We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #17 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here over a beautiful fall weekend and had an enjoyable experience. When we arrived late afternoon, they were just "recovering" from a multi-day power/water outage--due to a nearby water main break--and the lobby lighting was just about to be restored (rooms/lobby had been operational w/ generators). There were plenty of staff members around w/ flashlights, directing and assisting people as needed, which was comforting, and within a half hour or so of our arrival, all was well again. Check-in was efficient and staff was very friendly and helpful in providing tourist info and a city map.

You can tell this grand hotel is full of history, and the gorgeous, spacious lobby has wondrous architecture! Inviting seating areas with beautiful, comfortable furniture were scattered about the room, and off to one side is the really nice Prime Bar and Restaurant, with a gift shop located on the other side.

Regarding the parking, one recent reviewer mentioned that valet parking was cheaper than self-parking. We found it to be the opposite. The self-parking garage is right across the street from the hotel entrance, and when you check in, just ask for in/out privileges and you just pay a daily rate which is less than the valet rate. The garage is multi-storied and you need to be a little careful as you drive from floor to floor, as the ramp is a little narrow as you turn corners. Seemed to have plenty of parking spaces, though.

Our room was clean and modern, and quite spacious. Loved having a separate living room and bedroom. The living room had adequate, comfortable furniture and there was also a mini-bar area with a sink, plus a desk/table with additional seating. The bathroom was roomy and nicely furnished with amenities. The bedroom had an armoire closet, a full length mirror on the wall, and the bed was one of the nicest we've ever slept on in a hotel.

The buffet breakfast was outstanding and there was plenty of seating as the eating area was spread over a few rooms (one had a fountain in it). Many hot and cold breakfast options to chose from, including an omelet station.

The hotel is in a fairly nice location, with downtown shops and the Pearl District just a few blocks away. We easily walked to many locations from the hotel, including the really nice riverfront walking and biking path. We felt very safe at the hotel and where we walked, but keep in mind there are homeless people in the area just north of the hotel, so it is best to stay away from that part of town.

Other reviewers mention that Voodoo Doughnuts is located near the hotel, just a few blocks away. If you don't want to wait in line at that place, try the bakery that you can access from the hotel lobby, Blue Collar Baking Co. They had some of the best cookies and other bakery items that we have ever tasted! The doorway to it is right off the lobby, so you don't even have to go outdoors (but you can also enter from a sidewalk on the other side of the hotel).

If there is a downside to the hotel, it is their internet policy. You need to purchase a 24 hr access pass (~$10) unless you are a Hilton HHonors member or have some other special offer. With just about everybody using smartphones and computers these days, we feel this should just be complimentary in any hotel. Most hotels issue passwords to prevent unauthorized people from accessing their wireless network, and we believe the Embassy Suites should adopt this practice. Otherwise, patrons will see this as just another attempt to extract more dollars from them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
WOWZER! What a lovely review! Thank you so much for staying with us, aldalebr. We appreciate all your feedback!

We wish we could offer Complimentary WIFI throughout the entire hotel (instead of just the lobby), but unfortunately, with 100 year old Multnomah Hotel bones also comes a nightmare getting WIFI into each and every guest room. We just hope that the grandeur of the building makes up for it's inability to offer affordable internet!

Thanks again! We hope to serve you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    663
    160
    63
    31
See reviews for
692
513
86
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location and a solid experience. Beautiful lobbly, quite clean rooms, and a killer complimentary happy hour and breakfast. Staff check in was efficient, quick and courteous. The location of this hotel provides excellent access to the downtown Portland area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you so much for the review, Joey P, and for staying with us!

We hope you choose us again, next time you're in PTown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

There were five of us travelling for our annual women getaway. It was an easy walk from the train station and we were greeted by the friendly valet and front desk staff. This is a beautiful and amazing hotel. We took advantage of the manager's reception, the bar and restaurant and the delicious breakfast, all with five star service. Our room was a 2 King bedroom, 2 bath purchased upgrade; very clean and comfortable (minus the older hide-a-bed). We wanted a downtown hotel to be near shopping so we tolerated the endless vagrant begging (this is a city problem). My only complaint was the hotel did not honor our confirmed reservation with the senior rate. My document showed $179.10 as the base price but we were charged $229.10 (excluding the taxes and extra upgrade). When this was brought up during check in, I was firmly told the price was $229.10, end of discussion. We offered to produce ID showing we indeed had a senior with us. An email complaint was sent but as of this date, I have received no reply (except for a computer response letter acknowledging my email but explaining their high volume of messages and that I will hear back after 48 hrs - ahh, still waiting). At the time, had we known of the other hotels in the area, we may have grabbed our bags and walked to the Crowne Plaza using my priority club points. Would I stay at this downtown Embassy Suite again? Maybe. We'll bring our lawyer friend next time to argue our case.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go4awalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
So glad you had a great time with us, go4awalk! I'd love to get this billing issue resolved ASAP. I'll send you a private message now! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Located in the former Multnomah Hotel, and built in 1913, this is by far the most elegant Hilton property I have ever stayed in! I chose the Embassy Suites because the rate was surprisingly good for downtown Portland. We were there strictly for vacation and were able to walk quickly to our destinations or to the Max Lightrail train which was nearby. We had a two room suite on a corner, on the 7th floor and it was huge! We couldn't believe it! We enjoyed the Manager's reception each evening before dinner, often bringing our wine up to the elegant lobby to enjoy the fireplace and ambience. The complimentary breakfast has everything you could want. The staff members were outstanding. In particular, Michael, who bussed our table at breakfast each morning, was pleasant and full of information about things to see and even gave us directions to Wal-Mart!! He was great, as was Zannah, the concierge, who has an historical album of pictures of the hotel and lots of stories about famous visitors. This hotel is a vacation in itself and we plan to go back. Happy coincidence! Voodoo Doughnut is just around the corner!!

Room Tip: Our corner room on the 7th floor was bright with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for the lovely review, Beckyct!

I shared your review with both Michael and Zannah and they were very happy to have helped you during your time here. :)

Hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went up for a Blazers Basketball game in 2012. Had such a wonderful time. Rooms were very clean for being an updated 100 year old Hotel. We valet parked, because it is less expensive than parking on your own. If you moved your car you paid again, but in valet you only paid once a day. As it was we ended up walking most every where, but to the game we took the MAX, which was just a couple blocks from the hotel. The hotel has a great restaurant and bar, and everyone that worked there is so helpful and very friendly. I would recommend staying here to anyone wanting to explore Portland. Also VooDoo donuts is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Our room was a north facing room, which had some views mostly of downtown.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green Leaders Gold Level, we love staying in places that help save our environment.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, Karen B!

We're so glad you were here to cheer on the Blazers, and that you hopped on the MAX like a real Portlander!!

We've JUST changed our Self-Parking to $25 over night WITH in-and-out privilages. So keep that in mind next time you're in town. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel. It has great service and is in an older building with charm. Very good service and great location. A short walk from one of the downtown light Raul stations which gets you to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing us, Scott B! We pride ourselves on being a bit different than our sister-properties. We're glad you appreciate that!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here with a couple buddies for a long football weekend. This is a great spot right downtown and the amenities were fantastic. Had the opportunity to use the business center which was a lifesaver, and the breakfast at the hotel was great, especially the omelettes! Would highly recommend the hotel for business folks or anyone spending time in Downtown Portland!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, Mark B! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing