We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embasy Suites, Downtown Portland, OR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent restoration of the beautiful Multnomah - great accommodation and service. Rooms are spacious, in the heart of downtown. Close to many restaurants, food trucks, brew pubs, and Voodo doughnuts! Just don't order the seared Ahi tuna, mine was overcooked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Robert, your kind review is so nice to hear! We have worked hard to bring back the stunning beauty and service the Grand Lady of Fourth Avenue has given for over a century. Being in the heart of the city does allow for some fun eating and drinking adventures so I am very happy to hear you had a good stay with us. Come back soon and experience more Portland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,267)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,267 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is exceptional when it comes to the facility and the employees. I can always count on Embassy Suites to provide a wonderful stay, but this one is even more exceptional than most. Our only problem came during breakfast. All seemed well until my friend found 3 black hairs in her potatoes and looked at my plate and saw one sticking out from mine. We talked to the manager who was very gracious and apologetic and offered to do whatever we wanted to make it right. We mainly just wanted him to be aware that there is someone in the kitchen who was shedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dennis, I am so embarrassed about your meal at Breakfast! We have very high standards and health codes so this is odd. I hope we made up for it and it never happens again. Glad to hear our team members helped make your stay wonderful and please come visit us more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A Lewis

My family and I just spent 3 nights at the Embassy Suites Hotel in downtown Portland OR, we were in town to enjoy a few days of spring break 04/09/14-04/12/14. We called the hotel directly to inquire about room size, room location, and amenities and after booking our room our family was excited to spend sometime in Portland. When we arrived the room we were shown and the "customer service" we received was markedly different from what we experienced over the phone. First point do not be fooled by the photos online and/or conversations with the front desk. The photographs on the internet were nothing like what we received not even close. We were told we had booked a large 750+ sq ft room 4th floor or higher so as not to be disturbed by street traffic. What we received was a 2nd floor (#222) room with a view of a wall (no daylight entering the room) and it was at least half the size of what we were told. And the best part was we were paying $290 per night. After conversations with the front desk we were "grudgingly" moved to the 4th floor (#429)into a room that was the same size as before but it just had a window view of the parking garage, 4 people in this tiny room. We were told all the rooms were this size, but we soon found out from other guests, this was not true. The complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour were decent, and the housekeeping staff were pleasant and thorough, but that is all I could say was positive about the hotel ($290 per night). And the final straw was when we were ready to check out, we requested a luggage cart be brought up to our room, when it arrived we informed the bellman that we needed another 3-5 minutes before we could load the cart, and we ask if he could leave the cart with us (it was obvious we were checking out) we were told "no" that the cart would have to come back with him, I told him that would be fine but then he would need to bring it back in 5min, he left the cart very unhappy and the way he responded you would have thought that the cart was personally his, and he was afraid we would steal it ($290 per night). We called down to the front desk to inform them that the cart was ready and no one arrived, 15 minutes after the second call we took our luggage down ourselves ($290 per night) all the way through the front lobby passed the valet stand, and from the valet stand we rolled the cart to our car parked on the corner at that point one of the bellmen saw us and rushed over to help appalled and apologizing profusely ($290 per night) as we put the last piece of luggage into our vehicle. My family and I travel quite a bit, we have stayed at a variety of different hotels from a Motel 6, to the Grand Wailea in Maui, we have stayed in Portland on numerous occasions and this is the first time I have ever posted a review of a hotel. In business you are lucky if a happy customer tells 2 people about their experience because an upset customer will tell 20. The front desk could have found a way to make things right from the very beginning they just choose not to, no apologies, nothing done or offered to make things right. Very sad for a business that has a lot of competition out there for our dollars $290 per night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alec0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience of the hotel alec0803 and I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Being built in 1912, we are certainly not your "cookie-cutter" hotel. Although not to your liking, the room you were first allocated is often preferred as it is both an Allergen free "Pure" room as well as being in the quietest area of the hotel.
Next time you return to Portland, should you choose to stay with us please reach out to me directly and I will ensure that you are situated in the suite that you most prefer.
Warm regards
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel in april 2014 in a 2 bedroomed suite.
The room itself was excellent. A living area flanked by two separate bedrooms ensuite (436 the room number)

The location is perfect with restaurants and bars within easy reach.
The room was a bit pricey at 900 dollars for two nights...so surprised parking and wifi were not included.

A couple of things that could be made a lot better.
1. The pool and spa area needs better maintenance...the sauna was cold and so too was the pool and the jets in the tubs didn't work. also there's no changing area down there.
2. The dining room needs updating and the breakfast was poor that morning. I think redecoration and new menu would really help. I wouldn't eat at the hotel.

If you are looking for somewhere good to eat try Mothers bistro (2 blocks away)

Room Tip: 436 for a double bedroomed suite
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family_guy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Family_Guy07, I am happy to hear you liked our suites! I really like the space in the two bedroom-two baths; feels like a grand apartment at times. The parking fee is one of the lowest in town for a hotel (but on-street parking is free after 7pm if you can snag a spot). I spoke with our Engineer department about the temperatures in the pool and sauna and I think you were here when we were updating them which were why they may have been down. I will pass along your comments about Breakfast and hopefully when you stay with us again it will make your tummy happy! (I agree with you about Mother’s and there is SO much great food in Portland!) See you again soon and thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Recently in Portland, OR for business and this is a great and elegant place to stay in the downtown area. We also had our luncheon meeting in this hotel. Have stayed here before and it worked well then as it did this time. Was able to check into a room early. Would like free Wi-Fi but that's not the end of the world. Plenty to eat and choose from for breakfast and it's a very busy and crowded time in the lower level breakfast eating area. Sometimes you have to wait for an open seating area but it's usually not a very long wait. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

I am so happy to hear your return stay with us was successful, BarryG! Hopefully you took advantage of the complimentary lobby Wi-Fi. And we look forward to seeing you again on your NEXT stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This is not your usual Embassy Suites as it once was an old hotel - built in 1890's. It is big and beautiful and impressive but the staff was not! ... they screwed up the bill and corrected it - while we waited - but they never apologized.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

FLStarfish the Multnomah Hotel was built in 1912 but does carry the old charm of the Old Town District architecture surrounding us. I hope you will give us and our team members another try as we do have a great, friendly staff. And please let me know if I can do anything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is in an older building and has a historic look and feel. Yet, the rooms are large and updated. The free evening reception was a nice treat and the free breakfast was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you, SteveH for staying with us! We just updated the rooms this winter and are glad you like them (we love them!!). We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,187 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,542 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £151 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing