We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return to Hotel Rose!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to Hotel Rose!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My spring break Oregon trip started in Portland at the Hotel Rose. I had the most incredible river view from my room! The hotel was in walking distance from the Portland attractions that I had read about in my guide books and wanted to go to - Powell's Bookstore, VooDoo Doughnut, and the downtown food carts - my favorite being The Frying Scotsman (best fish and chips EVER!) - and Huber's restaurant, known for serving a full Thanksgiving meal every day, and for their amazing Spanish coffee, served flaming tableside. However, I found myself dining in the hotel bistro/bar two of the three nights of my stay. The food was fabulous (the biggest oysters I've ever seen - I had to cut them in half!), the atmosphere cozy (a warm fire burning in the fireplace), the view incredible, and the service from the bartender/bar manager - the BEST! She was so friendly and welcoming. One night I wanted to go to a wine bar to do a wine tasting, and she said "Let's do our own wine tasting!" So I had my own wine tasting right there, and it was fabulous, along with another great meal! It was obvious that many regulars come in to visit with Cora, in addition to the wonderful food and ambiance. All of the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful - whether I needed more creamer in my room, a bag of ice for my sore knee, or walking directions to places of interest. When I return to Portland, it will be to the Hotel Rose!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the river view - GORGEOUS! Beautiful geese in the park below, barges and canoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockerChic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Good afternoon RockerChic57,
What a great reveiw of our hotel. Thank you! Your trip sounds like it went perfectly, visiting all the fun places Portland has to offer and spending some quality time at our hotel. Cora is fantastic and I'm happy you had a chance to meet her and enjoy her hospitality. Our restaurant, bar, and lobby remodel will be done very soon and that will only enhance your future experiences.
Thank you again RockerChic57. Please come back and see us soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    280
    102
    35
    16
See reviews for
121
356
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Dumpy hotel with a nice river view in an area rampant with homelessness and open drug and alcohol abuse, nothing cool, hipster, or retro about this place. Old , dumpy, and dirty describes it best, no ceiling in lobby, restaurant closed, and outdated rooms with filthy carpets and wall paper and cheap linens. Should be completely closed until updated and renovations compete. Never ever again. Sorry

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank twice_as_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Good afternoon twice_as_nice,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologize that we did not meet you expectations during your time in Portland. I do hope you will come and see us again once the restaurant and lobby remodel is done in late May. It's going to be very nice.
Thank you twice_as_nice,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in March, staff was nicer than most, location was absolutely perfect for catching the Max to get to conference at Lloyd Center Doubletree, lots of shopping and restaurants nearby, best part though is the Cruiser bikes, we rode up and down both sides of the river, it was a blast. The room was nice, really enjoyed the Ipod docking station with the optional sounds of rain or birds etc. Restaurant was under renovation but food was great, (tomato bisque). I would love to go back. Got a great deal on Priceline, <$100.

Room Tip: Room facing the river, as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LErbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Good morning LErbb,
Thank you for your great reveiw of Hotel Rose. We truly do appreciate it.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed all the great amenites we have to offer, our ideal location, and our team of hospitality professionals. Portland has so many fun things to see and do and our location can't be beat.
Thank you again LErbb. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is the third Pineapple Hospitality property I have stayed at. Disappointing from the start.I pulled up to be immediately "upsold" on baker parking because there are no handicap accessible parking spots to self park. I have not had this experience at the other properties. The property is under serious renovation. I booked a double queen and was placed in a double room. I asked for an accessible room. It turns out this hotel is not at all accessible. Staff was friendly enough. Might be with trying again in six months or a year, but for now it fails to meet the standards set at the other properties.

Room Tip: Waterfront has a great view, but traffic is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Good morning gpwhisperer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are truley valued as they help us improve our services. I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations while handling your parking needs. Your comments have been shared with our Front Office Manager and the valet parking team. We also appreciate your patience while we make improvements to our restaurant and lobby. It will be done very soon and is going to be spectacular.
Thank you again gpwhisperer. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I'm guessing this is why I found this hotel on groupon. We are staying in the hotel rose for Wednesday night and Thursday night and was woken up bright and early to drilling directly below my room which sounded like it was coming through the floor. Being as I'm on vacation I was looking forward to sleeping in, but they allow construction and don't bother to tell the guests whom will hear it as and alarm clock. According to the front desk they allow construction during normal business hours (beginning at 9am sharp). This would have been something I would have found useful for them to inform me of about my stay. The girl at the front desk was helpful, yet did not empathize with my desire to sleep and I was told that construction is allowed during business hours and after a bit of a fuss, got the valet free for 2 days. I would rather sleep in for 2 days, but, seeing as I didn't even know I was going to be charged for the valet (which is thinly option available if you don't want to pay to park on the street) I will take the wake up over the extra fees.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Good evening Alex T,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that our restaurant renovation impacted your stay. Our goal is to do the project the most effecient way with little or no impact to our guests. We thought a 9:00AM start would take care of any noise issues but obviously not, and I am sorry. We will definitately revisit this with our contractor next week. I hope you have the opportunity to return when it's all done as it will be a terrific space.
Thank you Alex T. We hope to see you back in Portland very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

First plus? This small hotel has a great location. The front street riverfront with its beautiful walkway is on one side while the max line stops 1/2 a block away. Be sure to ask for a river view; however, ask for 3rd floor or higher as front street is noisy. The back side without the view is very quiet. The north side rooms have balconies that look over Morrison bridge on-ramp. Again, ask for upper floor. 2nd plus is the bar. Friendly and comfortable with a out of ordinary bar menu. If you want buffalo wings, walk a block to Rockport Brewery. Finally their complimentary breakfast was unexpectedly luxurious. Eggs Benedict ... Fruit... Pastries .. Bagels ... Lox... Oatmeal ... Etc. (not sure if this was because the river view restaurant was under construction?) The one drawback was the $20 parking fee. This location has seen many owners over the past 30 years. I've never had to pay for parking til now.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piratejani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Good afternoon piratejani,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a great time and took advantage of our fantastic location. I was also happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and your bar experience. We are currently renovating the bistro so watch for our new Bottle + Kitchen that will be open in June. It's going to be very cool!
Thank you piratejani. I hope your travels brings you back very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

First times staying with this hotel, stayed November 2-6th 2013. Had a some problems along the way, but Molly's service and her efforts to rectify these issues is what stood out in our overall experience. She made extra efforts to help us leave feeling that we had a positive overall experience. It was how her service and attitude stood out over the issues that would have me stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Good afternoon rachel c,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback.
I apologize that you had some issues while you were here, but was happy to hear Molly was able to resolve them for you. She is one of our star associates.
It also pleases me that you will stay with us again. I know it will be an enjoyable time.
Thank you again rachel c,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing