We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly + comfortable boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly + comfortable boutique hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very comfortable and friendly. We stayed one night in a king room on the top floor facing the courtyard which was very quiet (I'm usually very sensitive to noise). It was an efficient use of space and the room didn't feel small; we've definitely stayed in smaller. Nice staff overall including the restaurant and were quick to respond.
If you're there on a Saturday, check out the fantastic Farmer's Market just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Top floor king facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJuicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    540
    181
    51
    29
See reviews for
278
784
159
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Wirral
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Held a business meeting here, with people from USA and Europe. The hotel and facilities were great. The conference room gave plenty of space, the wifi works really well - face-timing home was no hassle at all.
Food is of a high quality and the fire pits outside a real good place everyone to relax and have a chat. All the areas including the rooms are clean and well kept.
Some think the rooms are small, they should try London and New York, for me they were just fine, not the largest perhaps but more than sufficient. Slept really well, no appreciable noise from outside.
The location is good and central.
The best bit? The staff took everything in their stride and nothing was a hassle, they just made things happen in a laid back style.
Overall far superior to the usual nondescript chain offerings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had read several reviews saying the rooms were small, but didn't think too much of it when I booked the reservation since we're not used to staying in very large rooms anyway. However, I will say that even with just two people, I felt the room was a little tiny. There was only one chair, so if both of us wanted to sit, one person had to perch on the bed.

Also, there was little to no storage space for clothes. We stayed six days and wanted to be able to unpack and finding the space was a little tough. All that being said, though, it's a very nice and comfortable hotel. The bed was firm, the linens nice, the shower roomy with great water pressure, and the towels very thick and fluffy. Housekeeping was very good - only one very minor communication snafu. It's also very conveniently located. One other plus -- a mini fridge. We appreciated being able to keep water and breakfast food in there.

We really enjoyed sitting out on the patio by the fire pits. The only disappointing thing was the unusually warm weather during our stay which made it too warm sit out there except for the first night.

The service is very good as others have noted. I bought a drawing at an art gallery while I was there and when I asked where the nearest office supply place was so I could go and buy something to keep it from bending in my suitcase, the front desk staff saved me a couple of pieces of cardboard to use. Very thoughtful and convenient. I would highly recommend this hotel, but if you're looking for a spacious room, this is probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Second floor is a pet-friendly floor. If that bothers you, ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Location of the hotel is convenient - downtown close to PSU, restaurants and shopping.The staff was friendly. The downside was that rooms were pretty small - we had to wrestle for room to unpack our luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mix2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights for a business trip and loved it. One highlight was being able to sit outside by the fire on the patio and chat with my friends. Only wish we could have stayed out later - even after the restaurant closed. Would be nice to not feel like you have to order something in order to enjoy the patio. Desk staff was really friendly too. They helped me find a stumptown espresso cafe - which was high on my list of places to visit. I'd come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We randomly landed on this hotel due to a Hotwire bid on a downtown hotel. The room itself was quite nice, aside from a strange sink/shower/toilet 'all in one' bathroom with very little counter space. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it had a great atmosphere, as did the hotel's public areas. The location was just fine and very close to multiple public transportation options. Perhaps not as 'happening' of a neighborhood as the Pearl District, but a quick hop, skip, and a jump from everywhere we wanted to go.

What made this hotel an exceptional experience, for us, was the phenomenal staff. Every single person we spoke to at the front desk was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and seemed to truly enjoy sharing their city with us through their thoughtful recommendations. If I needed to hire a team to work at my hotel (okay, I don't have a hotel ... but hypothetically), this would be the one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent two nights here on business, One of two rooms was ready at check in at 1:30.

Room is small but clean and adequate. Well stocked with towels, so no need for housekeeping unless you can't make your own bed during a short stay. You receive a $5 credit for going green.

My biggest complaint is the street noise. Perhaps downtown Portland has a high percentage of drag-racing, super-muffler muscle cars, delivery trucks and semis going through but the noise is almost deafening at morning and night rush hour. (I managed to get a good night's sleep buy drinking wine from the serviceable restaurant and combining it with sleeping pills. It was either going to end well, or badly.) Ask for a high floor.

On a positive note, the shower has good water pressure and there's coffee in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsydoodlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing