We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel
GreenLeadersGold level
Durango, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Friendly staff and good location. We been there for 4 days in a private room on november and the room was so cold. God value. No more.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andoniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    26
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
8
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I've never been to Portland before and I had heard that the Hawthorne District was the place to visit (especially coming from San Francisco). It had been years since I had stayed in a hostel, but because I was on my own, I was eager to stay somewhere I could meet and converse with like-minded folks. I had forgotten how rad hostels are - especially the well-organized, well-run, and trendy ones!
"Happy" (yes, that was what his name badge said), was SO... well, happy (!) and out going. He immediately made me feel at ease and well looked-after especially when he offered to get me into a sunnier room even though I had booked on the late side of things. This hostel goes down as one of my all-time favorites for the living roof, the rainwater harvesting system for the toilets, the bike rentals, the REAL showers, the wifi, gorgeous deck, free bagels, coffee, and tea, included linens, a bus stop nearly outside the front door, and access to what I found to be the most interesting Portland neighborhoods.

Room Tip: I was told to book two to three months in advance - especially for single rooms. If you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsirwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Nice environmentally friendly hostel--they use natural laundry soap (BIG, BIG plus), compost stuff, and collect rain water to use in toilets--kudos for that. The hostel has a lot of interesting people, international travelers, and some AWESOME magazines that I found there. It has backyard and front porch that provide nice time sitting under the trees and among the green grass. The only drawback, for which I take one star down is a lot of smoking around the backyard and porch, so for a non-smoker it's hard to find a place where they can sit down outside to enjoy their cup of coffee--smokers will run you off your spot. It would be good for the hostel to set up a separate smoking area: EITHER backyard or front yard, but not BOTH. The Hawthorne district next to hostel is a great walk. Hostel has huge collection of spices in the kitchen and a cute kitty coming around the yard. They charge $1 for towel use, which I felt was unreasonable. Otherwise, it's a great hostel and nice friendly and sociable stuff members.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexd00xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This place was OK. The staff was great and very helpful and kind. One concern is the incorrect information regarding a free breakfast. Such is only if a local bakery provides left overs to the hostel. If not, you have the option to purchase all you can eat $1 pancakes. Coffee and tea is also .50.

My greatest concern is the applauded green efforts are over ridden by contamination potential. Instead of energy efficient dryers or recycled paper towels, EVERYONE uses the same cloth hand towels. In essence someone brushed their teeth and wipes and you wash your hands and wipe? See my point?

The place was reasonably clean, yet cool temps at night, so use the extra blankets provided. Also top blankets are not washed between users as I saw. For 22.50, I would stay again overall.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grettasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2009

free wireless internet available. free breakfast consists of bread/bagels. sheets included (but make your own bed and strip the sheets when you leave); pay extra to rent towels, so if you have room, bring your own. right along Hawthorne and within easy walking distance of grocery stores and restaurants and cafes and nightlife. Easy enough bus ride from central Portland. other hostelers friendly and pretty respectful of quiet hours. And it has a living roof!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank California006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

the amenity was poor but location, ecology idea and atmosphere are good for me. It was one of my top 5 hostels.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Facilities
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank A20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Stayed for one night on a road trip through Washington and Oregon. this hostel is in a great location, in the funky Hawthorne neighborhood with great restaraunts and shops. Had fun and met lots of cool travellers from all over the world! The common area is full of books and resources for travel in the area.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelinomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 141 in Portland
545 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,689 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
373 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel

Property: Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel
Address: 3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Portland, OR 97214-4120
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Portland Hawthorne Hostel is a non-profit travelers lodge that offers an affordable, clean and fun place to stay. It has recognized been around the world as being a sustainable and green business. Also known as "Your Eco-Home Away From Home". Our mission is "To Help All Especially the Young Gain a Greater Understanding of the World and it's People Through Hostelling". Free wi-fi and internet access, free long distance phone use, free parking, free kitchen use, free coffee/tea, free all-u-can make pancake breakfast and bagels/bread and cream cheese(when available), free towel and lock rentals (with deposit).We have men's, women's, and coed dorm room as well as 2 private rooms. Reservations are recommended. Must have out-of-town i.d. to stay to here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing