We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paramount Hotel(Portland)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sentinel(Portland)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
481
429
166
58
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
429
166
58
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakesthe riverbottle kitchentommy bahamapineapple hospitalitygreat locationfree bikeswaterfront parktop sheetself parkingbottled waterlight sleepersaturday marketstreet noisewould stay againhappy hourhomeless people
Filter
Updating list...
1,012 - 1,017 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We took the train from Seattle and was able to walk from the train station to the hotel. This hotel is ideally located for those without a car wanting to experience downtown Portland. We walked most places but were thrilled to borrow the complimentary bikes and ride around the river! What a fun thing to do! Hotel was remodel of the lobby space which didn't bother us but I look forward to seeing it completed! The rooms were very clean and the beds the ultimate in comfort. I often have trouble sleeping in hotels but slept like a baby all 3 nights we were here. Staff was attentive and responsive. I look forward to staying here again the next time we come to Portland!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macquave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Good afternoon macquave,
Thank you for your very nice review. We were very happy that you took advantage of our very convenient location, enjoyed our guest rooms, and went for a ride on our bikes. I was also pleased you enjoyed our fantastic hospitality team. Portland is such a walking/biking friendly city. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we complete our re-model. It will be done in a few days and is going to be spectacular. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon so you can see the final results.
Thank you macquave.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Location is FANTASTIC....easily access everything from this area BUT our stay was pretty rough, first let me say, it's a very clean hotel and that means alot to us, and again, the location is good. During our stay we were on the first floor and could hear the construction starting first thing in the morning, that sucked, then the lobby was pretty well non existent, had to walk around scaffolding and construction crew to get in and out. Our first night the Valet left something on in the car so our battery was dead the next day, Specail kudo's to BRENDAN, the daytime Valet, he used his own car to boost our dead car and was the only person our entire stay that was memorable, if you ever get Brendan as your Valet, tip him good, he's a great guy. Free bike loaner is also a plus but lack of facilites negates having a bike loaner program. Rooms have two double beds...are updated, renovated and clean. Bathroom is average but clean as well. We love Pinapple hotels but this one fell short of all our other experiences.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have no view...go for river view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good afternoon kenpat,
Thank you for staying with us while visiting from beautiful British Columbia. We do appreciate your loyality to Pineapple Hospitality. I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during our remodel. We are just a few days away from being done and can't wait to see the final product. It's looking spectacular so far! We are planning to replace carpet and wall covering in the corridors in the fall to continue to improve the property and make it a "Pineapple Hotel".
Thank you for your kind comments about Brendan. He has just recently joined our team and is proving to be a great asset.
Thank you again kenpat. I hope your travels bring you back to Portland very soon so you can experience our great new lobby, restaurant, and bar.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Rose was in the perfect location if you are staying downtown. We stayed here while on a visit to participate in the Rock 'N Roll Half Marathon. The race finish and start was at the backdoor of the hotel...perfect. The hotel is also right across the street from the riverfront park which was nice. We were able to walk everywhere including to the weekend market and Steel Bridge (market was about an 8 min or less stroll up the river). Also you could get to a flock of food trucks within 5 min walking! The area seemed very safe at night. The staff were friendly. The hotel was under renovations of the lobby and restaurant when we got there. They semi-finished the lobby while we were there. Not once did we feel bothered by the construction. The rooms were pleasant and very clean. They had water and coffee in the room as well. The only problem was there was no water pressure really in the shower...which is awful for washing long hair and if you're someone who just has to have the water pressure. Also the AC wasn't working well and the room got warm the first night since it was so warm outside that day but then things were fine. Overall this was a great hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsySayra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good afternoon GypsySayra,
Location, location, location! We definitely have it! Thank you for your great review. I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time while visiting and taking part in the Rock n Roll Marathon. Congratulations on your run!! It sounds like it was a very active weekend for you.
Thank you for your feedback on the low water pressure in your shower. We will remind our engineering team to watch for these situations as they are an easy fix.
Thank you GypsySayra. We hope to see you back very soon, or maybe for the Portland Marathon in October??
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed here two times, and had totally different experiences. The first time we stayed in an upper floor room, with a river view. The view was nice and it was quiet. This last time we stayed, we had a street view and it was terribly loud. I hardly slept, and I am NOT a light sleeper. We had some problems with our reservations, thankfully we were local and weren't out a place to sleep. We ended up going back another night, for our stay. It was all prepaid and I thought that was that. Upon departure, I discovered that they had charged us again!! I called and they told us that they couldn't credit our card right away, for some reason or another. it took 5 days for the charge to be reversed. They apologized and asked us to come again and that they would take care of us. That was appreciated since we had multiple problems. The staff is very nice and the rooms are clean. The lounge is nice and the food in the restaurant is great. It's a lovely place to sit and watch all the activity on the waterfront, while eating. We recently emailed to schedule a night with the manager and haven't heard back, it's been two weeks ;/

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Jenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hello 1Jenn1,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us. I do aplogoize that things did not go as perfectly as we would have prefered, but was pleased to hear that our staff took care of things for you. I have not received an e-mail from you but will follow up with our other managers to see if they have. If you would like to reach me directly my office phone number is 503-484-1401. We would love to see you back here soon as we are nearing the end of a lobby and restaurant remodel that is going to be sensational when it's done.
Thank you 1Jenn1. I hope to hear from you soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel lobby was completely closed for our stay. No compensation offered. Paid for Valet parking, would have been more convenient to use the self park option, and $5.00 cheaper.

Rooms recently updated. Nice space, lots of places to put clothing or belongings. CLEAN. Right on the main shopping street for downtown and a stones throw from the waterfront and trails. Clean City. Directly on transit route. Customer service pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Greetings Stefanie M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We absolutely value your feedback. It sounds like you enjoyed our location very much. It really is so convenient to everything. I can't thank you enough for you patience and understanding during our remodel. We should be done this week and it's going to be fantastic! I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great guest rooms. They are very comfortable!
Thank you Stefanie M. Please come back and see us soon.
Warm regards.
Terry Hanley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews