We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Hotel, Needs Better Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #2 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel, Needs Better Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

We recently visited this hotel with our children (13 and 10) on a three day sightseeing and shopping trip. This hotel has an excellent location in the downtown area. Very close to the "Pearl" District, dinning, rapid transit and shopping. We did not need to take a cab once (not even from the airport). The staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and advice on dinning and things to see. The rooms are tasteful and comfortable although we found the "queen" beds to be more like small "doubles".

  • Liked — Amazing Location
  • Disliked — Size of the Beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catsaver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    297
    79
    41
    9
See reviews for
170
538
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

The hotel actually feels vintage, but not in a good way. The common areas are worn down. The sofa in our room had a large stain on it. Our bathroom had a nice whilrpool tub, but a sign on the wall warns that guests will be financially responsible for water damage if they allow the tub to overflow.

For $250 a night we'd also expect a window in our room, but only got a skylight.

Dialing room service twice resulted in a message stating: "that mailbox is full". When room service finally arrived, we were admonished to be sure to place the dishes outside our door just as soon as we were done.

On the plus side, the young staff are eager to please, free coffee and papers in the morning and free wine in the evening are offered in the cozy common area. The location is very convenient to the fun Pearl shopping and dining district.

But Overall not a quality experience for the money. I would not stay here in the future.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank markus99s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Hotel staff urinated in my toilet without flushing. I received a phone call at 9pm on day 3 from hotel staff telling me that they couldn't reauthorize my credit card. When I asked at the front desk the next day, I was told there wasn't an issue. I had to ask 3 times, on 3 separate days, to get one thing brought up to my room. The internet service didn’t recognize my last name as the guest in my room for the first couple of days and didn’t work.
Unfortunately, we stayed for 2 weeks and it never got any better. Other people’s hair on the supposedly clean sheets, and really sloppy housekeeping in general, and the second to last day, housekeeping never even bothered to clean my room. There is a serious pretense of being a “luxury” hotel, but the actions or rather lack of by the staff are substandard.
There are so many great hotels in Downtown Portland, but this is certainly not one of them.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Service and Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelscrabble411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

The hotel's location is great. There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance and it's close to transportation. Since this was a family trip and we needed extra room we booked the two story suite (715/815) and it was wonderful! Our kids loved the spiral staircase and had so much room downstairs. There was a big dinning room table, pull out sofa, several chairs, TV, wet bar and a half bath. They also put in a roll away at no extra charge. Upstairs was the large master bedroom with a king bed, TV, skylight , desk and Jacuzzi tub plus shower. With the AAA rate under $250 I thought this was a great value. The hotel had signage in the lobby showing pictures and fabrics of the upcoming hotel renovations. It should be even better when this is completed. The service was excellent and all of the staff couldn't have been friendlier. Every morning there was coffee in the lobby and at night they had a wine reception. We would definitely choose this hotel again. We did not eat at the hotel, but they have a nice looking Italian restaurant and a casual cafe as well.

  • Liked — size and unique layout of two story suite
  • Disliked — the bathroom could use updating (according to the hotel to begin fall 2008)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

Many thanks to the Vintage Plaza for our recent stay!

We were in town to do some book shopping at Powells Books, which is a short walk away. Check in was smooth, the valet quickly parked our car (we noticed another valet jogging over to the garage, which is half a block away) and we were settled in our room with our luggage in just a few minutes.

Our Chihuahua, English Bulldog and cat enjoyed their names on the blackboard in the lobby and the treats from the welcome bag in the room and we enjoyed the pickup bags and info about nearby dog-walking parks.

The room itself was unique -- not a street view but looking into a courtyard shared with another building -- sounds dreary but was not as it was bight and very peaceful. Unique design with the writing desk around a corner behind the bathroom. Aveda amenities in the bathroom. Well stocked mini-bar. Comforatble bed. The only thing that we wished for was an in-room coffee maker!

We appreciated and used the discount dinner coupon to Pazzo Restaurant downstairs. There was a choice of small and large plates and a number of good wines by the glass. Breakfast the next morning was good with the delicious fresh orange juice and pastries from the next door Pazzoria.

And kudos to the doorman the next morning who stopped traffic on the busy street so that our pets could safely get into our car for our departure!

We look forward to our stay next summer.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DogsCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

Knowing the reputation of Kimpton hotels, I must say I was not disappointed with our three night stay at the Hotel Vintage Plaza. We chose the hotel because of its downtown location and its pet accomodations. Turned out to be a good decision.

Check in staff was very friendly. When I walked up to the counter, the associate had just been on a phone call, and seemed a little flustered, but she didn't miss a beat and began helping me in a warm manner. Thereafter, each time we went to the front desk, they were always accomodating. Having our pet with us, we had to sign a contract, but were given a bag of goodies for our dog, a list of pet friendly restaurants and services, and a map of grassy areas to take our pet...how wonderful to have all this in a city environment. There's even a dog that works there who welcomes the other pets by putting all the pets names on a cute chalkboard.

The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable. The location was excellent and walkable to everything we needed. We only used our car to go to Mt Hood for a day trip (do the loop...its so beautiful). The restaurant served lovely food, though the breakfast was too expensive. Room service was prompt and satisfactory. The staff members were friendly, nice to our dog, and offered tips to our kids! (kids are people too)

While we were there, the hotel was getting ready to redecorate. Such activity was invisible to us. I imagine it would only be inconvenient while they redecorated the lobby. You may want to check when they are doing this. The restaurant had already been done and it was gorgeous. Frankly, the rooms and lobby didn't look too bad as they were. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PamelaDahhling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa monica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

I loved this hotel! I brought my dog with me and they had a big bag of treats and goodies waiting for the dog in the room and also a nice welcome for me as well. Everyone was very nice, friendly and super helpful. They give you a doggy one-sheet with all the info on dog friendly dining, parks, shops, day care, vets, etc. Super awesome. Perfect location, walking distance to everything. Between downtown and the Pearl district, I loved this hotel!! They also have rooms with spa tubs that are fabulous...I loved that! They are actual life size hot tubs not the typical "spa tub." Very comfy bed and huge room, my only complaint is the lack of natural light. My room looked out into a view of other buildings and had a very, very small window. However, didn't bother me at all as I was so happy with everything else :). I travel A LOT for work and this was one of my most enjoyable stays ever....great for dogs :)

  • Liked — location and pet friendly
  • Disliked — no natural light in room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doglover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandyGM2013, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2016
Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to serving you again. Sandy Burkett, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Property: Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing