eat. Although we didn't eat at the restaurant that is right next door, I hear they have a great happy hour and the place was always crowded. We absolutely loved Portland and will visit the city again.
The only con about the hotel is that the rooms could use a little updating. Everything was very clean and the bathroom was wonderful--we loved the shower area--very large but the couch and some of the furniture is beginning to show its age.

Room Tip: Corner room (303) on third floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RMC169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel lobby was spacious and so very inviting. The rooms were decorated beautifully and were so well appointed, that I would have loved to move in permanently. The staff was very helpful and gracious in recommending sightseeing and wonderful restaurants. Hotel Modera exceeded all my expectations. I highly recommend it as the only place to stay when you visit Portland.
I was particularly impressed with all of the recommendations made by front desk person, Bondy. All of his suggestions were excellent.
I look forward to staying again to the Hotel Modera.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2PFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hippodentist,
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Portland, and if you want to move in permanently that is fine with us. So happy to hear that we exceeded all your expectations, and I have to agree I think we’re the only place to stay at when you visit Portland, but admittedly I’m biased. I hope you have signed up for our e-mail list so you will receive updates regarding our latest promotional rates and upcoming events. And special thanks for mentioning Vincent Bondy, we think he is pretty amazing too.

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
amaffei@hotelmodera.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff was wonderful, the location was great, the rooms were clean and the price was cheaper than anywhere else in Downtown Portland. The local art and terrariums in the lobby was a nice touch. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,141 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £116 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing