We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
481
428
166
58
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
428
166
58
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesthe riverbottle kitchentommy bahamapineapple hospitalitygreat locationfree bikeswaterfront parktop sheetself parkingbottled waterlight sleepersaturday marketstreet noisewould stay againhappy hourhomeless people
Filter
Updating list...
1,077 - 1,082 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the downtown shopping district and a stones throw from the walking path and the Tom McCall Waterfront Park along the Willamette River and just south of the I-5 and I-84 interchange.
Upon arriving, the elevator is a little cold, as was the hallway upon, but our room overlooking the river was warm and inviting. It was a quaint room for two adults and two kids – cozy and a great place to sleep or hang out before and after exploring what the city has to offer.
The bed coverings, ergonomic desk chair, iPod docking station, 42” flatscreen TV, Kuerig coffee maker, and phone are very current, posh amenities. In contrast, couple pieces of an older style hotel remain like the lounge chair and side table, giving it a retro feel.
A sliding door doubled as a closet and bathroom door, depending on the desired function at the time. The kids found it difficult to open and close, as did I, at times. The bathrooms have been remodeled and feature walk-in showers with rainhead fixtures and a newer toilet. A fan to clear the steamy air after a shower was the only other option we expected and searched for unsuccessfully.
All of us found the beds very comfortable with very plush pillows. And when I wasn’t sleeping, I made good use of the complimentary Wi-Fi, laptop safe, and mini refrigerator.
Hotel Rose offers urban contemporary and comfortable accommodations and is conveniently located near many of Portland’s most popular shopping destinations, tourist attractions, parks, restaurants and more.
Hotel Rose is a great place for families, couples, and business travelers. Whether you’re looking for a staycation, a weekend getaway, or a comfortable place to stay after an event in Portland, Hotel Rose should be at the top of your list. You can even bring your pet!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hello DianeDK,
Thank you for such a thorough review. I think you covered most every component of your stay. We have corrected the issue with our heating system that was casuing the cold draft in the elevator shaft. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Rose. Thanks for choosing us while visiting Portland and we hope you return soon.

Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed here 6 days and enjoyed it very much. The staff is young and very helpful. The decor is fresh and new, bed very comfortable and the location is great. The free tram line is right outside the door and you can walk to many great spots right out the door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBRDETROIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hello NBRDETROIT,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. It was great that you were able to spend a week with us. We hope you return soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

One of the essential needs we have as humans is shelter, and one of the key features we hairless monkeys crave when searching for shelter is warmth. The friendly front staff did assure us both times we called down that they were, "Restarting the boilers." Yet, our room that we stayed in on this late November day remained as frigid as the Arctic North. (They did, BTW, send up a space heater to thaw us out).

But hey, I'm a glass half-full kinda guy. If you and your significant other are into weird Eskimo fetish, then this is the hotel for you!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Winemaker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good morning Winemaker93,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I do apologize that your room was not as warm as you would have liked. We discovered and have corrected an issue that was causing some heating problems if a few of our rooms over the cold spell. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Thank you Winemaker93. We hope to see you back in Portland very soon.

Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Only stayed one night, booked some sort of portland deal so parking was included... However I was charged for it on checkout. Quickly resolved it with a stop at reception (warning to other travellers to make sure they aren't charged if it was supposed to be included). Other than that rooms were nice, location was good (eating, shopping), and prices are good. I would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mclaren31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Good morning Mclaren31,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Portland and at Hotel Rose. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,

Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The lobby staff was very friendly offering dining, destination and transportation suggestions. Our room was modern, nicely designed, and clean. The hotel's location was really convenient to Portland's public transit or many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hello PTJ,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Rose for your home away from home while in Portland. We truly appreciate you staying with us and your positive comments about our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews