We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Company meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Company meeting”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel was clean and there was good customer service. The Prime resturaunt had really good food and the meeting space was great. I was impressed with the beverage selection and food selection during our business meetings. Short wait for elevators and walking distance to a Starbucks and food trucks. I was not impressed with the area when I was out early in the morning. Max is approximately 5 blocks away..

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor. Easy to walk down the flights of stairs, but maybe not up. I had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, Chaya! We're so glad your meeting was here, and hope to have you back again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    688
    170
    67
    31
See reviews for
725
539
87
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I come to Portland frequently but this was my first stay at the Embassy Suites. I got a really good rate compared to the Hilton and Marriott. It's a great location. Right downtown, near Chinatown and the Pearl district. It's an easy walk to Powell's (where I spent 2-days per diem). It's also near a max line, so the whole city is footsteps away. There are tons of restaurants in the downtown area. And voodoo doughnuts and Stumptown coffee are across the street.

The property is older, but you have to embrace it. It was the historic Multnomah Hotel. What it's lacking in contemporary amenities, it makes up for in the charm of yesteryear. I liked the displays from the hotel in its heyday. And they have a scavenger hunt for kids that helps them explore the hotel's grand history. Also for families, they have lots of board games in the lobby for rainy days,

The staff were very friendly and helpful and my room was very clean. I enjoy the free omelet breakfast you get at Embassy suites. And the happy hour at this particular ES was excellent!!! They had free beer, wine, and a speciality cocktail. Plus they had other drinks showcasing Portland spirits at a reasonable cost.

The only downside was that the room furnishings could use a refresh. And my pet peeve, a dearth of outlets. But I would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank alliecat2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Oh no! We're almost completely finished with our room renovations. Did you not get a renovated room?

Next time you're here, you'll definitely see the difference all the new furnishings make! We LOVE them. Very modern. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This Embassy Suites is in a great location in downtown Portland. It is 2 blocks from the MAX red line light rail from the airport and 2 blocks in th opposite direction to the yellow and green lines to access other parts of downtown. It's also right across the street from the world famous Voodoo Doughnuts. We also found many great nearby restaurants. The hotel is in a historic building and provides all of your usual Embassy Suites perks - suite rooms, breakfast, pool and fitness center. The staff was very accomodating and housekeeping even asked what time of day we wanted our room cleaned. Our room also looked like it was recently updated.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 3rd Street on a high floor have a nice view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We DID just renovate! Those rooms are less than a month old. :)

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to write a review katiebc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel is nice and old. They gave me a double room with a mini lounge area and it was clean, rustic looking and service was great.

The downside is this part of Portland is getting rough. Turn right out of hotel and your in old Chinatown and this is now without restaurants and seems almost overrun with poor homeless people. Across the street is a homeless shelter and this could be concerning to say young ladies on thier own on an evening. Turn left though and 15 minutes later your in a nice hip part of town.

The room though was a bit noisy (elevator noise or AC) but I was so jet-lagged I slept through.

Overall its a nice place and also for the US this actually had some age and character.

Green Features: Hotels are an environmental disaster - period. This is no worse/better
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich0148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review us! We try to be as green as we can. We continue to make little changes in the front and back of house throughout the year. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I traveled with my daughter and 8 year old granddaughter. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to great downtown attractions and its pool and breakfast as well as every room being a suite. We were not disappointed and extremely satisfied with all the amenities. The choose your ingredient omelet bar was really a plus and delicious! Staff were great, I left a coat and they had it when I talked to them. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kathie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your breakfast, Kathie Y! It's our favorite amenity. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I love the Embassy Suites in downtown Portland. It's right around the corner from our favorite Irish pub, Kell's. The staff is always extremely professional. The rooms are always above par.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We're so glad you think we're the best hotel in town!! We like to think so too. ;)

Thank you so much for staying with us, Tara F, and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The location of this property is good for downtown access. Just blocks to the best shopping.

From the moment I pulled up at the door the visit was great. The valet was there to immediately assist with parking, bell person to pack my belongings inside, and the quick check-in was effortless. All the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The suite was very clean and laid out where very thing was close at hand. They were very well appointed rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The lamps had USB ports plus electric plug-ins for charging electronics.

The evening reception was nice with complimentary beverages and light appetizers.

The one downside I noticed was sounds from adjacent suites travelled very easily through the walls.

The complimentary breakfast was very nice with a wide variety of selections to choose.

I would stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Parking in Portland is expensive be prepared for sticker shock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTrvlr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Public Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Sounds like you got a look and enjoyed most of our amenities, WorldTrvlr13! We hope to have you back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 141 in Portland
2,096 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing