We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #30 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Second stay at property, 1st since changed from Hotel 50 to Rose. Nicely updated older boutique property has a European feel.

Room and bath were small but clean, modern and well designed. Ask for an exterior facing room if view is important to you. Nice amenities.

Restaurant-bar was undergoing a renovation while we were there but open.

Staff is cheerful and helpful. Secure hotel parking was reasonably priced at $20/ day.

The location at the corner of Naito Pkway and Morrison is absolutely killer for walking distance to everything downtown.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bt2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Good morning bt2058,
Thank you for your very nice review of our hotel. It's great that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location, great view, lowest parking rate in town, and fantastic staff. I hope you are able to stay with us again when our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen have been completed. It's going to be spectacular.
Thank you bt2058. We are looking forward to seeing you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    288
    106
    37
    19
See reviews for
127
365
48
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We got a decent deal on this hotel from Travelzoo. The deal came with free self-parking and bikes. We did use the parking but passed on the bikes. We arrived a bit early and were able to get into our room. Great! When we went into the room there was a very strong smoke odor. Then the bathroom was very smelly as well. We soon found out that the toilet was clogged. It actually was continuously not working right and my husband got friendly with the plunger closet in the hall. No biggie, just annoying. The room was decently sized and had everything we needed. I loved the free Keurig coffee in room. As others have stated the shower/ bathroom situation is odd. No doors really...kinda bizarre, so the floor gets soaked from the shower.
We did eat a complementary pineapple cupcake which is more like a tiny little muffin, and I tried to get coffee in the lobby but it was all out.
I did like the Tommy Bahama bath products and the makeup remover. This hotel was a great location with easy access to downtown and bridges to other parts of town.
The best part about this room was the BED. So comfortable.
We found the room temperature to be hot and the air was not working right so we had to open a window. It was a bit noisy at times. The restaurant was open but was under construction so we did not dine there.
We would stay here again for the price we paid, but there were several flaws I would hope are just flukes.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Good morning Meredith S,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We truly appreciate your feedback.
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our great bed, afternoon pineapple cupcakes, and Tommy Bahama amenities. I was disappointed to read you had housekeeping/plumbing issues and do apologize for that. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping manager and engineer for follow up.
Thank you again Meredith S and we look forward to having you stay with us again very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is an older hotel that has had a thorough modernization. Our room was small but well-designed to take advantage of the space available. For example, the closet door slides over to become the bathroom door when you need privacy. Love the one-shot coffee machine, would have liked to have more coffee pods available. If you're travelling with a dog, it's right across the street from the park and a lovely walk along the riverside. Also great for joggers. It is right on the MAX line, but we didn't have any problems with noise from either that or other rooms and slept very well. Although it's easy to find it can be tricky to get to, so if you're not familiar with Portland we suggest getting directions so you don't end up on the Morrison bridge.

Room Tip: The "Mural View" rooms, although they only look out onto a parking lot, are quieter than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bend395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Good morning bend395,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and room amenities! Being so close to the center of town and right across the street from the park is hard to beat. It's also great for your 4 legged friends.
Thank you again bend395. We hope to see you back in Portland very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location and clean comfortable room. The restaurant and bar are still under construction but the food and service were good. Took advantage of the free bikes and had a wonderful time riding up and Dow the waterfront. Only disappointment was when the self parking lot was full and the valet would not park my car because had not originally signed up for valet service. Not exactly pineapple service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good afternoon Steve P,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at Hotel Rose. I was pleased to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable but disappointed to hear we missed on the valet parking side. Please accept my sincere apologies. We take your comments very seriously and have reviewed the situation with the person involved so that we can improve future experiences.
I was happy to hear you enjoyed the bar and can't wait for you to see the new "Bottle + Kitchen" that will be finished in late May.
Thank you Steve P. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

You absolutely cannot beat the location of this hotel, as it is literally a stone's throw away from the Morrison St Bridge - in fact our room actually overlooked the onramp! It was noisier than the place we usually stay near Lloyd's Center, but this was a much better price for a weekend stay. And we were too tired at night to notice the noise anyway.

I will say that the complimentary breakfast definitely leaves something to be desired - however the appetizers in the bar are spectacular. And why would you eat breakfast in your hotel when you're in Portland, anyway? Way too many great places to eat to stress about that.

The beds were comfy, the tv worked and the water for the shower was hot (though the whole shower setup is great for getting water all over the floor, and there was no bathroom fan). For the price we paid and the location, we would definitely stay there again, but it would have to be under $75 to consider it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_utz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good afternoon e_utz,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your time at Hotel Rose. Feedback is important to us as it helps us make improvements so that we at our best moving forward. I have passed your comments on to our chef regarding the continental breakfast. I was happy to hear that our great beds and steller location worked out for you.
Thank you e_utz. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spent 3 nights in February. Rooms were clean and well set up. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. I especially want to mention, Jamie, front desk staff. Our room had a nice city view and we could see Mt. St Helens off North in the distance. The river walk was right across the street which made it easy to get our exercise. The light rail line is 1 block away. The happy hour is worth a visit and we got a complementary breakfast during our stay since the restaurant was undergoing remodeling. The blanket duvet with no top sheet was too warm for me and I asked for an extra sheet and used the extra blanket supplied in the closet. I would recommend that the hotel stock some flat sheets for requests from people like me since they only had fitted sheets.

Room Tip: Higher floors on river or city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good afternoon James S,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and particularily your encounter with Jamie! We always love hearing about our valued associates. I was also happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, guest rooms, and breakfast. We hope you can make it back in June when our new restaurant, Bottle + Kitchen will be opening. I also want to let you know that we are looking at different options on our bed top configuration and your suggetion is at the top of the list.
Thank you again James S. We hope to see you back at Hotel Rose in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip for 5 days. Right by the river, centrally located in Portland's downtown. I stayed at the 5th floor with views onto the river, which were lovely. Rooms are spacious and modern, mattress has very good sleep quality. The updated contemporary bathrooms have no tub but a half-glassed in shower with shampoo, conditioner, soap dispensers on the wall. The Staff was super friendly and helpful and made the stay comfortable. I got good advice for restaurants in walking distance. There is a small gym which is adequate for a couple of days. The restaurant H50 was under constructions but I did not want to venture out into the rain, so I had a meal one night that was very good bistro food. Once the construction is done this will be a fine little restaurant. Minor negatives: the breakfast can use some improvement, not a very good selection of breakfast foods and quality is lacking. The restaurant was not open for breakfast due to construction. Since I stayed 5 nights it did matter that I had to request every day an evening sheet for the morning room service. The cleaning was not done properly each day, cups with tea bag in them were left, towels not straighten or changed. Otherwise the room was very clean. There is train noise at night, I did use my earplug and then it was fine. It's a great little hotel and I will be back.I took advantage of the March special which was the right price point. I had a very comfortable time and really liked the hotel and considering booking again on my next trip, if there are more specials.

Room Tip: Stay at the 4 or 5th floor and choose a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good afternoon Sunki,
Thank you so much for your very positive survey. We truly do appreciate your comments and love that you enjoyed our hotel so much. We believe we have the best location in town, along with the most comfortable bed in the hotel industry. Thank you for recognizing our great team of associates that we are so proud of!
Thank you agian Sunki. I hope your travels bring you back to our fine city very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing