We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Days in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The great weather allowed us to explore the city. Enjoyed the craft breweries, Pearl District and downtown; also found shopping experience enjoyable and efficient. Found Portland people very friendly and helpful over all; panhandlers were aggressive however. Good bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Catchlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I'm so glad you had 3 dry Fall days while you were here! Portland's Fall is really a beautiful thing to behold (if the rain holds off!) :)

Thank you so much for staying with us, Catchlove, and for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,535 - 1,541 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This property does not look like the usual Embassy Suites with the big center atrium. It is an upscale hotel, tastefully decorated. I was told it was located in the best neighborhood of Portland. Restaurant in the hotel is very good. Breakfast area is beautiful, with a fountain. Selections are excellent, including an omelet station. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a Hertz rental car right across the street, so there's no need to rent a car for the whole trip. Nice shopping nearby and Voodoo Donuts a couple of blocks away. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the lovely review, Dea Z! We hope you choose us again if you find yourself in Portland. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I loved this hotel. The rooms were nice and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It is located in downtown and restaurants, shops, transportation and nightlife are all within walking distance. It is only a few blocks from the river, which is beautiful. If I were able to go back to Portland, I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Doray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for the great review, Doray H! We look forward to having you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Embassy Suites Downtown is an excellent choice to stay in downtown Portland. The building is outstanding, the location is excellent, and the staff is very good. It has a lot going for it. There are some suggestions to make a great experience even better. It would be good if Zannah in concierge had an office in the Lobby rather float around the entire place. It would also be helpful if there is more staff at the evening reception. The lines were long and the food ran out for a while; the staff was simply overworked. This may also be a problem in the morning. We enjoyed our stay and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Corner room on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiree67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review, and for the great suggestions! I'll pass these along to our Managers and see what can be done. :)

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We really like staying at the Embassy Suites. We like that they have a separate bedroom. The breakfast is always good and enjoy the evening managers reception. The location is great for seeing downtown Portland and the Saturday Market.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank okshew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us, OKShew! We appreciate you taking the time to review us and hope you'll be back again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wonderful staff with an excellent location. Walking distance to many local attractions like the Saturday Market and Chinatown. They have clean comfortable rooms with a very good value. My wife and I cant wait to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

And we can't wait to have you back, Michael G!

Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lovely old hotel that has been updated but still has that "grand" feel. Located in downtown...the area is so-so, but mass transit is nearby as is many restaurants are within walking distance. I was part of a small group of friends and we were treated beautifully by the staff. Special mention goes to Amanda Davidson, Front Office Supervisor. The breakfast is included and guests will be happy with the many great choices of food. I received a complimentary upgrade and the suite was very large. The rooms are immaculate. One important observation-be careful if you use the indoor swimming pool/jacuzzi. One of the jacuzzis was broken & the floor tiles are slippery when wet and many people, included someone in our group did slip. There is a wine reception in the evening but we didn't have a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay, Barbara!

We hope to see you back again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#28 of 144 in Portland
237 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £123 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing