We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Portland Or”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Portland Or”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you haven't been to the Embassy Suites Downtown Portland you should go there. It isn't like any other Embassy. The building is 100 years old. And restored to be a fantastic hotel. Not sure why they haven't made it a Conrad. We stayed there and were lucky to attend a banquet that was beautiful and had fantastic food.

Room Tip: Suites on corners are larger
See more room tips
Green Features: I forgot my tooth brush they brought one up and didn't charge us
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Nanwil, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    700
    174
    70
    31
See reviews for
747
547
87
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was in Portland on Business, conference at this hotel. Nice hotel. Good location. Could walk to many resturants. Was good stay with the exception of some elses hair on the bedspread when I checked in and someone elses drink in the mini fridge. Once I got past that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are happy you were able to stay with us, Tracy. I am so sorry about the mess you came upon in your room and I hope we were able to Make It Right for you! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First time at this hotel. Parking and Valet process were the worst. Check-in was time consuming. Had a room with absolutely no view. The price was too much for the service, room, valet and ammenities...$300+ for one night. Complimentary breakfast was served at 6:30-should be earlier. I much prefer the Tigard location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Tamara, I hope we can see you again so we can make a better impression. Please let us know if there is any way we can Make It Right for you. And I am glad you like the Tigard location and will let them know! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walled Lake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a great hotel! The food was fantastic and the suites were spacious and cozy all at the same time. The hotel was in a great location for walking around and seeing the city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
So glad you got to explore Portland, Heidi, and hopefully you didn’t see the entire city so you can come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our room was everything you expect from Embassy Suites. It was spacious and well appointed. The bed linens seemed to be new and were crisp and clean. The beds were comfortable, too. We enjoyed the generous offerings at the evening reception. They were surpassed only by the sumptuous breakfast choices. The hotel was located in an area with access to a variety of "must see" sites. Everyone we encountered, from the desk staff to the gift shop staff were helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
LJ, we are so happy to read you had a great stay! We redecorated our rooms in February and it’s wonderful you like them (we do too!). See you again soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I booked two suites for family to attend a graduation ceremony in Portlalnd Oregon. The front staff had no difficulty booking the two rooms side by side and was fast and efficient when doing it. The location was perfect for our stay, the breakfast a HUGE plus, the suites nice and large, the beds plenty comfy. I will stay at this hotel again when visiting Portland, and will look for other Embassy Suite hotels in other cities for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
First, congratulations to the graduate, Marjorie, and thank you for staying with us. We hope we have spoiled you for staying with the Embassy Brand because our location, the Multnomah Hotel, was built in 1912 and is one of two historic properties in the Family. We look forward to seeing your family again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have been a Hilton Honors member for awhile and had enough points saved up to splurge on a suite for two days. When I arrived they upgraded me to a corner suite, which was nice, and also pointed out that the Rose Festival might impact my travel plans (since they knew I was checking out on Saturday morning, the day of the parade; I like this kind of attention and knowledge). I also needed a toothbrush and shampoo (I had two conditioners in the room but no shampoo) and they provided both quickly. The on-site breakfast was very good, much better than the standard continental fare, and had a good variety both days. Their hotel restaurant Portland Prime was also very good (reviewed separately). The room itself was very clean, very spacious, and had a neat view of a portion of downtown. It was also very conveniently located, within walking distance of most of Portland's immediate attractions and the AMTRAK station. If I were to travel to Portland again I would seriously consider staying again, depending on my financial situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Tklempan, thank you for your nice review. We always like to hear feedback when we have done something positive and I will make sure to pass on your comments to the correct departments. Hopefully next year you will be able to stay longer and see the Rose Festival Parade; it’s quite a treat! Thank you for your visit and we’ll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 143 in Portland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 143 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 143 in Portland
1,489 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing