We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel Style with Modern Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel Style with Modern Amenities”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to portland. The hotel is located in a historic building which has been updated to include the modern amenities. It is located right in the center of downtown which is convenient for touring the city. The vintage plaza offers exceptional service and extremely friendly staff. We loved th daily happy hour from 5pm-6pm. All of the staff were excited to help us each day. We had an interior spa room, so we did not have any windows. However, we had a huge skylight , and a huge jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Although it was a bit different not having windows, it was a nice change and provided a cozy intimate feel. We loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyh113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your review. The room you stayed in is called our Spa Premier. We have many special and unique room types here at the Vintage Plaza. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for staying with us.
Warm Wishes,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    300
    81
    43
    10
See reviews for
172
548
93
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

For our first trip to Portland we thought that it might be nice to stay downtown, as opposed to near the airport. The Vintage Plaza was the ideal location as a base to see the sights of Portland.

We found the hotel to be very clean and and the room was great! We were upgraded to a larger King room, which was very much appreciated. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is an older building, but has been updated, so it has the old world charm and modern niceties. Our room was located in the front of the building and we were surprised that the location was as quiet as it was.

Our dog was welcomed with his own amenities--bowls, treats and a toy!

We seemed to miss the wine tastings on both nights of our stay, dashing in on the last night to find it just winding up. One of the valet staff noticed us, told us that the tasting was just finished and gave us a bottle of wine to enjoy in our room. Wow! Nice touch.

We found the staff to be totally pleasant, friendly and helpful, with the exception of one of the front desk clerks (perhaps he was having a bad day, twice.....).

We really did enjoy our stay at this hotel and would definitely book again if we return to Portland.

(Hint: Self parking, in the parking structure across the road, was $17 maximum for 24 hours. As long as you don't need in/out parking, this is a good option.)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for such a nice review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and your dog stay with us. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I'd stayed in 6 hotels in the past month, and Vintage Plaza had the friendliest service of all. The hotel is starting to show its age just a bit but the rooms are still in great condition and large. Bed was extremely comfortable - loved it so much I'd meant to ask the staff what kind of mattress it was, so I could look into getting one myself :) Free wine hour was another nice perk. Staff was very helpful in providing directions, suggestions for dining, etc. I will definitely return next time I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJP415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us and had such a wonderful time. All of our beds are Sealy, you can find more information about them on our web site. We look forward to having you with us on your next trip to Portland.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A very nice place to stay when in Portland.
This was not our first time here. We have stayed at a number of downtown Portland hotels, and I think that the Vintage is one of the best, if not the best. The staff makes you feel welcome. It is in a great location. Rooms in this classic hotel -- built in 1894-- are nicely updated. Really, I can not find anything at all to fault about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out, rather than in towards the large, central air-shaft. (OK, not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_K_From_Eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We’re really proud of the warm, intimate atmosphere we create and love that you noticed. We hope you come stay with us again real soon!
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Ast General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Vintage Plaza is an example of hotel that makes you feel as if you're visiting their home. We were 8 couples in town for a wedding, and the staff and management made it very special for us.
We had a suite in order to do some "entertaining" in the late evenings. The hotel provided everything we needed to host our friends.
Everyone spoke highly of their accomodations, and we all had more than one meal at Pazzo which was just terrific. Whether breakfast, lunch or dinner, meals were very good.
No challenge was too great for the staff, all of which is why we will ALWAYS stay at the Kimpton property.
Steve Burns

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Mr. Burns, Thank you for this review about your stay. We enjoyed having all of you stay with us. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We hope you all have a chance to come visit us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I've stayed at Vintage Plaza many times and always enjoy it. Location is great, decor is comfortable, the restaurant (Pazzo) is very good. We had a king bed with sofa room. This is my favorite kind of room there, very comfortable. We've tried some of the specialty rooms like the Starlight and the Garden/hot tub ones but so far this is the best. The regional wine hour is a great plus! I think what really makes it special is the staff, though. Very friendly, especially the valet staff (yay Antwan).

Room Tip: King bed with sofa rooms are most comfortable. Starlight rooms have a weird "whispering gallery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetheRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your review with others here on Tripadvisor. We hope to have you with us again real soon.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Again a visit to the Vintage Plaza.
Have been spoiled enjoying a SPA suite that offers a jacuzzi on the terrace.
But especially spoiled, once again, by the staff. They are the real added value to the already impecable hotel.
Will come here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VintagePlazaHotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks much for your feedback! With all of our incredible room types available at our property I know we can always find the perfect room for everyone. I am so happy to hear we found yours!We hope to have you with us again real soon.
Best,
Marianne Moisant
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,775 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing