We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb seafood Italiano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca

A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca
Reserve with OpenTable
A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 4,237 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Sellwood - Moreland Improvement League
Cross street: SE Lambert St.
Transit: Several on 13th Street
Description: A Cena is Italian for come to supper. This is exactly what we are inviting you to do at A Cena Ristorante located right here in Portland. When you come to A Cena, you will instantly be transported to a small villa in Italy. We are committed to providing our guests with an experience that will not be quickly forgotten. At a Cena, we share a love for simply cooked meals enjoyed with friends and family. All of our dishes are made with fresh ingredients from local Portland area farmers. We also hand make all of our pastas and cured meats, and daily prepared breads. A Cena offers a robust, well-matched wine list for every meal along with a seasoned and personable staff. All of these elements combined allows us to offer our guests at a Cena a fine-dining experience with the comfort and warmth of an Italian country kitchen.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“superb seafood Italiano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were guests at this fabulous restaurant near my son's home. I've had a lot of my
favorite scallops in many places and countries, and these were one of the best. We had great
appetizers and I tasted everyone elses food that included the lobster/pasta dish---superb!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7011Cypress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    45
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A new favorite place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I took an out of town guest after having walked by this place many times. It always smelled so good when I passed by, but I had never taken the time to visit. I'm so glad we did! Good service, nice atmosphere, great food, and not too far from home. We shared the antipasto plate, which was a nice starter, but we both agreed the pasta was incredible. We got a side of cauliflower that was out of this world! I plan to take my husband here soon, this may be our new favorite dinner place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lifebirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
286 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique Italian themed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Creative dishes, on the rich side, a bit pricey but a special place for that special meal or occasion. The staff are very friendly and not at all stuffy. I would return but my personal style in Italian is a bit less caloric. Also it can be a bit noisy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland,Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of Portland's & Anywhere's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A Cena is a treasure, the food as honest & delicious, & service as welcoming as any wonderful trattoria we've been to on our many trips to Italy. From the time they opened, their offerings have continued to get better & better. Everyone we've introduced to the restaurant has loved their dinners there, & Friday night's experience was the capper--we brought close foodie friends from Seattle who were blown away by the meal: "This is the BEST Italian meal we've had, as wonderful as Seattle's restaurants are, there isn't an Italian place that comes close, worth driving down & dealing with I5 traffic to come here!" We found out last night that the masterful chef is from Bologna--we are grateful he's been able to make A Cena & Portland his home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank portiepwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have eaten there before. Totally forgot that we had done so until we pulled up to the restaurant. That being said.. it really demonstrates both staying power and consistency. It has been there for 51/2 years. It is completely across town from our home and Portland has lots of good restaurants so the fact we did not return after the first time is really no reflection on this restaurant. It was a 75 year old birthday celebration and my husband selected a Cena from looking at many menu's online. It was not a disappointment.

Service was spot on. Pasta was perfectly cooked. Seasoning was good. Food courses were very well spaced and I was surprised to see the restaurant almost full on a Wednesday night. Can be noisy but not because of music just close confines.

Menu reflects a good range of choices and many of the items can be served either as a "primi" or a full entree. That gave our table the ability to order many more small plates to try.

We have been to Italy and this is quite authentic as far as flavor and preparation. No complaints.

Portions are generous and we will absolutely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca also viewed

 

Been to A Cena Ristorante y Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing