We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #31 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“By the River”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Rose is located across from the river so walking and running access is great. There are several detours currently upstream on the pathways but you can still get a good run in before breakfast. The other location premium is acces to the MAX just around the corner - $26 gets you a week pass on all rail, bus and tram services in the city. Service was good from the staff and will help with guides and tips. If you need more exercise they have a link with a local health club several blocks away - it also has a 25yard lap pool. Rooms are smallish but the robes are a nice touch. In all a great location for seeing all the sites and pubs/restaurants downtown.

Room Tip: The "courtyard" rooms face the inside parking lot but are definitey quieter than the nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good Morning Gordon R,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Portland and Hotel Rose. It sounds like you took advantage of all the great things we have to offer and truly enjoyed your time here. We pride ourselves on our service so I'm pleased our team was able to provide you with good information. We are in the process of adding a workout facility on property for your future visits.
Thank you again Gordon R. We hope you are back in Portland very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    326
    121
    42
    20
See reviews for
157
403
55
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malabar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

You know what they always say... Location,location, location! Great location if you enjoy walking the city! The hotel also provides bicycles to enjoy, with great bike paths around the park and bridges to cross! The valet offered us good information for our daily explorations. The Nob Hill area is lovely to walk... Great places to eat and shop. We also found it quite easy to get out of town when we took a day trip to Astoria and Cannon Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good Morning D H,
Thank you for you comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location along with complimentary bikes and great restaurant options. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be returning in the very near future.
Thank you D H,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent three nights at Hotel Rose and found it to be a perfect vacation base. The hotel is only a block from the nearest train stop, so was a very easy commute from the airport. The park running along the river was a great place to hang out, and everything in downtown Portland was within walking distance of the hotel. Although it's probably more of a business hotel, we found it to be a good vacation spot too. The restaurant is a bit pricy, but there are lots of other great eating places in the neighbourhood. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Rooms are well appointed, and beds were very comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the 'courtyard' which is really a parking lot, seemed to have a fair b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prairieguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Good Morning Prairieguy_11,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Rose. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and fantastic location. Getting to and from the airport is so convenient on the MAX and Portland is such a walking friendly city.
We hope that you are able to come back and visit us very soon.
Thank you again Prairieguy_11,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean business hotel, nothing fancy. Very friendly, young staff. Good, safe location. Only a few blocks from restaurants, public transportation, movies and shopping. Third stay in three years with consistent quality. Ask for a room with a view of the Willamette River. Fun to watch the geese, boats and joggers go by. The hotel recently changed from Hotel 50 to Hotel Rose. Perhaps changes are planned, but in October 2013 there was no discernible difference. There isn't a pay-per-view movie system, which would definitely be a plus. The restaurant food is good, but not inspired. There are more exciting places to eat nearby.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CL-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Good morning CL-WA,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and that the location worked so well for you. This was your 3rd stay in 3 years so hopefully a 4th will be on your calendar soon.
Thanks again CL-WA,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Hotel Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent 2 nights in Portland at the Hotel Rose and it was a great base for wandering Portland. Located on the west bank of the Willamette River with a greenway as well as the beautiful river walk right there to access for early morning walks. The hotel is easy walking distance to all of the restaurants, shops, bars and sites downtown Portland has to offer.

We had a very comfortable river view room with an updated bathroom and found the hotel staff friendly and helpful at the Rose. We would certainly stay here again and hope to return to Portland, a wonderful place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: River view rooms beside the wonderful view are on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCoastWanderer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Greetings WestCoastWanderer82,
Thank you for your favorable comments regarding our hotel. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable guest room, bathroom, fantastic location, and friendly staff. I hope you have the opportunity to return to Portland very soon so we can take care you again.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Hotel Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our first trip to Portland was made even more memorable by our stay at the Rose. This is an excellent hotel and very competitively priced. It's a 10 minute walk to Downtown, but it's situated only metres away from inward and outward stops on the trolley which connects with every other trolley in town. No need at all for a car.
The hotel itself has an excellent restaurant and bar, good sized rooms with umbrella provided (just in case!). The shower is excellent!
Staff are friendly and informative.
Overall, an excellent experience - thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: No noise or other problems to consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Good evening Dobe N,
Thank you for your very postive comments. We truly do appreciate your feedback! I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our great rain head shower, restaurant, and fantastic location. You were a long way from home so thank you for chosing Hotel Rose as your Portland home while visiting our fine city.
We hope to see you back here very soon.
Thank you Dobe N,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

With a couple of exceptions, the service at this hotel is provided by people who don't really care about the guests. Here's a good example. Even though breakfast was included in our room rate, nobody explained the anitquated voucher system they use, so we were charged twice for breakfast. No-one cared about sorting it out, they just blandly promised the charge would be reversed on my next statement. No surprise, it wasn't, since then three emails have been ignored, which I have to say is what I was expecting.

We were shown to a room that smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, with a dirty bathroom as well! We were moved to a different room, but this kind of thing shouldn't happen.

We won't go back to this hotel, They have simply given up.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 10RB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Good evening 10RB10,
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay. I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations while you were here. Please know that we take your comments very seriously and will review our breakfast voucher processes with the management team. I do hope you will give us another chance in the near future to provide you with a more satisfying stay.
Thank you 10RB10,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 142 in Portland
1,946 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 142 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,210 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing