We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in downtown if your here to shop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

So I wanted to be near downtown. It took about 20 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport. Parking is across the street in a regular parking garage. The staff has been polite and efficient. The room is a decent size. Not the biggest rooms I have been in for an Embassy suites. My window views face the other rooms. So we are window to window, not expected when you are a diamond status guest right? Oh well. I'm here for one night. Walking distance to the mall, Nordstrom's, and tons of restaurants and cafe's. I felt very safe walking around downtown during the day and through early evening. The room is clean. Not a bad area of downtown. Bed is comfortable. Walls are kind of thin. I have heard babies crying in the room next door. I have not heard hallway noise however. I also have not eaten here. I went to local haunts instead.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

JenniferH, thank you for commenting on your stay, we are a historic property and when the hotel was opened in 1912 one of the selling points was “every room has an outside view”. The views are very different today as you know! Please come back and visit us soon and luckily the minor hiccup of the view didn’t ruin what sounds like a nice stay. We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,391 - 1,397 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a quick in and out stay but it was such fun to "Experience the Past in the Luxury of Today!" Make sure to experience the food trucks, great Mexican food at Villanueva's truck , just block away behind the hotel, then come back and cozy up in the beauty of the hotel. Walk around to see the ballroom hallways and appreciate the past.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank terrym492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

TerryM, what such lovely words you have written! Thank you so much! See you again very soon I hope!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed for two nights for a work trip (with, as always, a government rate booking) and found this to be a great choice. I'd bring my family here for a stay, although this particular part of downtown Portland at night doesn't really offer anything special. The service was really fantastic - easy check-in and silver Hilton auto-upgrade to a nice suite. The rooms are very clean and updated as possible for an older hotel. The happy hour and breakfast choices are nice free additions. I have no complaints about the hotel at all and will add it to the near top of my list for first-choice business accommodations. I like the freebies and having a lot of space in the room. The main Hilton downtown, for example, doesn't do anything free for silver status and the rooms are like postage stamps.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

LolaWally, I hope you do bring your family here soon because Portland does offer many family-friendly evening activities. And I am happy to hear we are on our list and hope you allow us to try to make #1! Thank you for the comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just stayed 3 nights with a large group of family members for my son's college graduation. We all had a wonderful time. The kids loved the indoor pool, adults loved the happy hour and everyone enjoyed the breakfast and close proximity to Voodoo Doughnuts. Downtown, food carts, the river, and several other attractions are in walking distance.
Our corner room was beyond huge! I am sure we were upgraded, because we have stayed in the hotel before and never had such a big suite.
We held a dinner party in the wine cellar room and the hotel did not disappoint. The food (all vegan upon our request) was delish and presented so beautifully.
We will be returning soon I hope!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

MindiB, we had a wonderful time with your family’s graduation and are so happy you stayed with us. Please visit us again soon and explore more of the sights! Congratulations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we come to Portland at least once a ear and we always stay here, the staff is very friendly and helpful, The rooms are always clean and quiet, the free breakfast is awesome!!The hotel is located close to everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank 206larryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

LarryW, thank you for the repeat stays!! We always look forward to your visits and hope it happens more than just annually! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

4 of us spent 4 nights in Portland at the Embassy Suites and we had a fantastic time. Staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were good. The breakfast was excellent and evening drinks were good value with a couple of craft beers on tap!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

PaulD, I am so happy you had a great stay in Portland with us and hope the next visit will be even more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We reserved a room online and requested a roll away and for the pull out sofa to be made for us, upon arrival, since we were watching the blazer game with our kids and wouldn't be arriving until late. My husband then called on the way to Portland, to ensure that the requests were saw and able to be met. The receptionist confirmed the request and said it would be a problem. We arrived around 11pm, (after the game) when I went to check in the front desk person quoted back the requests and said it should be all set, if not give us a call. IT WAS NOT DONE. NO ROLL AWAY, NO BED PULLED OUT OR MADE. We had to request more towels and more shampoo and conditioner, we had 4 people in the room and only 3 towels and 1 little shampoo and conditioner were in the room.
On top of all that the Bathtub!!!- The bathtub DID NOT DRAIN, so we all had to wait in dirty water while taking showers, gross!
Why have an option for requests if they are just ignored? We have stayed here many times and this was not a good visit and I will rethink bringing my family here on our next stay.

Room Tip: MAKE SURE they honor and see your special requests. Breakfast was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vsb7victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Victoria, please make sure you contact us directly so we may improve upon your stay. We are so sorry about your stay was less than perfect and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#26 of 144 in Portland
235 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#2 of 144 in Portland
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £121 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing