We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“formerly great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Large and comfortable hotel, well positioned for downtown Portland offering family suites at a reasonable rate. On the plus side you have the location, and convenience of being in the centre of town. Read the history panels to find out who has stayed here over the years; the list is endless and full of surprises. The problems include the location of the hotel, the price of wifi and the less than inspiring breakfast.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitor931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Visitor931, I am so happy to read you explored the Multnomah Hotel during your stay! We have been working on updating the historic information about the hotel and are pleased to get some feedback. Thank you so much and when you visit us again I hope you will enjoy the displays even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Expensive but with it for the location and suite set up. We were traveling with our 9 month old so the suite was a big help. Location is near VooDoo donuts, the Saturday market, countless food trucks, Stumptown coffee, lots of great restaurants (Mother's Bistro is a must) and close to highways. Yes it is pricey but save some money on parking by using the PMC lot across the street ($13/day weekdays, $3.75/day weekends vs their $27/day self park).

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perri628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Sounds like you had a successful stay with your family, Perri, and thank you for review us online. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a good, old-school, full service hotel in a great location. If you'd like a break from modern and uber luxe hotel decor that seems to be the standard of hotel interior design these days, this is the place. The beautiful early 20th century architectural details in the lobby to the traditional styling in the rooms make the hotel a comfortable place to stay. It's not your typical Embassy Suites, the chain acquired the hotel, which was built before 1920 or so, and left it's original charm. I felt that the room was a bit overpriced, but I didn't feel fleeced. The full-scale breakfast that's complimentary with your stay certainly upped the value ante.

But the top selling point is the hotel's amazing location.You are within a few beautiful, tree-lined blocks from shops, Chinatown, eateries of all sorts, small courtyards and parks, and food trucks galore. You don't have to have a particularly adventurous spirit to feel confident walking out the front door of the hotel and exploring a bit. People are very friendly and the neighborhood is safe and perfect for a stroll.

Even if you're visiting the hotel on businesses, your stay here will make you feel like you'e gotten a taste of what Portland has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious. Unless you really need to make use of the pull-out sofa, you don't need to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFBinEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

You wrote such wonderful, kind words about us and the Multnomah Hotel, KFBinEC, I am not sure a simple “thank you” will suffice. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! We have the unique distinction of being one of only two historic properties in the Embassy Family in the U.S. The hotel has been a beacon of hospitality and gathering since 1912 and we love guests to feel welcome, comfortable and a part of history with us. Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to your next stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Based on my work travel, I stay at Hilton's nearly exclusively. I have stayed at this Embassy Suites a number of times. You get all of the old faithful perks of an Embassy Suites, like the comp happy hour and breakfast, but you also get an amazing historic hotel and lobby in a great location. You can walk nearly everywhere downtown and in the Pearl from the hotel. I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Jess, thank you for the kind review! The Multnomah Hotel opened in 1912 and we are proud to keep the tradition of great hospitality going. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great Hotel, excellent staff, very nice clean rooms and in a great location. Just a jog from Voodoo Doughnuts, and other great sights to visit. Indoor pool was super and the local restaurants were varied from Tabor Czech Food Truck/cart on SW 5th and Oak home of the famous “snitzelwich, to fine dining right downstairs at Portland Prime..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

JohnC, thank you for taking the time to review us online. We agree with how great our location is to all the food!! I am glad you discovered so much and I hope you come back often to explore even more yummies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful lobby, and the evening reception (free drinks) and the free breakfast were very nice. Not a very nice part of town, though. Dirty, strip club across the street and lots of panhandlers. We had booked a suite - I thought it would be a bedroom/living room but it was more of a bedroom up a couple of stairs overlooking a "living area" that had a big conference table. Weird. Big windows, but no view. You couldn't turn the air conditioning up as much as i would have liked - the lowest you could set the thermostat was 67. There was also some loud partying late at night that we could hear.
It's $34 to park your car there, but there is a Smartpark a few blocks away that cost us $10. We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: make sure you get the kind of suite you wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Laurie, I am sorry to read about your experience in Portland and I hope you will reconsider staying with us again. Portland, (and the historic Multnomah Hotel), has so much to offer and I would like to be able to share those hidden gems of the city with you in the future. Come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel but we ended up with a room on the 2nd floor with a wardrobe in front of the window that looked out on all this pipe work! It was dark most of the time despite the weather being sunny. This stay was prepaid and we asked for a room with a view - ha! I liked that the hotel had a quest laundry and the position was good so if you are going to stay here ask for a higher floor!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassySuitesHotel69, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I am so sorry to read your stay with us was less than perfect, LynnE. It has been a challenge to restore a historic hotel with over 100 years of history and we hope you will come back to us again so we may Make It Right for you. Please don’t hesitate to contact us offline if you would like to. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
Hilton Portland Downtown
#27 of 144 in Portland
237 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Portland Marriott Downtown Waterfront
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown

Address: 319 SW Pine St, Portland, OR 97204-2725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#10 Family Hotel in Portland
#10 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £123 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, the Historic Embassy Suites Portland -Downtown features large two-room guest suites and a well-known foyer adorned in grandeur and architectural beauty. Built in 1912, the building combines it's original classic style and features along with modern comfort. The hotel is within walking distance of tax-free shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Portland’s revered Voo-Doo doughnuts and Powell’s books. The hotel also offers a luxurious Jacuzzi and Indoor pool for you to warm up to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland - Downtown Hotel Portland
Portland Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing