We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive But Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expensive But Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, since we were visiting Portland for a wedding and wanted a really good hotel. Location was ok, close to shopping, main stores, like Macys, which we needed to go to for a gift. They had parking valet or regular, costly on both ends, but easy to valet park, since we had to leave various times for wedding plans. They gave a nice full breakfast plenty of everything, warm and delicious omelets made to order. In the evening, we enjoyed happy hour 5:30-7:30, all the drinks you want with some lite chips and crude de te. It was alot of fun.Our room was spacious, however a bit inpersonal. Could use more warmth by adding to the art in the room. The lobby is stunning, with restaurant, which we did not eat at but heard was excellent. The hotel store, was amazing, it saved me so many times on little things like clippers, bobbypins jewelry. Such a nice shop loaded to help with anything you might have forgotten. Be prepared to pay for an expensive stay when all is said and done.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABrooklynTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Lovely review, ABrooklynTraveler! Thank you so much for staying with us.

We'll be refurbishing all our rooms before the end of the year. If you're back in Portland, you'll have to come take a peak and let us now how they feel! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    658
    156
    63
    31
See reviews for
690
508
86
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is in an historic building which was once THE hotel for downtown Portland. The grandeur, columns, elegance are just not found at many Embassy Suites. The service was terrific, great amenities including the regular Embassy Suites food/drink, but pool was almost a real lap pool, and the rooms were decorated in keeping with the history of the building. Location is great being downtown --across the street from Voodoo donuts!

Room Tip: Upper floors seemed to have larger rooms. We arrived for one night and had a room on 4th floor and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review, Margaret K!

We love when our 100 year old building makes all the difference. It does most of the work for us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Beautiful and clean. The only draw back is that there is no open space within hotel quarters, making it dark. Nonetheless, rooms offer more than enough space, and hotel offers best complimentary breakfast I've ever experienced. Pancakes, bacon, sausage, omelets to order, scrambled eggs? If you are running around with a family, this breakfast saves you money, especially considering how expensive Portland is! Pool area left a lot to be desired, since it was tucked away in what really feels like a "basement" area — nonetheless, if you are planning on doing outdoor activities — it doesn't even matter!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyneida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, Lyneida M, and for your review!

We hope you'll come see us again next time you're in Portland. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Every staff member we came across during our week-long stay was friendly and helpful. Our room was large and comfortable -- out our windows we could see Mt. Hood and how long the line was at Voo Doo Doughnuts.

The free breakfast and happy hour were great. The food at the special reception (my husband was here for business) was OUTSTANDING, especially the seafood.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalcuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Lovely lovely LOVELY review! Thank you, Chalcuckles, for staying with us. :)

Did you appreciate the spectacular view of Mt Hood better, or Voodoo? haha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We loved the Embassy Suites in Portland, Oregon. Large suites, friendly staff, efficient service. Great value! Loved the hotel restaurant, Prime. The calamari was so tender and flavourful - the best we had ever eaten! I suggested that the chef call it "killermari"it was so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, Peggy S!

I hope Portland Prim's chef AT LEAST gives you a penny for your thoughts if he uses "Killermari" on the menu!! :)

Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

this place is the old multanomah hotel. presidents used to stay here. the pool is something out of the 50's (in a good way). very classic, looks immaculate. staff was very friendly. i wasnt sure if they'd have a "free breakfast" since this is not a best western. well they do and its great! eggs, breakfast meat, omelets to order probabaly the best free hotel breakfast ive every eaten.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojabow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for the fantastical review, Jojabow!

We LOVE exceeding expectations! Especially when our century-old building does most of the work. :)

I hope you come see us again when you're back in Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Embassy Suites in Downtown Portland hosted our conference. The rooms were wonderful. The staff was extremely responsive and helpful. But the best surprise was the quality of food served. The complimentary breakfast is the best I've experienced. Our conference included two lunches and breaktime treats that were amazing. The group rates made staying in a suite affordable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
So glad your conference was held with us, and that it went off without a hitch, Susanna S!

We hope your experience has you coming back for more. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing