We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. . . underwhelmed.”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meh. . . underwhelmed.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a really, really nice hotel in a terrific location. I just was expecting better service, better amenities, and a better vibe/culture. Perhaps I was expecting the service and amenities of the Heathman and the chic of W Hotels, and it felt more like a Starbucks. I know it is Oregon and not New York, but for the price. . . . I expected better dressed staff, better in room coffee, and more local art being featured.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Lee D.B.,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Hotel Modera. I was pleased to read your review where you mention that we have a really really nice hotel in a terrific location. We think our location is ideal for anyone coming to Portland as it places you in the middle of everything! You are walking distance to bars, restaurants, music venues, museums, and shopping! Lee D. B. we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Rose City.
Regards,

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    555
    187
    55
    31
See reviews for
286
808
161
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Modera is a nice hotel with very kind staff. The decor is modern and the rooms are clean. We enjoyed a drink on the terrace. Service was good and the terrace was a nice place to spend some time. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but had breakfast there, it was okay.

We booked only the day before and probably therefore got the handicapped room. That was no problem, the room itself was a normal room (probably a bit small if you are actually in a wheelchair), the difference was the bathroom with a spacious shower with a showercurtain, but just as luxurious as can be expected from this type of hotel.
We booked the Tripadvisor-special with valet parking for one dollar and had no problem at checking in getting this rate. If you don't get this discount, there is cheaper parking available in the neighborhood. Valet serve was good.

What we disliked is that check-in is not until four, what I consider rather late. We arrived a little early and our room was not ready.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in Hotel Modera for a week in June-July 2014. The location is convenient to downtown Portland with easy access to public transportation. On first impression, the rooms and hotel are clean. The lobby area and outdoor seating area are quite nice. The valet staff is very welcoming and very friendly. In fact, they offered better recommendations than the front desk staff! The front desk staff was professional and nice.

The layout of the rooms is awkward. There is minimal storage. The room had no closet and a single armoire that didn't have space to put a suitcase in. There were two drawers in the nightstand and two very shallow drawers at the bottom the armoire. Because you couldn't unpack your suitcase and put clothes away, you had to live out of your suitcase. This would have been fine, but the only place that you could put the suitcase was a single footstool/bench that only had space for one suitcase. The room was so small that when you left the suitcase on the floor, you had to climb over the suitcase. The bathroom is also awkward with minimal counter space and an open shower (ie. drain in middle of bathroom floor). The lack of a bathtub should probably be disclosed on the website, as this can be challenging for families with young children.

We had multiple issues with housekeeping- not coming to straighten the room or take the trash out, only bringing two sets of towels, despite having four individuals on the reservation. We spoke to the front desk on four separate days about these problems. The room itself was clean, but the housekeeping services were poor and didn't improve despite bringing it the attention of the front desk on four occasions.

The hotel was not inexpensive (we could have stayed at the Hilton for approximately the same price for comparison) and the service and amenities were disappointing. Its fine if you just want a clean place to stay in a good location, but don't expect to be impressed by your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Cate V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our lovely hotel, we pride ourselves on having a team that goes above and beyond to take care of our guests and it sounds like in certain aspects we did not deliver. I hope to welcome you back soon to our property where you and your companions can take advantage of our central location, our amazing restaurant, and better care from our guest services team. We aqppreciate the feedback as it is only through honest feedback from our guests that we can continually improve our product.
Regards,

Andrew Maffei
General Manager
amaffei@hotelmodera.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very comfortable and friendly. We stayed one night in a king room on the top floor facing the courtyard which was very quiet (I'm usually very sensitive to noise). It was an efficient use of space and the room didn't feel small; we've definitely stayed in smaller. Nice staff overall including the restaurant and were quick to respond.
If you're there on a Saturday, check out the fantastic Farmer's Market just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Top floor king facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJuicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Held a business meeting here, with people from USA and Europe. The hotel and facilities were great. The conference room gave plenty of space, the wifi works really well - face-timing home was no hassle at all.
Food is of a high quality and the fire pits outside a real good place everyone to relax and have a chat. All the areas including the rooms are clean and well kept.
Some think the rooms are small, they should try London and New York, for me they were just fine, not the largest perhaps but more than sufficient. Slept really well, no appreciable noise from outside.
The location is good and central.
The best bit? The staff took everything in their stride and nothing was a hassle, they just made things happen in a laid back style.
Overall far superior to the usual nondescript chain offerings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had read several reviews saying the rooms were small, but didn't think too much of it when I booked the reservation since we're not used to staying in very large rooms anyway. However, I will say that even with just two people, I felt the room was a little tiny. There was only one chair, so if both of us wanted to sit, one person had to perch on the bed.

Also, there was little to no storage space for clothes. We stayed six days and wanted to be able to unpack and finding the space was a little tough. All that being said, though, it's a very nice and comfortable hotel. The bed was firm, the linens nice, the shower roomy with great water pressure, and the towels very thick and fluffy. Housekeeping was very good - only one very minor communication snafu. It's also very conveniently located. One other plus -- a mini fridge. We appreciated being able to keep water and breakfast food in there.

We really enjoyed sitting out on the patio by the fire pits. The only disappointing thing was the unusually warm weather during our stay which made it too warm sit out there except for the first night.

The service is very good as others have noted. I bought a drawing at an art gallery while I was there and when I asked where the nearest office supply place was so I could go and buy something to keep it from bending in my suitcase, the front desk staff saved me a couple of pieces of cardboard to use. Very thoughtful and convenient. I would highly recommend this hotel, but if you're looking for a spacious room, this is probably not the place for you.

Room Tip: Second floor is a pet-friendly floor. If that bothers you, ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Location of the hotel is convenient - downtown close to PSU, restaurants and shopping.The staff was friendly. The downside was that rooms were pretty small - we had to wrestle for room to unpack our luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mix2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing