We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was wonderful hotel. We had been chased by the heat and the lack of kids' stuff from The Edgefield. We got here hot, tired and frustrated. The staff immediately worked with us to get us checked in early into a great suite. Everything else was great. The kids loved the pool and so did we. We could walk all over downtown Portland, and we did. And the hotel is truly beautiful, with many complimentary amenities for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review, Chris C!

We're sorry to hear that Edgefield didn't work out for your family, but very glad you found us and enjoyed the rest of your time in Portland.

Hope to see you back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,402 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

May 2013 - I have stayed here multiple times for both business and pleasure. The hotel staff is always nice and friendly and willing to help. The location of the hotel is unbeatable and is walking distance to almost any location you want to get to in Portland - which makes a difference rain or shine.
The rooms vary alot in size - but each have a fridge, living space, bedroom and bathroom. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are extremely clean (kudos to the hotel cleaning staff). The breakfast and managers happy hour offer good food and drinks and are very convenient. The swimming pool is in the lower level of the hotel - a little stuffy in the pool area but that is to be expected for any indoor pool area.
For more on my trip and stay at the Embassy see my blog post: http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/07/portland-oregon.html

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for the fantastic review, shrooney!

I really enjoyed reading your blog post on your trip to Portland. You highlighted everything we love about the area, and reminded me of a few things I've neglected to check out!

Hope to see you back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent 2 nights at this historic building hotel over 4th of July weekend. Our room was one of those conference room, loft bed things, which was wonderful for the 2 of us. Spacious, spotlessly clean, interesting layout and made us want to host a cocktail party or small meeting (we did neither). Housekeepers were very attentive, generous when we asked for extra towels, and get this: you get to request the hour you want cleaning! What a great idea, and what a great job they did. Bathroom was fine, nothing special but good water pressure. King sized bed was terrific with good linens. We slept well. Valet staff was astonishing: respectful, knowledgeable, effective and honest ... Better than many concierges. Front desk staff ok. The complimentary breakfast was not enjoyable at all due to overcrowding, chaos and WAY too many people at one time, tho the eggs to order were perfect. The complimentary cocktail hour was equally awful, with weak snacks and hundreds of kids and drunk twenty something's. we skipped both options the second day. Love a good deal as much as the next guy, but not at that stress level.
Here's the big heads up: from a distance, this hotel looks perfectly located for a big city walking weekend. Don't do it. You will find yourself deep in one of the nastiest skid rows we have experienced. One block away, there are just hordes of young people sleeping on the streets, begging, and nodding. Think the ickiest Occupy images you have seen, then add what appears to be a serious drug problem. It's sad, and it's everywhere, and it's far more rude and dirty than we have experienced in our travels throughout the world, or in our work with homeless people. WAnd the food trucks thing? Well, on the 4th of July night we visited, it was just nasty: rude, garbage and spoiled food everywhere thru the blocks of what appear to be permanent locations. there is no apparent oversight by any kind of health authorities ... And again, rude, hipster-or-homeless young people who made it really awful. These food trucks reportedly contain fine talent and food. we will never know, due to hygiene concerns and the rude crowd chaos. Once you get past all of that, there are two or three great areas to visit (Powell Books area, Pearl District, nob Hill, Mansion above the city). Wen we drove, we loved Portland. When we tried (3 different times of day/night) to walk the city from the hotel, we saw its worst.

Room Tip: If you don't need multiple beds and doors, this mezzanine room with the loft bed setup is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for the review, Laurenlauren. We’re so glad you enjoyed our rooms and staff.

Holiday times are always very busy in the hotel, but we are always looking at ways we can improve what we do and your comments will help us look at what we need to be focusing on.

I was really sad to read how disappointing your time in Portland was. Our Food Trucks are a huge part of the culture, and are used regularly by local residents and tourists alike. Though they can get mighty busy (I imagine immensely busy during 4th of July weekend!), they’re well worth the wait.

When you come back to Portland, please let us know. Zannah (our concierge) will be happy to personally show you the best Food Trucks in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location cannot be beat. I've also stayed at the Hilton Towers before and in my opinion this location is much better. it is across the street from the best coffee Stumptown (in the country, in my opinion). Unlike Starbucks coffee it is not burnt and I can actually drink it without adding sugar! It is also 2 blocks from all the food trucks which open pretty late if you want a late night cheap snack. It is also 2 blocks from the river so you can walk/run and 2 minutes from the Saturday Market. And lastly it is close to Voodoo donuts so you can literally roll out of bed to beat the lines for donuts. Breakfast is great especially the made to order omelets. It actually tastes like it was made from real eggs vs. some egg mix want to be (their pre made scramble eggs are probably made of that!) Evenly reception hour (free wine and well drinks) are great if you just want a glass of wine after a hard day of shopping. The Suite is super spacious, and the bed is very comfortable. I love it and I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We whole-heartedly agree that Stumptown trumps Starbucks any day. If only because it's based out of Portland! :)

Thank you so much for staying with as and really exploring the immediate area. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, Jessicasf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is like many other Embassy Suites and is good for families. It is clean and spacious. The staff was very friendy, and the free breakfast was excellent. The parking garage is not connected to the hotel building, and is across the street.

The one negative does not have to do with the hotel itself, but is the location of the hotel. While the hotel is located close to the waterfront and Voodoo Donuts, it is not located in the desirable part of town. The area around Nordstroms near Pioneer Square appears to be cleaner and more pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt_train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us, Matt_Train, and for the great review!

Though our hotel won't be migrating closer to the Nordstroms, we hope you still choose us when you come back to town. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My family of four stayed in Portland for 1 night and 2 days. The Embassy Suite Downtown was the perfect location. We arrived at the Portland airport, took the train to the Skidmore fountain and walked a couple blocks to the hotel. This location is perfect to access public transportation. Without a vehicle we were able to go to the Japanese Garden, Rose Garden, have lunch in Chinatown, access the gondola (tram), visit the Saturday market. The best part is that the hotel is near fantastic restaurants and down the street from Voodoo Donuts:) After we checked out, we took public transportation to Union Station and caught an Amtrak train to Seattle. Portland is now on my list of favorite cities. We will definitely visit again, and I've added Portland to our short list of cities to retire in.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room. Very quiet and great for sleeping, but as you probably guessed, it had a pathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanchezFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We're so glad you took full advantage of our Public Transportation, and our surrounding area. You really don't need a car in most of Portland!

Hope to see you back sometime before retirement, SanchezFamily! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved everything about our stay here. The newly updated rooms, generous complimentary breakfast, fun swimming pool, really nice staff, great location and excellent prices! Can't wait to come back! P.S.- And it's walking distance to voodoo donuts, enough said?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you, Robin M!

We're actually renovating our rooms staring in November. We hope you can come enjoy them when they're all shiny and new! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#25 of 146 in Portland
304 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £130 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing