We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #30 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at the Rose for a conference, Saturday through Monday nights in mid-June. Everything about this hotel was great, especially for the price. The location was ideal, the room was very comfortable (think Westin), and the staff were efficient, friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. A nice touch for Portland: there was an umbrella in the room. Having read reviews, I was concerned about noise at night, but I didn't find that to be a problem. The restaurant and bar are excellent, but if you want something different there are plenty of great places within a block or two. The only disappointment I experienced was that the restaurant (and room service) didn't open until 7 am on Sunday. If you need breakfast earlier on the weekend, you'll be walking a couple of blocks to Starbuck's for a mediocre bagel.

Hotel Rose is a big step up from the typical chain hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Good evening Richard D,
Thank you for your nice review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and will pass your comments on to our team! We have just opened our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen and will definitely review our opening hours on the weekends.
Thank You again Richard D. We hope you return to Portland and Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    288
    106
    37
    18
See reviews for
126
365
48
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have called 4+ times to sort out different issues with my bill for the hotel room and it still isn't correct and they refuse to call me back. VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.
If you do HAVE to stay here, I recommend confirming every, I mean every, item on your bill the night before. I had to catch a flight the next morning, and they said they would send my bill electronically. They did, after a few days, but have been terrible at helping resolve issues remotely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Good evening E W,
I am so sorry to hear about your billing issues that have clearly left you frustrated. Please accept my sincere apologies. I would love to help. Please call me anytime at 503-484-1401 and let's get this resolved.
Thank you E W,
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location does not get better: very close to the Willamette River, and within easy walking distance of many major attractions (Powells, various doughnuts, Pioneer Square, and so on). My only complaint is that the hotel can be noisy at night: slamming doors and loud chatting from adjacent rooms, or heavy steps from the floor above. But the staff is nice and the restaurant is pretty good. This is a perfectly fine hotel: not the best, not the worst, perfectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good evening Jeffrey C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed our great team of hospitality professionals and that our location worked out so well for you. It is perfect!
I was disappointed that noise was an issue for you, and I do apologize. We are always looking for ways to make improvements based on our guests feedback. We will review options with our engineering team to see if we can make a difference.
Thank you Jeffrey C. We hope you return very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My stay at the Hotel Rose came at the end of a vacation road trip through the back country of Washington state. After countless miles of breathtaking scenery, I was ready for a break and some serious creature comforts. Hotel Rose didn't disappoint. My room was nicely appointed and very comfortable -- especially the king bed which had two king-sized, DOWN-FILLED pillows instead of the ridiculous assortment of undersized, prison-quality pillows that the hospitality industry seems to have adopted as its standard. Beyond the impressive comfort and conveniences of the room, I found the staff to be warm and welcoming, especially in the restaurant, and the food was excellent. Being located directly across the street from the Waterfront Parkway was a nice bonus. My stay was an experience well beyond my expectations and one I hope will not be my last.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacrbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Sacrbartlett,
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am so pleased that you found us and that you had such a great time! Our beds are the best in the industry and I could not agree with you more about the pillows. They are such an important piece of a good nights sleep. We just opened our new restaurant Bottle + Kitchen so it's great that you were able to try it and enjoyed it so much. We have a great team that is anxious to please, along with very tasty food.
Thanks again Sacrbartlett. We hope to see you back in the very near future.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in Portland. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful whether it was finding a corkscrew for me or fresh milk for my daughter's tea. The floor in the restaurant was a little startling and the menu a bit fussy but ooverall a good stay. The hotel is well placed for all that Portland has offer and our room had a nice river view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandracpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Good evening Sandracpotter,
Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and that our team took good care of you. Our location is perfect and our hospitality experts are the best.
Hopefully your travels will have you back in our fine city very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forks, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I recently came to Portland (him on business me for pleasure) and we decided to stay at the hotel rose. After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor I was a little worried about what we had gotten ourselves into and we talked about canceling and changing hotels. I’m so glad we didn’t. Our experience at the Hotel rose was one of the Best. I was worried that there would still be renovations going on but when we arrived the hotel was faultless and the Bottl+Kitchen Restaurant was the icing on the cake so to speak.

We arrived at the hotel around 12:30 AM and I was a little worried that no one would be there (Coming from a small town) but Crystal at the front desk was happy to assist us. She made the check in process fun and easy. She told us of a few places nearby to eat that stayed open late and even a few pizza places that would still deliver.

The room which was a room with a king bed facing the water on the 5th floor was very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very up to date. I realized that I had forgotten to bring my toothbrush and called down to the front desk. I was happy when Crystal answered the phone and told me she would be more than happy to deliver one to the room for me. It took her no time at all.

Breakfast in the morning in the restaurant was perfect. One reason I came to Portland was for the food and shopping but after breakfast that first day it was hard to eat anywhere else. Plus the staff in restaurant although seemed a little flustered where very friendly and accommodating.

The location of the hotel is also perfect. Not very far from anything you may need. Plus with free bikes and nice valet staff to help you with directions how could you go wrong.

Anyways all and all The Hotel Rose was amazing from the staff, to the room and the location. When we return to Portland we will DEFFINATLYY be staying here again. Only next time we will plan to stay longer than just two nights.

P.S. I forgot to mention that I’m not sure what the hotel/Restaurant looked like before the renovation but I was blown away. It has a very quirky vibe and as far as I can tell is very Portland.

Room Tip: Pick a water front room. It has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Small_Town_Girl42004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Small_Town_Girl,
Thank you for the great reveiw of our hotel. We are so pleased that you had such a nice time while in Portland. I was happy to hear that Crystal and the rest of the team were a highlight of you visit. We love to hear that!! I was also pleased that you were able to try our new restaurant, Bottle + Kitchen. We are very excited to have it up and running, along with our new lobby. We have more good things coming later on this year!
Thanks again Small_Town_Girl. We hope to see you back in Portland very soon.
Warm Regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This had a very nice room layout. There was a big open desk space with a power strip right on it, without a ton of random stuff in the way so you could actually set up your laptop. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room and the bed was comfortable. It has been newly renovated so everything still looks very nice and new.

They must not have used the right kind of window glass or wall insulation, because any time a truck goes by the entire room rumbles and is loud. The hotel is located right next to a bridge on-ramp, so this happens pretty much all day long. We heard people stomping around above us as well, but that wasn't nearly as bad as the rumbling from trucks accelerating onto the ramp. It was basically impossible to sleep past 6:30 in the morning once rush hour started, even with my laptop playing white noise loudly.

The thermostat in the rooms were also miscalibrated or something. We had two rooms (we tried moving after the first night to make the sound situation better) and both of them I couldn't keep the room anywhere around 70-76. The thermostat was just an analog dial, and if you set it to 70 the room stayed about 80. If you set it to 65 the room stayed at like 60.

If you could fall asleep in the middle of a Harley convention you might be OK with the noise, but otherwise I would find somewhere quieter.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are much quieter because they aren't on the on-ramp side. The view is a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Good morning Droo,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Rose. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, Keurig coffee maker, and that you like our newly renovated lobby and restaurant. We have more great things coming in the fall! I was sorry to hear that the city noise was an issue. We love our location but unfortunately the proximity to the city comes with this opportunity. Fortunately there are many area's of the property that are great for people sensitive to noise.
Thank you again Droo. I do hope we see you back at Hotel Rose very soon.
Warm regards,
Terry Hanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing