We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Boutique Hotel in Great Downtown Portland Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern Boutique Hotel in Great Downtown Portland Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

For our family trip to Portland area, we decided to stay at Hotel Vintage Plaza after considering pricing, location, and amenities. Hubby has discount from work, making Hotel Vintage Plaza per-night stay reasonable (less than $200/night). The discount also put The Benson in the same price range; and I decided on this hotel because the rooms are more modern (Benson is more old-fashioned and grand). Only after we arrived that we realized this hotel is on the same street as The Benson, Hotel Lucia, and the Marriott (and maybe a few others).

Hotel V-P is in a great central location - ~10 mins walk from the Amtrak train station, ~ 5 mins walk from downtown shopping area, ~5 mins walk from Powell's City of Books, ~5 mins walk from the waterfront. There's also a Rite Aid down the street if one needs to pick up water / snacks / personal items. We pretty much walked all over the city during our stay. (At night we used a little more caution, but the area felt quite safe.)

We had a 2-queen bed room. The room was cozy and well-kept but not big in size. The bathroom, however, surprised us because it was HUGE. Overall we had a nice, comfortable stay.

We stayed on the third floor facing the front street. Insulation worked quite well and the street noise did not bother us. Front desk and bell staff were all very friendly and super-helpful. The front desk gave us great tips on where to dine, how to get to our desired destination, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, facing the street. Street noise was not an issue; but for those who want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_the_platypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Portland and with us. We hope see you again soon.
Jeri Riggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    296
    79
    41
    9
See reviews for
169
537
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our Oregon trip. Hotel was very easy to find..kind of on "hotel row". We were told when we checked in that we had gotten upgraded to an Executive King (yeah). The valet and front desk were very nice and accommodating. I liked the look of the lobby as well. Our room was very nice and oversized, however did not have a window. It did have a large skylight but, you really could not see anything (this kind of stunk the next day when we wanted to look outside to see what the weather was like). The room & bathroom were very nice and we liked the little extras (dog on the bed, animal print robes, etc). They made this hotel a little different. We went out to dinner and upon return around 9:30 we were relaxing and started to hear other people....needless to say, their "adult activity" was VERY loud and lasted almost 45 minutes. It was really annoying. I am not sure if they were right next to us or above us. OK so, I can live with that but, then they woke me up at 3am for another round that was even lounder. To be honest, I was so angry that I almost called security to go and ask them to please at least be quiet about it!! Anyway, not the hotel's fault that they had very noisy guests but, I would say that maybe the walls are thin.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the noisy neighbors. Please know if you had informed us we would have addressed immediately. Please let me know if you choose to stay with us again so we can ensure a quiet room.
Jeri Riggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

The room was beautiful with many extras and gorgeous details. The staff is incredibly hospitable and helpful. Customer service is the obvious goal of the hotel. Loved the option to have a goldfish in the room for company! Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Jeri Riggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I wish I could stay at this hotel every time I stay in downtown Portland... its a bit spendy, but it is worth every penny. My husband and I stayed in a two level suite. The bedroom and GEORGEOUS bath were on the "upper" level and the living room, mini kitchen/dining room were on the "lower" level. There were floor to ceiling windows, but the bedroom was nearly walled in so you didn't have the bright sun piercing your eyes in the morning. The entire hotel made me feel like royalty and the service was outstanding.

You will love this hotel!

This is not really a hotel for families with children as they "cater" to couples and those on business.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talbottca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have many amazing rooms! Sounds like you had our townhouse suite. Great Choice!
Jeri Riggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice hotel, great location, perfect place to stay for last weekend's getaway. Checked in Friday - nice room with two queens. We had non-stop activities planned for the weekend, and the Hotel Vintage Plaza was a great location for all we had planned.

We didn't see much on the hotel's Happy Hour menu that we wanted so we went down the street to Kimpton's Hotel Monaco. Great happy hour there. Had a light dinner/late lunch and came back for a glass of wine at Hotel Vintage Plaza's wine reception. Then headed out for a night of fun and dancing. We ended up back at Pazzo's bar for a late night sorbet. Made in-house, delicious.

Saturday did some shopping in the morning and came back to Pazzo for a fabulous breakfast. Had a fitness event in the afternoon then headed back to the hotel in time for a glass of wine at the reception. Hotel was sold out. Many events being held over the weekend there and the reception area was quite crowded but there was still room to find a seat and enjoy a glass of wine.

Dinner at Ruth Chris Steakhouse (pretty good), and back to the hotel late for a movie in the room.

We would've loved another full day in Portland, so much to do but we had to head back to Seattle for other commitments.

Staff was wonderful and friendly. Only issue was needing more towels and they didn't arrive til we called back a few hours later to remind them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleD_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Portland and with us. We hope see you again soon.
Jeris Riggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I had such a wonderful time staying at this hotel. Almost had a boutique-flair to it but with modern amenities and accomodations. I was upgraded to a suite upon check-in - no complaints there! ;) Pazzo Ristorante was beautiful and the food was delicious. Unfortunately I had to check out earlier than expected and the hotel arranged a car last minute to take me to the airport - very gracious, no hassle. I cannot wait to visit Portland again... most definitely staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHITbaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Jeri Riggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is hands down our favorite local hotel, specifically because of the garden spa rooms. To sit in the outdoor hot tub in the middle of a metropolitan area, drinking wine, letting the day drift by, is truly one of my favorite experiences in the city.

The location is also excellent. And we appreciate the daily wine hour.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, reserve one of the garden spa rooms. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for your review! Yes, our garden spa rooms are amazing! A little paradise in the city!
Jeris Riggs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing