We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now my favorite Portland hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Now my favorite Portland hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Three adults shared a large 2room suite and it worked beautifully. This historic building has been refurbished, is in a great location, has spacious rooms, nice views, nice bar and restaurant, great complimentary breakfast in the morning, hospitality reception in the evenings--all is good.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was great because of views in two directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reesie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I am glad everyone had a nice stay with us, Reesie. We redecorated the rooms this year and are happy to hear you enjoyed them. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    657
    156
    63
    31
See reviews for
689
508
86
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Thia hotel was a big surprise. When I think of Embassy Suites, I envision more of a standard quality hotel suite room. This far exceeded my expectations. My room was HUGE!! It felt more like the size of a small apartment rather than a hotel room. High cielings, big open spaces in the room, very elegant. I read ahead on Trip Advisor and took the advice of many traveelers and requested a room facing the street and I was very glad I did. I had a nice view of some of the downtown buildings and sights. My colleague did not have such luck and was in a room that baiscally faced into a wall on the other side of the building. I was also glad to have asked for a room on a higher floor which afforded a better view. Location is good, within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. I also must say that they have done a great job training their staff in customer service. I was greated each time I came into contact with an employee, be it a maid in the hallway or a repair man, with a smile, eye contact and a friendly hello. That was very nice.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 103lisas103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
103lisas103, how fun to hear we exceeded your expectations! The best part about being one of a few select historic properties for Embassy is making our guests feel like they have traveled back to a special time and place. And how wonderful you took the advice from other travelers and were able to be in rooms which showcase the uniqueness of our fair city. When the hotel opened in 1912 it prided itself on having “every room facing outside” but the reality is you might be facing your neighbor! Also, while we do have great training, as Team Members we are a great, happy bunch who love working here and sharing that with our guests. Thank you for the comments about our hospitality and I will make sure to pass it along to every department. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located downtown next to China town and several food truck areas. Purchased food from three different food trucks, took the food to my room, and enjoyed them over a movie. After a long day, pho was the comfort food that really hit the spot.

The food served during conference was excellent, including the staff. Very accommodating staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Lee; I think you may have had a perfect stay with us! Eating in your room while watching a movie after a conference sounds heavenly! Thank you for taking the time to review us and we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Nice location on the edge of downtown and can take the streetcar from the airport to within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The rooms are newly painted and big. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel GM saw us looking at brochures and stopped to offer his help and advice on attractions and restaurants since the concierge had not arrived yet.

Easy to get to the Pearl District, waterfront and downtown shopping. The Old Town neighborhood around the hotel has great coffee shops and restaurants. Great people-watching because there are many interesting characters out and about...from homeless to bikers to outdoorsy set.

One improvement needed is to refresh the breakfast/evening reception area. It's too dark and dank. The main restaurant (Portland Prime) is a good steak house, but too pricey for the experience.

Room Tip: Get the corner suite...it's bigger.
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle and appear environmentally conscious as is all of Portland.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
EnjoyLife, isn’t the Streetcar and the Light Rail the BEST!? I am so happy to hear you took advantage of it. And even more excited you were able to meet our GM! I hope you had some fun adventures and he pointed you in the right direction. Thank you for your words about the Arcadian Garden Room, we are working on making it feel more welcome and less of a “basement” (or Fallout Shelter which is what it once was as well). So please come back and visit us again soon so we may WOW you even more. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was pouring rain when we arrived at the hotel in April. Our room was large clean and comfortable for the 3 of us. Staff were friendly and offered great restaurant suggestions- the Bijou cafe a block away was terrific and Tasty & Alder was fabulous. The food trucks and Voodoo donuts were great too. The pool/spa was crowded each time we visited so we utilized the small workout room instead. The breakfast room is in the basement of this older hotel and a bit claustrophobic. We liked the fact that the hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions and eateries. Really had no need for a car. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: request a corner room - ours was quiet and BIG
See more room tips
Green Features: being from California we are very much aware of water conservation and were happy to see this hotel is environmentally responsible.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaFam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
CaFam; sounds like you ate a lot of great food while you were here! Come back and try MORE! Thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you on your next adventure to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for a conference and loved it. It's an older hotel, which gives it lots of charm, though that also means the amenities aren't all "modernized." My favorite thing was the lobby. It's a throwback to the grand old days of hotels when people actually hung out in beautifully decorated lobbies with plush furniture in conversational groupings. Really lovely. My other favorite thing was the location. You can walk or take public transportation to almost anywhere in Portland from there. And it's only a few blocks from Voodoo doughnuts! :)

The traditional ES buffet was great, but it is in the basement. No windows. A little stuffy. As much as possible I tried to take my food elsewhere to eat. But the food was pretty good.

My son came for a visit one night and was perfectly comfortable on the sleeper sofa. The bathroom was functional and clean. Everything worked fine, just a little outdated as I said.

I would definitely stay here again just to be downtown and have the convenience of breakfast and cocktails/snacks included.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfam_rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I’m so glad you loved our lobby, Beachfam, we do too! After seeing so much in the city I am glad you had time to decompress and people-watch just as in days past. We look forward to seeing you all again soon and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I were in town for a brief stay at the end of a girls' trip to the Oregon Coast. We stayed at the Embassy Suites downtown and really enjoyed it. The front desk staff was very pleasant and quick to point out the "boil order" that had gone into effect for the city that weekend. As a result, they had stocked the rooms with bottled water and were using bagged ice for happy hour. The concierge was also very helpful with and enthusiastic about our planned outings.

We had a corner suite on the 8th floor, room 816, from which we were able to see the city's fireworks our first night there. All the rooms (sitting room, bathroom, bedroom) were spacious and clean. The furnishings seemed fresh and new. The location was great, with a quick walk to Voodoo Doughnuts, and an easy walk to Mother's (where we had dinner) as well as the Portland Saturday Market (where we spent hours). We opted not to park in the hotel lot, instead parked in the city lot around the corner. It had a great weekend rate (about $9 per night), so we saved money there.

Along with the places mentioned above, we enjoyed Powell's Books, the Rose Garden and Japanese Garden, a trip to Multnomah Falls, ice cream at Salt & Straw (seriously delicious, but go during off-hours to avoid really long lines) and eating on the retrofitted school bus at The Grilled Cheese Grill.

Room Tip: Room 816 is a corner room with the bedroom set back from the street which helps obscure street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Beatrice; what fun you had while here!!! It seems like you survived our city’s snafu with humor and activities and we thank you for understanding. Please make sure you come back and visit us again soon and try even MORE adventures (hopefully you will add the “waffle guy” cart on your food list). Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
1,334 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
1,154 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing