We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and stylish with great facilities for the price”
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Modera
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and stylish with great facilities for the price”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a trip from Seattle to San Francisco. The room had much better facilities than expected for the bargain internet price of $99 per night - stylish decor, immaculately clean, iPod dock/alarm, safe, fridge, coffee maker (and Tazo teas) and a big comfy bed! A previous review mentions street noise - you can choose a courtyard room when you book online - we were on the top floor and there is no street noise on that side of the hotel (we also had a nice view of the "green wall").

After a swift check in and unpacking, we asked for a map at the front desk and received an incredibly helpful map with public transport information/routes, plus a run down of recommended areas for eating, shopping and just wandering around. We walked to Downtown/Pearl/riverside and there is public transport within a few blocks for other more distant areas such as the Rose Test/Japanese Gardens and NW 21st/23rd streets. We didn't have a car but the public transport is frequent, reliable and very easy to work out.

We did have the same problem as a previous reviewer with the key cards for our room not working once; but this seems to be a common problem in hotels the world over and was quickly resolved by the ever helpful and smiling reception staff.

The Ira Keller fountain just around the corner (on Clay) was a great people-watching spot on a hot afternoon - no formalities here, shoes off and have a paddle or if you are feeling brave, plunge into one of the deeper sections as we witnessed a couple of other people doing!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seloja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    541
    183
    52
    29
See reviews for
278
788
160
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My family has stayed at Hotel Modera on several occassions and we always leave very happy with every aspect of our stay. The service is top notch and every employee is helpful and friendly, they always seem to go above and beyond. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable and the price is hard to beat. We love the location as it's a quick walk to the Arlene Schnitzer for a show or concert. The valet service is wonderful and when our car broke down on our last trip, they were so very helpful, offering tools and extra hands. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayafitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I had stayed here in early July and loved both the hotel and the wonderful city of Portland.
This time a friend in the area and I spent more time at the restaurant than I had before.
The out door patio with fire pits is simply wonderful. The food is simply wonderful and service is outstanding.. The staff throughout the property made this another fantastic stay.. The front desk staff are second to none. They are so helpful at assisting in any way they can. This time I needed to locate transportation options to other parts of the city as well as services such as hair stylist and other things and they provided outstanding direction. I can't wait to go back for a third visit.. the value and the comfort are among the very best in North America I am sure..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We had a one stay in Portland before camping trip on the coast and we are more than happy that we chose to stay at the Hotel Modera. I was a bit concerned before we stayed there that the hip, stylish nature of the hotel would make it a pretentious and uncomfortable place to stay but this was certainly not the case.

The staff were very efficient and helpful and we had a quick, easy check-in. The rooms themselves were lovely, beautifully decorated and extremely spotless!! The bathroom was very nice also. The king room may be a bit small for some people but for us it was perfect. The bed was, in fact, one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on.

The hotel is quite a ways from the centre but its only a 2 minute walk to the free, frequent shuttle service to the centre. After sampling the amazing brew pubs of Portland we headed back to the hotel for some drinks before bed - the outdoor area for the hotel bar is amazing! There are 3 firepits to relax around and again, the staff were friendly and curteous without being overbearing. We also ate in the restaurant for breakfast and it was quite delicious!

The only major drawback for us was the $20 valet parking charge, but this seems to be all hotels that have this.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat. I was looking for a hotel for one night for no more than $110 and I got this with Hotel Modera.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My husband and I had one night to spend in Portland while on vacation in Oregon. A friend recommended this hotel and I'm so glad she did! We were blown away by how wonderful this little gem is!

Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They took the time to pull out a map of Portland, showed us where some great spots to walk to would be, showed us their favorite coffee shops and even made dinner reservations for us. We were delighted with how helpful they were!

Our room was great, beautiful and modern furnishings, plenty of room and a beautiful bathroom. Our room faced the street and was right above the restaurant. It was a but loud at night, but things quieted down by 10pm or so. Overall, we loved our stay here and will certainly stay here again if we come back to Portland!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This hotel has "oh so hip" decor but falls down on the basics. We could not get into our room six times with our card key. They sent someone up (described as the hotel "engineer") twice to "reprogram" the lock, which still did not work. We did not have HBO for two days and were told by two different front desk staff that it would have to be "reprogrammed" as well, only to be told by a third person on the third day that the hotel HBO service was out entirely. We asked for driving directions to the International Rose Test Garden and were directed to a street that dead-ended at the stadium. We could not control the temperature in our room--we wanted it to be warmer, but were told that there was no way to warm the room at that time of year. We were told to turn the system off or put up with air conditioning. When I asked about why there were only two Oregon wines available by the glass in the hotel's restaurant, I was told by the server that it was because Oregon wine is higher priced per bottle than wine from other regions, which made no sense in answer to my question.

The hotel has a great location and we had no problem with the valet parking.

I travel frequently and have never had such a series of problems crop up in a four-day stay anywhere. This hotel needs to get the basics right--things that a Best Western can handle any day of the week--and not try to get by on style alone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangeroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I chose this hotel based on other reviews and was not disappointed. The rooms while not large were great. I loved that the bed was on the firm side. Bathrooms were great too. Also love in room coffee machines! The on site restaurant was great and the staffs were GREAT. There was a bit of bump at check in the they fixed it quickly and with no attitude. CAN"T WAIT TO GO BACK FOR XMAS SHOPPING IN NOVEMBER!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotchef259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Property: Hotel Modera
Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#30 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include high-speed wireless internet, complimentary passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, 46" LCD TVs with HD premium channels, a mini refrigerator, minibar, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. A daily Amenity Fee will be collected at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing