We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Historical Hotel With Benefits!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We loved this hotel! The rooms and hotel were decorated nicely, the staff was friendly, the pool was great as was the gym! The gym isn't huge but puts most hotel fitness centers to shame as it has quite a few cardio machines, a nice weight pulley machine and free weights. The snack and drink reception in addition to the made to order breakfast included in the price makes this place a great value as you get a nice hotel with perks! We arrived a few hours before checkout time and the staff had no problem checking us into our room early. The location is perfect for exploring Portland and is only a block from the Max and very close to China town. We only wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe king suite at the end of the hallway to have a two room suite with plenty of room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snogrl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review of your recent stay with us here at the Embassy Suites Portland- Downtown.

I am so pleased that our hotel and staff made a positive impact and I too hope that the next time your make it to Portland you will be able to stay a bit longer and enjoy more of what our wonderful city has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,868 - 1,874 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location in downtown Portland if you want to visit the market, Powell's, etc. The hotel lobby is beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was great. The staff kept the buffet full and the tables cleaned.
Our biggest complaint is that we booked a room with a King bed. When we checked in we were comped parking but were not told why. As I headed to room 201 there was no room number on the door. It took me three passes to make sure I was headed to the right place (the room wasn't next to 202). Once in the room I quickly realized it was NOT what I reserved. I'm not even sure the bed was queen size, let alone king. The room was clean and had a fridge/micro. When we went to ask the front desk about the room they said it was the only room with that configuration and because we booked last we got that room. Really? They should have offered to upgrade us. At the very least we should have been warned.

Room Tip: Don't let them stuff you in room 201. It's overpriced for the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVMom98038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is a really good hotel, and a terrific value. We chose it over the Heathman and the Monaco, not because of the somewhat lower room rates, but because of what we understood to be the size of the rooms. We were not disappointed. The rooms were incredibly generous. Our room was also well laid out and spotless. Another advantage offered by the hotel over other luxury level facilities in the city was a coin operated guest laundry, a real plus when you are on a three-week outdoor-activity trip as we were. The complimentary breakfast was unbelievable, perhaps the best we've ever encountered. And, it was very convenient. The staff was both friendly and helpful, particularly the bell staff, which we effectively used as our concierge service.

Yes, there were minor irritants. The hotel is really otherwise too classy to be charging for internet service. But then the basic room rate is a lower than most other properties of the same class. And, as with so many high-end hotels, the lamp shades were designed to look pretty rather than to allow any light to escape. Parking is expensive, as I understand it is in all the downtown hotels. All that said, it is still a great hotel.

Now, about location, which seems to have some other reviewers so worked up. The principal complaints seem to be the presence of homeless people and concerns about druggies. As to the homeless: If you are going to a major city, particularly on the West Coast, and don't want to see homeless people near your hotel, you are best advised to find a Holiday Inn Express in the suburbs. And, as to drugs: I'm sure there are a lot of drugs in Portland (as in many, if not most, other major cities), and there no doubt could be some drug use near the hotel. However, one should not assume that every young person with tattoos and body-piercings is dealing drugs or necessarily even using drugs. Perhaps the critics of this hotel's location would have been somewhat more comfortable a few blocks away at the Heathman, Monaco, etc., but they couldn't have walked more than a couple of minutes from their hotels without seeing the same sights. My wife and I are "senior citizens" (to use that dread term) from a sanitized East Coast suburb. Yet we walked everywhere we went in the city, including to and from all the restaurants, sometime returning to the hotel rather late at night. As we would in any city, we kept our eyes open and tried to walk well lit routes, but at no time did we feel threatened or even uneasy. A note to the critics of the location: It's a city; get over it. Oh, one other thing about the location. If you want to get out of the city to the wonderful scenic areas near Portland, as we did during the day, the exit and re-entry from the area of the hotel is incredibly easy.

Room Tip: There are many different room configurations in the hotel. If you want to see more than one, ask th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

I appreciate your thoughtful review of not only our hotel and your stay, but also that of the downtown Portland. We are lucky enough to be so close to the waterfront, businesses, and public transit but with that brings some downfalls and the transient population is definitely one of them. So thank you for your rational and honest evaluation.

I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the facilities within the hotel as well as get out and explore. Portland is always growing and introducing new and wonderful things to do, see, and eat. So come back soon and hopefully when you do we'll see you here at the Embassy Suites Portland- Downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Great place if you're looking to score some heroin (verified by local waitress in the nice restaurant I finally drove to). Can't believe this rates #19 in Portland when it is extremely seedy to walk around here. Filled w/ homeless people, drug dealer types, and really unsafe feeling walking around here. Self park doesn't allow for in and out privileges so you're stuck walking or taking a taxi. Never stay here again. Gotta be better choices than this!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is an old historic building turned Embassy Suites. Gorgeous lobby. Clean room. Nice staff. Close to river, restaurants and public transportation. We stayed with a group function, so had a meal as well. Food was quite good and well prepared.

Don't expect the 'typical' rooms. This is an old building converted to hotel. Rooms are different from each other, I saw 3 of them - all laid out differently. The hotel had to be creative on some rooms in order to get a bathroom inside.

It is very close to the Max red line which runs to the airport. Didn't have a car, so didn't have to deal with the cost of parking. You really don't need a car for downtown. The transportation is free within the downtown area and easy to get to. If you want a car, there is Hertz across the street or Enterprise on next block. Stumptown Coffee also right around the corner from hotel.

Wifi in the lobby free. Pricey from the room. Breakfast is Embassy breakfast. Lots of choices and options. Depending on time you go - very crowded! Didn't use pool, can't comment on it. Yes, homeless are very noticeable in Portland. Didn't have any issues with it.

Overall, very convenient hotel to downtown Portland. Loved the old historic building.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My girlfriends and I were in Portland to attend a wedding. We wanted to stay together but were concerned about 4 of us getting ready for the wedding in 1 bathroom. SO...someone suggested Embassy Suites...and it was amazing! The building was built in 1912, the lobby looks like it came from directly from the 1900's but fresh!!
Check in was quick and professional. We reserved a 2 room King Suite, with a living room and 2 bathrooms, it was perfect! The rooms were tastefully decorated, the linens were very nice, bathrooms were newly remodeled. One of our rooms overlooked VooDoo Donuts which is open 24/7 and there was never an issue with noise. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

OH!! AND there is a happy hour in the Lower Lobby each day which serves wine & beer complimentary AND a full breakfast including an omelet station every morning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilbraryladyfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your recent stay in Portland with us here at the Embassy Suites Portland- Downtown.

Our hotel is perfect for those looking for a little more space than your traditional hotel accommodations. Being able to provide separate living areas from the bedroom makes it perfect for families or anyone else looking for space and privacy. This is especially true of our two bedroom, two bathroom suites!

Hopefully the next time you have a special occasion or need someplace to rest your head when visiting Portland you will think of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a beautiful hotel built around 1912. The sitting room was good sized with a large flat screen TV. The bedroom was a nice size also with a large flat screen TV. The kitchenette was perfect. The place was clean, comfortable, and had a view of downtown. They offer free happy hour with wine and beer. The free breakfast was really good with omlettes made to order.

There is an indoor pool that was clean and they had a fitness room that was small, but I used the treadmill and was pleased.

The location is close to the riverfront and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelExperiences1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#26 of 144 in Portland
238 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £123 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing