We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for a family stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Far exceeded expectations on our first visit three years ago and again this year. Perfect for travel with two teens - 2 Queen beds in a separate room and a queen pullout. Very friendly staff. Both times we were given a room facing inside i.e. the other bedroom wing which was very unfortunate but to be honest we literally were just sleeping here. The morning breakfast, evening cocktail reception, excellent WiFi access, all plusses. If I recall correctly it is the only if not one of a very few hotels in downtown Portland that has a pool, a real bonus for the kids. Across the street from VooDoo Donuts

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanSusie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Welcome back, VanSusie, we are so happy to have your family as our guests! We are one of a few places with a pool and are the most unique with it being underground. Please come back before three years have passed! See you soon! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    675
    166
    66
    31
See reviews for
707
524
87
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This embassy was not like other typicals. The complimentary breakfast was good, lady who made the omelets, however, very slow. Bartender in the evening had great customer service. Front desk staff very helpful. Beds comfortable. Housekeeping needs a little help - room never cleaned until late late afternoon and often garbages not emptied or floor not vacuumed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank FamOf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing us, Famof9, and I am sorry to hear of the bumps in your stay. I hope your family will come back again so we can Make It Right and give you a perfect stay! We are always improving our service based on feedback so I thank you for bring this to our attention. I will let the Front Desk and bartender know of your kind words you wrote. See you in the future I hope!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First visit to Portland and the Embassy Suites Hotel. The Lobby is striking to the eye in all its splendor. The hotel is restored to it's original beauty. I had a king suite which was quite roomy and spotlessly clean. The bed supports a wonderful night sleep and the bathrooms are large. The hotel is just 4 blocks from the Max line making it very convenient to get around. The hotel staff is pleasant and willing to go the extra mile in obtaining information for you. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Margaret, we are so flattered to be “top notch”, thank you! The Multnomah Hotel has a wonderful reputation to live up to from over 50 years of Portland service and we are always happy to hear we are coming close. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portland!!! Thank you for reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I would say the rooms at Embassy are above average. When considering that, in addition to the Manager's Reception held each night (free drinks), complimentary buffett breakfast every morning, and the noon check out time, other hotels in the area do not compare. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Katie, thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to hear you had a happy stay and please come back soon (and bring your friends!!!). We just redecorated the rooms this year and are looking to revamp the lobby and Arcadian Garden Room too, so we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you haven't been to the Embassy Suites Downtown Portland you should go there. It isn't like any other Embassy. The building is 100 years old. And restored to be a fantastic hotel. Not sure why they haven't made it a Conrad. We stayed there and were lucky to attend a banquet that was beautiful and had fantastic food.

Room Tip: Suites on corners are larger
See more room tips
Green Features: I forgot my tooth brush they brought one up and didn't charge us
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Nanwil, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was in Portland on Business, conference at this hotel. Nice hotel. Good location. Could walk to many resturants. Was good stay with the exception of some elses hair on the bedspread when I checked in and someone elses drink in the mini fridge. Once I got past that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are happy you were able to stay with us, Tracy. I am so sorry about the mess you came upon in your room and I hope we were able to Make It Right for you! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First time at this hotel. Parking and Valet process were the worst. Check-in was time consuming. Had a room with absolutely no view. The price was too much for the service, room, valet and ammenities...$300+ for one night. Complimentary breakfast was served at 6:30-should be earlier. I much prefer the Tigard location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Tamara, I hope we can see you again so we can make a better impression. Please let us know if there is any way we can Make It Right for you. And I am glad you like the Tigard location and will let them know! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 141 in Portland
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing