We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations--Surprised by service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accommodations--Surprised by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is as beautiful and clean as it looks in the pictures. It's an excellent location in the heart of everything you want to access if you're staying downtown. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean with white linens---but I was surprised by the service. The front desk staff was very friendly and always greeted you when you walked in and left, but they were not stand-alone knowledgeable about Portland. There is no specific concierge, so we directed all of our questions to the front desk staff who would immediately searched the internet and provided answers for us. We appreciated their willingness to help, but we needed a little more intimate knowledge of places than Google could provide. I really like when you have a concierge staff that knows the area and can point you in the right direction from experience.

We were also a little surprised by the housekeeping. Not having your sheets and towels washed everyday is fairly standard in hotels around the country. I don't mind that. Typically, though, when I elect this option, when your room is serviced the towels are typically re-hung or re-folded to present a freshness to the room/bathroom. We also had dirty coffee cups and wine glasses left for 2 days without being replaced. These aren't things you usually think about at a hotel b/c they're usually just done, but when they're not done, you do notice.

Our room was on the Washington St side and it was pretty noisy in early evening and early morning, which isn't unheard of in the city. I'm not sure if you can request room location, but if you can ask to not be near the side of the hotel where they repeatedly dump large bins of glass into metal truck at around 5am every morning. I'm a good sleeper, no matter where I am, but that was a bit more than I could sleep through.

Room Tip: Avoid the Washington St side..very noisy early in the morning, even on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide the best guest service anywhere in the industry and we are usually along with ensuring our rooms are clean and replenished appropriately each day. I apologize that your room was not serviced to our standards. Your comment has been shared with our Housekeeping staff so we can improve. We hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    296
    79
    41
    9
See reviews for
167
530
93
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is the best Kimpton Hotel we have ever stayed at. I've been a "Kimpton" for years, and this is a 10 out of 10. We were treated like royality for the 4 day stay. Everyone from the bellhop, to room service, to the front desk , never missed a beat. The restaurant , Pazzo, is the best Italian weve had in a very, very long time. One word for our stay- SUPERB!!!

Room Tip: The seventh floor, our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your review! We’re really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere we create and love that you noticed. We hope you come back soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The week before and after our wedding our home was FILLED with family; my husband and I had the good fortune to stay at the Hotel Vintage Plaza the few days after. We were able to bring our 65 lb pitbul with us; they greeted him before they even said hi to us! The staff had prepared a basket for him with food, treats and bottled water. We rented a suite with a soaking tub and it was perfect. The common areas of the hotel weren't quite five star quality, but the room and the service definitely was!

Room Tip: The suite with the soaking pool is beautiful and the tubs are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fleur_ghee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Congratulations and thank you for your review. We are happy you chose to spend your special occasion with us.
We are very pet friendly and were delighted to also have your dog with us. We hope to have you all back again soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We are fans of Kimpton Hotels. I should say that right at the start. They all have coffee available at the crack of dawn for those having early flights. They all serve wine and a small snack in the afternoons, which is nice because you get to meet other travelers--or not, as you wish. The service is always excellent and the rooms comfortable and clean. Not to mention the sexy animal- print bathrobes! This Kimpton is perfectly located a few blocks from the light rail, the main square and the mall. It is within walking distance of the Chinese scholar's home, the Saturday market, Powell's book store, the bus lines, and some brew pubs. The only thing missing was a table. There was a desk, but we like a table to sip our wine or play a hand of cards before bed. The bath, on the other hand, is very large and well organized.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us and writing this review! Our guests comfort is most important to us. Next time you stay with us, if you need anything please let us know. We hope to have you with us again soon.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here with a friend for one night when we were passing through Portland. Great staff, nice building, and great location for walking. For the price it was really great.

Room/hotel-- We stayed in a room on the top floor -- Starlight guestroom -- it was cool but sorta felt like it had dormroom decor. It was a fine room but there were a few sink issues -- sorta looked like our sink threw up -- coffee grinds or tea leaves? but it smelled minty. Didn't bother us much, just washed it back down and told the front desk when we checked out. Also, there was a broken hot water pipe and the steam caused the fire alarm to go off around 4am, but the staff was very apologetic and friendly about the situation. Lobby is nice. We had a drink at the bar, also nice.

Staff -- The held our luggage at the front after checkout while we explored the city and were all very friendly.

I'd recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brebear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found us while passing through. You were in one of our specialty Starlight rooms on our top floor.
I assure you the water pipe issue has been corrected! We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

From the front desk to the bellmen to all the staff at the hotel, we were greeted with a smile each and every time we walked by. We had in-room massages with the generous discount offered by the free InTouch membership. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well-appointed. The location is central and easy to access from the lightrail. On top of it all, the price was very reasonable. What a great experience. When we come back to Portland, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a member of our Kimpton In Touch program. We like hearing you enjoyed one of the perks. Hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I can't say enough about the ambience of the hotel! Our spa suite had a jetted soaking tub for two, which is so much bigger than most "two person" jacuzzis. The suite is spacious, with a separate room for entertaining and watching TV, in addition to a well-stocked mini bar and an honor bar with snacks, water bottles, emergency supplies, etc. It's like having your own little condo away from home. Room service is awesome, and the restaurant has great food. The front desk staff are super attentive to all your needs, and are quick to respond. The valets are not only friendly and helpful, they always ask "do you need directions?"....I love it! Every evening there is a wine reception with appetizers and local breads. It's a great place to mingle with other guests and the staff. Talk about relaxing....the romance package is wonderful! I plan to stay here again, and again, and again.... :-)

Room Tip: Spa suites are huge; some are upstairs/downstairs with adjoining room downstairs to accomodate two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. You are right our tubs are great and a definitely deep soaking tubs! We have many different room types and packages to make any stay a special one.
Best.
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted wine hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the adult game room, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing