We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mathews, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for families”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My family gathered in Portland for a wedding. The hotel kept our rooms together. It was clean, within easy walking distance to public transportation, good coffee, voodoo donuts, the river, etc. breakfast was good and the room was perfect for 5 people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caspritchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Caspritchers, thank you for reviewing us. I am happy to hear we made your event special and we look forward to seeing you at the next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    700
    174
    70
    31
See reviews for
747
547
87
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I like hotels that have character. The lobby of this hotel was very vintage with grand columns and it felt like it was 1920. However, it didn't have as much charm as I would have hoped. The room was large with a separate sitting room but lacked the character of the lobby. (Bedroom furniture swam in the large room and the sitting room was kind of cramped.) I was also disappointed that they didn't provide free wi-fi in the rooms even though I'm a Hilton Honors member. The wi-fi in the lobby was spotty. I also attempted to print my boarding pass in the business center, but it took so long for the printer to warm up that I finally gave up.

PROS: the location was nice in that I could walk around the compact downtown easily. There is also a nice restaurant in the lobby which I think is called Portland Prime -- nice seafood and steak house. It had that kind of old clubby feel to it, and the bartender was friendly and attentive. The front desk was helpful in directing me to a nearby mall & booking an early morning taxi for me.

CONS: For some reason, I just didn't feel that the charm of this place came through. It had all the parts & pieces, but it didn't together. Also, my reception was less than stellar -- when I first arrived to check in the first thing the clerk said to me was "Last name?" No welcome or hello... kinda lame, honestly. Charging for wi-fi is so passe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Terry, thank you for taking the time to review us. We have just updated all the suites which create a more modernized feeling in the rooms with the additional space. And the original 1912 lobby is stately. I am sorry the printer was being rude and thanks to your suggestion I will now make sure I print at least once an hour to keep it fast for guests. Thank you for the idea!! We look forward to seeing you again soon so you may see our improvements. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I come out out Portland once a year for a team retreat and I love staying at the Embassy Suites. The suites are roomy and the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the location is great - within walking distance of Powells and the Chinese Gardens and many great restuarants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Mary, next time you are in Portland, please speak with our concierge as she will suggest more activities and things for you to see while staying with us. We always like to have you and we will see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with Hilton points for a weekend getaway. We arrived in the pouring rain and a bellman immediately came out to our car, gave us an umbrella, and got all of our luggage so we could get out of the weather. The hotel is lovely inside, the staff was incredibly kind and knowledgeable, the rooms were clean and spacious, everything about the trip was perfect. We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bethk803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Beth, it is wonderful to hear our valets made an impression on your stay. They are a nice part of our team and I will let them know you wrote kind words about them. And we can’t wait to see you on your next trip to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location was very central. Breakfast was great with many choices. We also enjoyed the reception at night and the pool and jacuzzi. It was very quiet too! The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. I really liked the two bedroom suite as it gave us room to spread out. Nice to have two televisions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Marie, thank you for the nice review! We are glad you had a good stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Now the Embassy Suites (once the old Multnomah Hotel) is an impressive old remodeled building with excellent, spacious rooms, a fun high ceilinged lobby, thick walls (quiet), friendly staff, a small but adequate pool and exercise facility and a superb breakfast included.

Room Tip: You might check for corner rooms - have a living room space, desk aside from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
DM1, it means a lot to us you posted such nice words about the “Grand Lady of Fourth Avenue” (the nickname of the hotel from 1912). We try to combine the elegance of the building with today’s needs and it is good to hear when it is enjoyed. Come back and visit us again soon! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend it to anyone. Accommodation in Portland is expensive generally, and this is by far the best value option. The staff were all courteous and pleasant, and Zannah, the concierge, excels at her job! The lobby is impressive as soon as you enter, having been greeted by the helpful and friendly valets on the curb outside. I might add, even though we did not select valet parking, the valets were still anxious to be of any service they could. The two room suites (one bedroom plus sitting area) are clean, tastefully furnished and of very generous size. When we asked to switch rooms to a higher floor so we didn't look out on a wall and a parking garage, the staff were more than happy to help, and arranged a switch to 637, which has a great view over the Old Town and the Voodoo Doughnuts line (in case you want to keep an eye on when you should go!). The breakfast, particularly on weekends, was hot, fresh, tasty and generous. We stayed there on Easter, and were delighted to have coloured hard-boiled eggs at the breakfast buffet, plus the staff hosted an Easter egg hunt in the lobby for kids, to the delight of our children! We enjoyed the pool area and fitness room. Good location with easy walking access to many attractions and the trams. It is true there are a lot of homeless in the area, but that applies to anywhere in downtown Portland, and is hardly the fault of the hotel. We never felt unsafe walking around with our young kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, not facing the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDH154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
JDH, we are so happy to hear about your fun family stay with us. It sounds like you got to do a lot in the city and we are glad you chose us for your “basecamp”. Thank you for participating in the Egg Hunt and I will let the kitchen staff know it was enjoyed by all. Also, I will make sure Zannah receives the nice comments you said; she loves her job. Next time you stay with us you can book the VooDoo Package and have donuts waiting for you in your room upon check in! We hope you and your family visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 143 in Portland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 143 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 143 in Portland
1,489 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing